We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Balmoral Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$322
$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$115
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$300
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$135
$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$211
$204
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$187
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$100
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$281
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (4,142)
Filter reviews
4,142 results
Traveler rating
2,996
788
220
91
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,996
788
220
91
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe palm courthadrian's brasseriescotch barrocco fortemarble bathroomsean conneryconcierge stafftrain stationbeautiful hotelturn down serviceluxury hotelprinces streetbirthday treatedinburgh castlecastle viewroyal milespa
Filter
Updating list...
2,638 - 2,643 of 4,142 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I visited the Balmoral with a group of ladies for Afternoon Tea as a lady-like start to a hen do in May 2013. What a fantastic start!

We arrived on the red carpet and politely greeted by a French gentleman who took all our coats. He then told us that the groups having afternoon tea before us were still at the tables and we wouldnt be seated for a bit. I'll be honest my heart sank - but if the previous guests are still there what can you do; you just deal with it. He dissapeared for a minute then returned to say he'd spoken to his manager and we would be seated in a private lounge instead of the dining room with everyone else, and we'd have a bottle of prosecco waiting for us for the inconvenience. We must have been standing there maybe 10 minutes??

The lounge was lovely; comfy , modern but with just a wee bit of glamour. He popped the prosecco and served us all on a wee silver tray - we felt like ladies out of Downton Abbey! I'm dying to go back and try out the rest of the hotel. Once he realised I was getting married, he insisted on taking photos of us as a keepsake - so sweet!

Our starters came; a tiny apperitif of Pimms with fresh fruit - I had no idea you could have starters for Afternoon Tea! We then all ordered our tea from a lovely menu; black teas, special Balmoral blends, jasmine, cherry blossom, passionfruit, all different coffees - you name it! We each got our own little teapot and the tea was prepared in front of us - none of your teabag nonsense I've had at other 5* hotels! The cake plates were brought out - little sandwiches (about 4 each), crisps (which I did find a bit odd!), an amazing lemon buttercream macroon, Balmoral shortbread, a rich chocolate/hazelnut mousse cake and a sweet rhubarb fool.

Then came the scone round - and tea top ups. 2 scones each; one wholemeal and one sultana. You got a scoop of clotted cream and lots of different jams in cute wee pots. My family are *big* dessert/cake fans and we were adament we'd be able to squeeze in the extra cake they had offered but some of us didnt even make it to the scones - there was definitely enough. We struggled to have dinner that night.

Only £25 - cheaper than the 5* Blytheswood Hotel in Glasgow - give it a go! We just felt so looked after - the staff were amazing and thoughtful. They really made my weekend :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaraAnn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoraledinburgh, Palm Court Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review following your visit to the Bollinger Bar at Palm Court for afternoon tea. I am delighted to learn that you and your friends enjoyed the private lounge area offered when our previous diners took longer than expected to vacate their table.
It will be a pleasure to share your comments with my team, and I know that both the waiting staff and the pastry chefs will be extremely grateful for the trouble you have taken to share your positive impressions regarding the high levels of service and the quality of the food you experienced.

Wishing you all our best for your forthcoming wedding.

Best regards

Jenny Laseen
Palm Court Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great staff - they couldn't do enough for you. Very convenient to walk around the city. Rooms nicely furnished. Our rate included breakfast which was excellent. Our rate also included free wifi. Huge bathtub and huge, fluffy towels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights, as we hab booked via internet we had free wifi during our stay. It is a lovely period building with a beautiful decoration, very beautiful rooms, good sized bathrooms, good restauramnt for breakfast, a spa and pool... It is located just by the train station and a block away from the open tour buses and the airport shuttle. Staff is helpful. Walking distance to Old and new Town as well as to museums and Walter Scott Monument.
We had a great view of the Castle. After a too modern hotel in London I really enjoyed this charming hotel.
We had to double check the bill as we had charges that did not match but they were inmediatly corrected.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a deluxe corner room on top floor ( room 652), It had a sofa & 3 chairs so that our son could come in & we could discuss the day. The bed was extremely comfortable & the bathroom huge. Has a high bathtub good for soaking but hard to get in if you are short. The towels were 6 feet long & when used from the towel warmer was a real treat. We had 2 large round windows & reminded me of portholes on a ship. They set out 2 mineral waters every night at turn-down. We needed to change our itinerary & arrive a day earlier & they were very accommodating. The staff was very friendly & always asked if there was anything we needed. It is in a great location & an easy walk to the Royal mile & shopping nearby. The full Scottish breakfast was superb with a wonderful assortment of breads, meats, eggs, etc.

Room Tip: the corner suite 652 was great
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward02494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Edinburgh. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, from the comfort of the bed and oversized towels, the central location of the hotel through to the levels of service and quality of our breakfast. Our high sided bath tubs are extremely luxurious, but we recognise that these may not suit all guests and do therefore have a number of rooms with lower sided tubs. Please do let us know your preference on booking for any future stays.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Airport shuttle bus drops off in the centre of Edinburgh, right next door to the hotel. The Balmoral is a lovely period hotel, tastefully updated. Very comfortable beds, with lovely bathroom. Excellent in house restaurant, No 1. Delicious tasting menu, with exceptional wine pairing. The hotel is a really good base to explore the city, with lovely views across to the Castle. It's worth the cost.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews