We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #134 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed July 23, 2012

On entering the hotel there was an awful smell the whole place could do with a refurbishment. The kettle in lounge did not work, three flights of stairs to climb to our room no lift. In bedroom no TV and the radio did not work. The wash basin was that small you could not fill the kettle, shower cubicle was small, the furniture was shabby, ceiling lampshade could have done with a dusting. The rooms did not look a bit like the photos on their web site. Late night guests shouting between floors. At breakfast time we had a window table where we had to slide the table to one side to get in then slide it to the other side for my husband to get in. The orange fruit juice was already served on table no choice of other juices. The gentleman serving breakfast had a very strange sense of humour, breakfast quite greasy and a large portion of sliced mushrooms. To say it's a hotel there was no bar, it is more a B & B. I expected a better class of hotel for the tariff we paid. We were not introduced to the owners, the only good point was 10 -15mins walk into city.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Disappointed182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 216 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just returned from an enjoyable stay at the Halcyon. It is approx 10 mins walk from Waverley train station and around £6 by taxi. The castle can be reached in approx 20 mins, but regular buses will take you to Princes Street.
The rooms whilst basic are clean and comfortable, with plenty of tea and coffee. 2 x complimentary showergel/shampoo will cut down on your packing if staying for 2 nights.
I stayed 3 nights and could quite happily have stayed longer. I was made to feel most welcome by the owners who ensured that breakfast (served 8 - 9) was by far my biggest meal of the day. The food was always hot and tasty.
I would recommend this guest house to friends and family.

Room Tip: I would pay the extra for en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjf3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Decor and furnishings were nice but a bit worn and tired. Lots of 'bits and pieces' need doing. Room was fine, quite a few hairs on bedding, and in bathroom but overall was clean, but could have done with a thorough dusting. No tv in room but there was a communal lounge that could be used. Owners were friendly, which was great. Breakfast was nice but just as a personal issue I would not have the cooked breakfast again as I'm not keen on a kilo of mushrooms, uncooked tomato and one tiny chipolata sausage. You are also allocated an orange juice as opposed to being able to help yourself as with most b&bs. Overall, its a well placed B&B with nice owners, but not worth the money paid.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZedAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed last night in the Halcyon in Royal Terrace Edinburgh. We were going to see Dara O'Brian at the playhouse and we were literally three minutes walk from the theatre. The room was excellent, clean and with all mod cons. The staff are some of the friendliest we have ever stayed with. I highly recommend this hotel for cleanliness,friendliness and location. If you're going to Edinburgh you'll struggle to find a better choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stewartc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Me and my Partner have just returned from a lovely stay in Edinburgh at The Halcyon Hotel. This is a lovely place to stay and ideally situated for Calton Hill and only a 10 minute walk into the centre of Edinburgh. Our Room was very nicely decorated and very clean and very quiet.No TV in room but there is so much to do why would you want to be watching TV? However if you can't do without there is a very nice lounge where you can watch TV. Rooms have coffee and tea making facilities and are very comfortable. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is excellent, choice of cereals, porridge or fruit, toast and jam and coffee or tea and orange juice followed by a full breakfast which is freshly cooked to order and is delicious and very filling, my Partner a big eater struggled with this big breakfast. We would highly recommend this Hotel. In fact this is one of the lovliest hotels we have stayed in and will definately stay there again when we return to Edinburgh

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden, very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Loli0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

A great hotel with a very tasty breakfast! Very reasonably priced for a hotel so close to the city centre, Princes street and the royal mile are obly about 15/20 mins walk, with a selection of bars and restaurants nearby, plus the playhouse and omni cinema. No TV in the rooms but this suited me and my husband fine as we were there to explore the city not lounge about in the room. Friendly staff, very large clean room and as I said, a hearty breakfast evry morning! Exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The rooms are comfortable and carefully maintained, tea and coffee facilities and even a chocolate with a kind note. While not slick and polished like traditional hotels the large Georgian townhouse is graceful and inviting. I enjoyed sipping a cup of tea in the large lounge room available to all guests and the friendly banter as I was served breakfast. Certainly you could find little faults about the place if you looked hard enough but I doubt you could find much better value for money. Perfect for solo travelers, couples and families on a budget but wanting a bit of homely charm.

Room Tip: The little bit extra for the en-suite was worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#127 of 151 in Edinburgh
22 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#148 of 151 in Edinburgh
563 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#126 of 151 in Edinburgh
246 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#106 of 151 in Edinburgh
705 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Hotel

Address: 8 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $89 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Halcyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing