We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Perfect”
Dunbar's Close gardens behind the apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dunbar's Close gardens behind the apartment
Looking down Royal Mile towards the apartment Well equiped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Dunbar's Close gardens behind the apartment
Looking down Royal Mile towards the apartment
Well equiped kitchen
Warm stylish modern bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Bright South Facing Living Room
Make yourself an espresso...
...settle back and relax
Quiet bedroom overlooking gardens
Minutes walk from the large Holyrood Park
Entrance to Dunbar's Close Gardens
Inside Dunbar's Close gardens
view of the apartment from the gardens
The front of the apartments on the Royal Mile
the Queen's palace at Holyrood, just down the road
View from the apartment window
View of Arthurs Seat taken from the rear of the apartment
Looking down on Holyrood from Arthurs Seat
View from the bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
William K
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Everything you could want in a rental for a reasonable price. Small but quiet bedroom (overlooked Dunbar Close garden). Very well equipped kitchen. Very friendly owners. We had been looking for a small french press and they gave us the one in the apt. Just too nice. Located at the bottom of the Miracle Mile. Convenient to grocery store. Books to read/ movies to watch. Complete laundry facilities. Bathroom was modern and fairly large. We would stay there again if we ever returned to Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owners and location
Liked least: Slightly noisy on Friday night
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev F
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful Apartment ”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful place to stay. Clean fresh and everything you need for a perfect holiday. Right on the Royal Mile and within walking distance of all local attractions. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again and would recommend anyone to stay here. Booking was easy and the owners were always easy to contact and quick to respond with any questions or queries. Wonderful apartment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnsNZ
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment!”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the apartment over Hogmanay and one of the first things that drew me to the apartment was the price. Hotel prices seemed to go up to about 5 times the price for the Hogmanay period so the Secret Garden Apartment was quite a steal (I was surprised noone else had already booked it!). The apartment is in an amazing location, right on the royal mile! (you could even see the Hogmanay fireworks out the apartment window!) We drove to Edinburgh and the owners were happy to give us information (and show us how to get there) about where parking was available free near the apartment in a residential area. There was all the information you needed in the apartment, ranging from how to use the appliances to sightseeing books and brochures. I wouldn't hesitate to book this apartment again and will definitely recommend it to any friends visiting Edinburgh. Great location, fast responses from the owners for any queries before arriving, great price, apartment very clean and nicely decorated and has everything you might need.
Thank you :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LobstaMan
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect location in quiet part of Royal Mile w/i walking to everything”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Everything was great about this property -- location, cost, owners, size, amenities, ease of booking, cleanliness, etc. The owners met us at the property upon our check in and gave us the keys and went over all the info we needed to enjoy our stay. They even gave us a great recommendation for a day trip to Linlithgow and put a bottle of champagne in the fridge for my wife and I. Walking distance to all the major Edinburgh attractions, coffee shops, convenience stores, pubs, bars, rail station, bus stops and shopping. I would rent this property again and recommend it to anyone as a great home base to explore Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the property.
Liked least: Nothing negative to say.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cajonquee...
san diego
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The location is perfect for exploring Edinburgh being right on the Royal Mile. The secret garden behind the flat was lovely, a good place to read a book. The flat has everything you need, including a washer/dryer. The book that comes with it is very helpful and I recommend reading it soon after arriving as it explains how everything works in the apt and also has very helpful hints for places to eat. The kitchen is full function and there is a market close by. I did not see a better place to stay than here. It is quiet at night and we slept with the window open.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We appreciated the homey touches, comfort, and convenience of The Secret Garden Apartment.
Liked least: There is really nothing we didn't like about it. It is just lovely!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mary O
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“How to get away from it all while still being in the middle of things!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed every minute of our stay in this lovely apartment. It is right on the Royal Mile, but a block down from the busiest section, so you don't get all the noise at night. And it does indeed have a lovely garden that has not been discovered by many people. You can sit out there when the weather is fine and enjoy a truly beautiful spot to relax. The apartment itself is very luxurious. The bathroom is stunning, the kitchen is quite modern, and the bedroom is quite comfy with a lovely view. The couch in the living room pulls out into a bed at need. Worth noting is that this is a third floor walkup with no elevator, but we did not find this to be a problem. The lovely hosts did offer to bring our bags up for us! There is a great washer and dryer available for use as well. We would definitely stay there again - we felt right at home within minutes of getting there! Highly recommend this lovely spot for either a short or extended stay in Edinburgh!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very lovely, upscale retreat from the city. Comfortable!
Liked least: third floor walkup
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing