We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful base to explore Edinburgh from!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #127 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A wonderful base to explore Edinburgh from!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

BOOKING:
We booked online and paid before we arrived. This made the service quicker and the hotel had our details ready and was expecting us. The rates were very reasonable and the hotel is classed as budget but really the only thing budget about this hotel was the price. We booked for 3 nights as we had a wedding to go to and wanted to make a long weekend of it. All the photos we saw online illustrated the hotel truthfully.

LOCATION:
The location was perfect, based in Leith, or Edinburgh, many people argue about the location! Either way you could walk everywhere you needed to get to; Princes Street, Rose Street and the Castle and Old Town were all easily accessible. I’m 29 and not the fittest person around. It was also easy to find and walk to from the train/bus station. The street the hotel is located on is Royal Terrace. This is a beautiful part of Edinburgh and the street is very similar to those you’d see in Bath, even with a cobbled road. The houses and hotels on this street were beautiful and very grand looking. There are only houses on the one side of the street and behind the hotel is a big park. This makes the street very quiet without having to be far out of the town. The hill behind is called Carlton Hill and boasts some stunning panoramic views. This is literally 5 minutes from the hotel! There are lots of pubs, bars and restaurants within easy reach of this hotel too.
The hotel itself was very grand and beautiful inside. It had a lovely grand stair case and glass ceiling in the centre. The hotel has been looked after and kept well, and celebrates its period styling; lovely carpets, huge mirrors and gold walls. Beautiful! I still can’t figure out why this is a budget hotel!

SERVICE & BREAKFAST:
The staff at Halcyon Hotel were very friendly and efficient. Checking in and out was very easy and straight forward.
Every morning the staff greeted us with big smiles and quick service. We were seated quickly and brought refreshments whilst we chose what to eat on the breakfast menu. There was a good choice of breakfast too. I was very pleasantly surprised to see that not only was there the option to have fish for breakfast; but there were 2 different varieties, as well as fruit, full breakfast and cereal. It was delicious and served quickly even when the dining room was busy. The owners were very friendly too and checked that everything was ok and that we were enjoying our stay. This was a lovely personal touch.
Beds were made, towels changed and rooms cleaned efficiently every day, but not too early either so you weren’t disturbed!

ROOM:
Our room was clean light and airy, narrow but had a private corridor next to it with main the door at one end and a bathroom at the other. It almost made it feel like a little apartment. The double bed we had was very warm and comfy. Just lovely and cosy when the weather outside wasn’t so good. We were at the back of the hotel and had views of the rear gardens, which were quite pretty.
There were some chocolates to welcome us.
There was a nice big wardrobe and dressing table to store our clothes in. There was also a good mirror for getting ready in. There was no tv in the room, but we don’t book hotels for the tv. There was a main sitting room with a big tv in that all guests were allowed to use.
There were clean fresh towels daily and nice bathrooms treats, shower gels etc supplied. There was also a good bathroom heater to keep us warm whilst showering.
There was a kettle with tea and milk. The room also had a heater which heated up the room nicely and spare blankets in the wardrobe, this was good as it was cold winter weather when we stayed. There was a retro intercom but we didn't use it so don't know if it was in use.


OVERALL:
There is nothing I can fault about this hotel, and would stay here every time I visit Edinburgh. I will recommend it too. I’d love to visit again in the summer! This is a fantastic hotel and perfect if you are on any kind of budget. Thanks for a lovely stay Halcyon!

Room Tip: The whole hotel is on a quiet street so all rooms should be nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StinaBena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    78
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
28
65
48
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I made a last minute booking to meet up with my son at Uni and go to the Christmas market.
This hotel was good value for money and the owners very kind and friendly.
There are lovely views and it is a quiet location...yet short walk from Princes street and the centre of the city.
Good home cooked breakfast.
I got an ensuite room -small and dated -but comfortable/warm and clean with tea/coffee making facilities etc.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Halcyon House is in a great location for exploring Edinburg but also allows you to get away from the hustle and bustle of the main streets and the Royal Mail - yet you are still within easy walking distance of all the main attractions of the city centre.
Easy to find and in such a nice part of Edinburg, the traditional building is comfortable, warm and beautifully decorated. I had a single room - which was compact but still had everything I needed, including a view of one very little pretty garden at the rear of the house.
Family run, the two owners are perhaps some of the nicest, friendliest and most accommodating hosts I have had the pleasure to deal with - they were so interested in my stay and couldn't have done more to make sure I had a great time - the breakfast was delicious and very filling!
The Halcyon Hotel is excellent value for money and highly recommended for a short break in Edinburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We visited late November and on arrival a staff member informed us of the on street parking. As it was a Friday we only had to pay for the afternoon as weekends are free! We were pleasantly surprised by this as had expected to pay more for our parking in a central location. We were also offered by the staff member that she could feed our meter. This welcome made us aware at the start of our trip that we were not going to be disappointed.
We were given the key to our room, which consisted of twin beds, a queen bed in a separate area which had an archway through from the bedroom, and on suite facilities.
The room was warm and spotlessly clean. It had added touches such as a chocolate each on the mantle piece and nice vases with ornamental grasses. There was also tea making facilities in our room.
Additionally there was a very comfortable, large, lounge with plenty of coffee and teas to help ourselves to.
We met our hosts in the morning at breakfast. Patricia cooked us fresh full breakfasts made to suit our tastes and Mathew served us in the dining room. They were both very friendly people who obviously loved their work as the atmosphere they created was wonderful.
We found our experience more than we could have hoped for as we had booked late and for an inexpensive price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fullplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Halcyon on Saturday after a recommendation from a friend. I wanted a centrally located budget friendly place and that is what I got. My room was very comfortable, spotlessy clean and well equiped.

The staff were helpful and friendly and were happy to help with tourist information etc...

If you want somewhere that is not going to break the bank but is a step above a 'budget' B&B/hotel this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a single room and struggle with stairs make sure you don't get number 16...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnie1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Advertised with ample parking, there is no parking except pay and display no return within 4 hours! So each morning we had to get up at 8am to move the car and put a new ticket on. The room was nice but beds very uncomfortable, the springs had gone. The guy said that we could come down for brekkie anytime between 8-9am, which meant no lie in- wouldn't of minded but the food was very bland and raw tomatoes and microwaved mushrooms and eggs with reheated bacon and sausage and no black pudding. We would of opted for a premier inn as you always know what you're going to get but decided to take a risk due mainly to the 'ample' parking. £190 for two nights is about right for city centre hotel but the halcyon left a lot to be desired. If your looking for an overpriced b&b this is the one to go for.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonThatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was struggling to find a room at short notice and booked this with muted expectations. I can fault it solely on the peculiarly ineffective shower head mount but the service was exemplary. Beautiful period property in leafy surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotWillSelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#126 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#131 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#109 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Hotel

Property: Halcyon Hotel
Address: 8 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Halcyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halcyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing