We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere and choice of beers.....”
Review of Cloisters Bar

Cloisters Bar
Ranked #654 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Scottish, Seafood, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: Traditional city centre pub with 9 cask ales, 10 keg beers and large Malt whisky selection which serves great locally sourced fresh food. Lunches served: Tuesday - Saturday. Evening meals: Tuesday - Saturday. All afternoon: Sunday
CHESTERFIELD
Level Contributor
178 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and choice of beers.....”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

really busy Friday about 6 pm great atmosphere and superb selection of real ales wines whiskies and ciders.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAZJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    35
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great classic cosy pub”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Cloisters is in a convenient location and so its often the meeting point with our friends. It has a fine selection of beers and they are happy to recommend things. It's always packed and its a small space so you are unlikely to get a seat. But they allow dogs, it's a cosy vibe and always an enjoyable experience. Haven't had the tapas, but I've seen them floating around and they look (and smell) delicious. As an extra they have those little hooks under the bar to hang your jackets on, which I never see enough in pubs nowadays, really nice touch!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DButtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It is open again!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Cute little bar, but be warned, they don't serve much food late. Anyway, beer is food. Dogs are allowed - so you can tell it really is a nice neighborhood pub

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank WandaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of Edinburghs Best”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

reading the previous review who gave one star as the place is closed for Refurb just compelled me to write a review.

1) Cloisters to the Best of my Knowledge doesnt have a Web site, It does however have a Facebook page, and the Refurb is mentioned their.

2) Reviewing a place 1Star thats closed for a Refurb, isnt a fair representation of the place/

3) Why was it a wasted Taxi fair, theres at least 3 other Great bars within 10 minutes walk if youve traveled to that end of town(and its barley out of town)


But most of all Cloisters is a Great pub, Great Atmosphere, Friendly and helpfull bar staff with the Best of UK Cask beer on offer, complimented with a couple of Great Keg beers, and amazing whisky collection and good food (should you be hungry) at great prices.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank cgarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nothing like the expense of a taxi to a shut bar”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I am sure the locals know, but as a visitor i was shocked to find the place closed for a refurb, it was one of the the must goto bars when your visiting and lets just say I was very disappointed to find the red door shut and a little sign stating closed for a refurb - not a whisper on their web site which I visited that morning. Oh well another time

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cloisters Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cloisters Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing