We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best ......”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #13 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and I travelled from Nottinghamshire to Edinburgh by train for an overnight stay at the Balmoral and dinner at the No. 1 restaurant to celebrate my 70th birthday. Our experience overall was exceptional. We were made to feel so welcome by the most courteous, attentive and helpful staff. Our room was immaculate with the most comfortable bed and beautiful bed linen, high quality furnishings and fittings and a gorgeous marble bathroom. Dinner at the No. 1 restaurant was a truly memorable experience. We chose the tasting menu + wine pairing which was incredible from the first mouthful to the last. Gary and his team are to be congratulated on their excellence and expertise and the ambience and comfort of the restaurant was wonderful. After a perfect sleep we had chosen to take breakfast in our room which was served and presented impeccably. I must say a huge thank you from both of us for the most wonderful stay and the extra treats which made my special day one which I will treasure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hyacinth_bouquet2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 70th birthday with us at The Balmoral recently. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed every aspect of your celebratory stay and had the opportunity to experience our Michelin-starred restaurant, Number One.
I am extremely grateful for the trouble you have taken to review your experience and it will be a pleasure to share your comments with the team members who looked after you so well.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,852)
There are newer reviews for The Balmoral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,007 - 2,013 of 3,852 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We were made welcome from the moment the door was opened for us! Sandy was exceptional on reception and the bar staff were knowledgeable and helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel but the Tea room and the restaurants looked good. Our room was great, clean and they came to refresh the water bottles, turn the quilt down, tidy up which was a pleasant surprise. The spa was fabulous, pool was superb; they provide teas, coffees, water plus news papers, magazines which adds to the lovely experience you get on your visit there.
Another excellent point to the hotel is it's location, right by the train station, the Airlink bus stop, the shops and the Old Town; near to the Castle and art gallery; great restaurants and bars; the theatre (we went to see West Side Story which was amazing), cinemas etc.
The Balmoral is a superb hotel and even though they had a beautiful wedding going on, they still gave their time & the best customer service to us! Brilliant hotel that I would recommend for any couple wanting a thoroughly enjoyable break as that's what we had!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Hyacinth03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My Wife and I stayed at the Balmoral for a weekend that was part work, part pleasure and it didn't disappoint! From the moment we arrived the service was outstanding with all staff friendly and courteous at all times. The Concierge service was outstanding with the team on hand to answer any question or make arrangements for dinner or taxis 24 hours a day.
The facilities are outstanding with comfortable well designed rooms, boasting every amenity you could wish for, (except an Iron and ironing board, but this is probably because the typical customer would use their paid laundry service!). The mix of contempory design and original features strikes a perfect balance with old world charm and service belnded with modern facilities. The only slight downside to our room on the 1st floor was the noise from revellers on the street below, however as we would normally be out with the crowds making noise, I can't complain too much!
My wife visited the spa for a massage and found the experience relaxing and enjoyable.
The food was good although we only ate breakfast at the hotel; colleagues who used the restaurant said it was excellent.
Overall the Balmoral is exactly what you would expect from a 5* hotel in a modern European capital city - Excellent!

Room Tip: The higher floors would prove quieter on a weekend
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwrb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I was there on few occasins and I always received the best service from Andy, David or Kevin. Always the best recommendations for restaurants and shows. i have had the chance to stay in the J.K. Rowling suite. the layout of the suite is just amazing, the view could be better but it is a city center hotel.
the Palm Court is THE place for an afternoon tea, nothing else to say: Everything you are looking for a proper Scottish afternoon tea is there, including the pianist. Enjoyable amd memorable experience

Room Tip: The rooms on the high floor with a Castle view
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaynice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Checking into the Balmoral is stepping back into time with all the modern amenities one could wish for. An original railroad hotel, it's location on top of the train station is ideal for rail passengers. The staff starting with the doormen were all extremely pleasant and helpful. Our corner room was spacious with a lovely quirkiness in angles and windows only found in a 100plus year old structure. Do go for a room rate that includes breakfast...it is well worth it. The concierge staff was extremely helpful especially when it came to tracking down my husband's lost wallet! We will happily return to this beautiful hotel due to its staff and lovely amenities and ideal location in historic Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our Afternoon Tea in the Palm Court. Great atmosphere, beautiful background music and a delicious afternoon tea. Thanks to Francesca for looking after us so well. The "torrone" was divine!
Looking forward to the next time!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Scotlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

When we saw this hotel we could'nt believe it it stands in a majestic position overlooking the wonderful city, when we arrived it was dark and the hotel was lit up it looked magnificent, as we entered the hotel we were greeted by the staff so friendly and helpful, our bags were taken to our room while we checked in. We were then shown around making us aware of all facilities available, we then were taken to our room light airy and spacious, everything was available safe tv fridge ect and if anything was required it was brought immediately you can have tea and coffee facilities in your room no charge also a complimentary daily news paper. The restaurant was clean and fresh the food was of the highest standard. But best of all was the staff they were so helpful and friendly the concierge went beyond their remit helping us with everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a fantastic stay in the wonderful city of Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We stayed in 422 recomended
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,856 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $230 - $894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing