We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Great Service Great Location”
Review of The Leith Beer Company - CLOSED

The Leith Beer Company
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We're a fun place to eat and drink, dog friendly, kids welcome, table service for food, great selection of beers on draught, wines, bottled ciders and beers, and all the usual spirits. When the weather permits (which is not often!) we have a large outside seating area in the front. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends.
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Service Great Location”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I came here with family and Friends on New Years eve and had dinner and as town was packed we were dubious as to whether we would get a space especially as we hadnt booked but it wasnt over full and we got a table very easily. We ordered meals on the 2 for £10 menu and all of the food we had was amazing.
I would definitley reccomend it as a great restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    49
    17
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seaforde
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just eaten in the Leith Beer Company and had a truely excellent meal. Highly recommend this great bar for reasonably priced food and beer and fantastic quality food. Can't speak highly enough. Had the BBQ southern fried chicken burger and it was delicious.
If you visit Edinburgh you have to eat here. 5 stars all the way. Get on a 22 bus and enjoy the food and atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart153Seaforde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy, friendly and good value for money”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I took my visitor to this venue - The Leith Beer Co - for a quick early dinner on Friday evening before she went to catch train home . The staff were very friendly and their service was excellent. The menu was good and reasonably priced. The venue was cosy and welcoming. The time taken from ordering to the food being served at our table was very good, as was the food. Will definitely go back there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elspeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Waterline it is not”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

visited the Waterline in it's new coat as The Leith Beer Company. Still a Belhaven bar, mostly the same great staff (few new faces?) and had a lick of paint.
Sadly, think of a homogeneous bar in any town, anywhere and you have The Leith Beer Company. Everything that made the Waterline unique has gone. The menu has been vastly reduced... no haggis nachos (why oh why?), no platters, no scampi (or had my eyes glazed over at that point?) and of course a few extra £££'s on what is left. But, the food was good; I had a burger and chips although I felt I didn't really have much of an option - leave burgers for the superb Diner 7 round the corner. The Waterline used to do a superb choice of chips ( a huge bonus for a chip fan like me!) gone gone gone. You get served up 'fries', yes, they even call them that!
As for the beers, go round to the local supermarket for the same choice or head out to the Malt & Hops for a genuine 'beer' pub.
3 stars because the staff are good (I would give them 5 stars alone) and the booths round the back are a great addition but badly let down on range of food, cost and quality/choice of beer. There are better options nearby.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LeithKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
784 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 643 helpful votes
“Traditional style pub full of character”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Over the years I 've eaten in this pub quite a few times, including twice in the past month. While the menu is pretty standard pub fare e.g. fish and chips (excellent), burgers (tasty), steaks, salads, etc, the food is always cooked to a very good standard and in my experience the service has always been always quick. The pub itself is full of character with a number of quirky nautical features. The furniture may be a bit of a 'hotch potch' of styles but this just lends added character. The beer is good too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brucestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Leith Beer Company also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing