We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Was taken here for my birthday again this year. Requested a high floor room with a view and they didn't disappoint. We had four windows each with a unique view. The staff were excellent and exceptionally discrete and nothing was too much bother. The concierge made a couple of suggestions for dinner and organised everything round that. Instantly feel relaxed whenever I walk through the door into the reception and despite being a busy, iconic, city centre hotel the feeling of tranquility is maintained throughout, even down to the spa.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,044 - 2,050 of 3,920 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I was there many times for business and all of them was perfect. I'd like tp recommend everybody to there except during August than everything in Edimburg are not good enough based in overloading.

It is a tipical traditional English/Scottish Hotel

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank qscofr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The perfect location for exploring Edinburgh on foot. The staff here are extremely helpful and friendly, giving the impression that your enjoyment of the hotel is their priority. The quality of fittings in the spacious bathroom, was very high, as were the furnishings in the bedroom, in fact we were entirely happy with the room and view. Service and food in Hadrian's was very good, both in the evening and morning, with a pleasant ambiance. Our tour of Scotland marked the celebration of a significant wedding anniversary, and on our arrival we loved the decorated plate of treats provided for us. On our return from dinner, we found the bed covered in a heart shape of pink rose petals - a really lovely touch, which was very much appreciated. We loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valleyresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Have stayed here a number of times before and it is still a great hotel. Our room appeared to have been recently re-furbished and was really nice. No coffee or tea facilities in the room but the coffee from room service was excellent.

Our only gripe was the time to taken to check in. Despite the fact that the hotel already had our details and there was no-one else checking in at the same time, the whole process seemed extremely slow.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonandVib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We recently had a wonderful two-day stay at the Balmoral Hotel. The hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of downtown Edinburgh, central to all the major attractions. The Balmoral has managed to maintain its historical authenticity, while providing guests with all the modern amenities. Our room was spacious and well-appointed, with an elegant, but still very functional all-marble bathroom.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Each staff member, from the concierge, to the doorman, to the crew at the front desk, always took the time at each interaction to ask whether we were enjoying our stay, and if there was anything they could do to improve our experience. One member of the front desk staff, Sandy, even took the time to research and send us the genealogy of our surname in one particular area of Scotland, which we greatly appreciated.

All in all a terrific stay! I would definitely recommend the Balmoral to any friends or family traveling to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I have traveled quite a bit around the world and stayed at five star hotels. nothing compares to the service at the Balmoral. First of all, you are greated by your name. i have stayed at the hotel three times. They remember what i like for breakfast, when my son had a massage they remembered that he is allergic to nuts. Andy and Dave of concierge services remembers where you ate last time you stayed and never recommends a restaurant just because it is touristy and he has a connection there. if you want great food, he finds you the right place in your price range. The pool is wonderful, the gym is large. there are even trainers there for your disposal. The entire staff is extremelyl gracious. They obviously have been extremely well trained. I just stayed at the El Palace in Barcelona and had the opposite experience. no comforters or blankets in the room. The bathroom floor is ordinary and cold. the showers impossible to figure out. I cant recommend the Balmoral Hotel enough. Philippe the manager is really smart and interesting. And moreover the beds at the Balmoral are really really comfortable. The comforters are plush, the rooms large, the bathrooms decked in marble.

Room Tip: I like rooms with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarengT8807SN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Family had booked an executive room for my birthday. It was worse than a classic room which was cheaper. Took 2 hours and a lot of hassle to change. My 14 year old daughter was allowed in the bar on the 1st night but the 2nd night the bouncers claimed only 18's only, he was very rude.
Lots of little things were wrong such as no milk in the rooms, empty bottle ps in the mini bar, not what you expect from a five star hotel.Spa was excellent

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,034 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $248 - $894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing