We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxurious and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I've been lucky enough to stay at many 4 and 5 star Hotels through my business travels across Europe and the USA and one takes for granted the luxury afforded by them.

Unfortunately this luxury is usually accompanied by an impersonal and business-like atmosphere. Not the Balmoral. From the moment we were greeted by Peter the doorman we experienced the friendliest stay that I have had at any Hotel. We enjoyed superb breakfasts and evening meals in the Hotel and each and every member of staff that we dealt with were, without exception, helpful, friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,620
    698
    193
    79
    39
See reviews for
722
1,725
162
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed at the Balmoral for one night for an event and for the most part my stay was very pleasant. The room was clean, tastefully decorated, and comfortable, and the staff mostly very professional (particularly at reception) and polite, which is hugely important. Food served at the event I attended on the premises was very good.

Two small things let it down - tea and coffee facilities in room have to be requested. It took a rather long time and a reminder call for these to arrive, and the tea is limited to exactly one kind (as opposed to the usual two or three blends in most hotels) - but the kettle having been boiled already was a nice touch. Room service late at night was happy to accomodate a small request, which was appreciated - but slightly too few oatcakes arrived with the cheeseboard.

Secondly, breakfast was a little disappointing. We were ushered to a table with a brief desciption of how it worked (buffet, can also order from hot menu - typical, right?), but when I went to order something from the hot menu, the waitress seemed surprised and said the hot food at the buffet was usually enough / ordering from menu was a supplement - so I was put off, and cancelled the hot order. The toast was cold (and so was the butter) when it after some time arrived and consisted of a measly one slice per person - rather stingy considering the price charged for breakfast. The milk jug at the table was also almost empty and had to be replaced before it could be used.

These small things aside, generally, I was happy with my trip to the Balmoral, and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauraelizabethg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Wonderful experience in the Balmoral Bar over a two night visit to Edinburgh. Great atmosphere, very classy but relaxed. A petal in the Prosecco and very tasty snacks presented in cool cones. A special mention to Nuno who was in attendance over both nights and was very professional and personable and made us feel incredibly welcome. Thank you. We look forward to returning soon!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelstonBurden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I took my Mother here for afternoon tea as a surprise special birthday treat, and while maybe a bit on the expensive side at first glance, it was worth every penny, and I would highly recommend it.

The Palm Court itself is very impressive, elegantly decorated with a relaxed atmosphere providing the perfect ambiance for such an occasion. The food was delicious and perfectly presented. The amuse bouche was nice to start followed by a lovely selection of sandwiches and savoury treats, then after a few more sips of tea we were presented with the stand full of scones and cakes, and a plum mousse to die for. It wasn't over there though, we were then asked if we would like to chose any 'treats from the trolley' (fruitcake, nougat and petit fours) we politely declined as by this point we were quite full and instead opted to take them home with us for later. We were given them in a lovely little box with two little pots of loose leaf Balmoral Tea, which I thought was a lovely touch.

Aside from the setting and the food, the service we received was outstanding, and after mentioning it was my mothers birthday they even got the resident harpist to do a rendition of Happy Birthday for her while they brought out our sweet cake stand out with a candle in the top of one of the cakes. All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful, particularly the tall french lady who's name escapes me, and also our main waitress for the afternoon, Francesca who was lovely, attentive, chatty and smiley and really made my mam feel special.

Overall we had a great time and I would like to take this opportunity to thank The Balmoral Hotel for such a lovely afternoon, my mother in particular thoroughly enjoyed herself which was the main aim of the visit, afternoon tea at The Balmoral certainly comes highly recommended from us!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laneyyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Utter perfection, had a lovely time - faultless. We stayed here for our friends wedding and it really lived upto and went beyond our expectations. Breakfast was to die for and beautifully presented. Champagne, afternoon tea the next day - what more can I say? Perfection.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Howard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Took my mum for high tea as a very special treat for being a great mum.... I knew the price before I went & it was quite expensive, however every bit worth it. The setting, the service and the food was awesome. This will now be an annual event for us!!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SuzyL76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We had Champagne Afternoon Tea at Palm Cout within the Balmoral Hotel. Very relaxed, understated surroundings with impeccable service. Would highly recommend if you are looking for a luxury spoil me afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lizzydoll_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#90 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing