We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Screaming children and general atmosphere of being in a daycare.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salisbury Arms

Salisbury Arms
Ranked #351 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $11 - $31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A beautifully refurbished country-style pub in the city, log fires, leather couches and a stunning restaurant area. Serving quality home cooked food with an interesting wine list and cask ales.
Hudson, Quebec Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Screaming children and general atmosphere of being in a daycare.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Not impressed overall. Arrived for a 7:30 reservation and this "pub"(?) was alive with the noise of small children running amok and babies crying. It was Saturday evening?? Food was good and the pub is really a modern wine bar sort of affair. Not much left if the old world feeling you would expect looking at the outside of the building. Not going back there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank devon2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    309
    117
    72
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Venue.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This place is perfect if you've just worked up an appetite after visiting Holyrood Park and traversing it's varied terrain. My girlfriend and I felt welcome from the moment we stepped through the door here.The menu provides a plethora of choice which should fit anyone's taste. Personally I recommend the bacon and cheese burger, it was delicious.

I would not hesitate in recommending this restaurant pub to any who happen to be in the area! Go now!

Helpful?
Thank Chris19932014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a great way to bring in the New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We went back to the Sally on Hogmanay as we had such a great time last year we had a 4 course meal and from Starters to Desserts every dish was Superb our Grandaughter and Friends joined us and it was their 1st experience and they were full off praise Gradaughter has been there many times but a first Hogmanay Although it was packed we didn't wait long for food and all piping hot plenty staff on hand to replenish drinks an altogether great night We had guests stay and I had recommended the Sally and they also had a great night Well done Keith and staff

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank garden43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“consistently great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

have been eating here regularly for over a year, and can't rate the food, service, general atmosphere highly enough. It's really reasonable and consistently great, staff are brilliant, never disappointed!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank feemurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had a really great meal here. Our waitress Emily was very friendly. Great drink selection too! And not too hard on the wallet either!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salisbury Arms also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Salisbury Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing