We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Scotland for a Wedding!”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Scotland for a Wedding!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My daughter & son-in-law had their wedding reception at The Balmoral and it was truly amazing. The wedding planner Elizabeth Bell is a gem, nothing was too much trouble and the staff's attention to every little detail was amazing. Food at the wedding was amazing. Perfect soufffles for over 80 guests! This hotel is simply stunning. Central location with such elegance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest

We are delighted that your daughter and son-in-law chose The Balmoral for their very special day. Thank you for your flattering comments with regard to Elizabeth Bell, our Wedding Planner, it is very much appreciated. I have shared your feedback with Elizabeth and the rest of the team who work so hard to provide the perfect day for the bride and groom.

Thank you once again for recommending The Balmoral as the best hotel in Scotland for a wedding and we hope you and your family will return to visit us in the future.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,701
    714
    197
    81
    40
See reviews for
748
1,775
167
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were hugely underwhelmed with our room on first arrival. There was no quality to any of the furnishing and, whilst the bathroom was a good size and of a marble finish, the main room just reminded us of a Holiday Inn. It lacked any form of character whatsoever and really had a "bargain basic" look about it.

I think the worst part was when we noticed that the king sized bed was just two mattresses pushed together! I really don't know how that it is in any way acceptable. It had the effect of feeling like you were sleeping on a twin bed and I kept getting stuck in the gap.

We put a complaint in and whilst the receptionist was nice and showed us other similar rooms and rooms on different tariffs, they all lacked quality and character. We decided to give our 48 hour notice that night and changed hotels for the rest of our stay.

I would like it say it got better for the rest of the 48 hours, but it didn't. There were no tea and coffee making facilities within the room itself, any WiFi would have to be paid for and set up (there was a lack of any adequate directions) and the TV had poor sound and picture quality.

The next morning the breakfast was a self service buffet and the coffee was awful. The food was fine and the staff attentive but it did not meet expectations. That night we requested a bucket of ice be sent up to our room which never materialised.

Overall, I would guess that the Balmoral is likely to be exactly like every other hotel in the chain. There is a total lack of warmth about the set up of the rooms and I really don't believe that the guests needs are thought about. When I am looking for somewhere to stay I am looking for character, to feel welcomed and I am willing to pay extra so when I get to a room I don't have to faff with WiFi and getting tea and coffee facilities sent up. I never ever expect for a bed to be two mattresses pushed together.

We stayed at a much nicer and, incidentally, much cheaper hotel which only puts the Balmoral in a much more negative light for us. I would avoid at all costs, there are much nicer places to stay in Edinburgh!

Room Tip: If possible, ask to view the rooms before checking in. I know we would not have booked had we seen t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Polly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your impressions following your stay at The Balmoral.

Having read your comments, I am sorry to learn that your overall experience did not meet with your expectations and you left feeling disappointed with some aspects of your stay, particularly your accommodation. As the hotel was built over a hundred years ago, as well as being a listed building, each of our rooms is unique both in terms of size and design and I am sorry that you had left underwhelmed by your guest room.

I would very much welcome the opportunity to personally discuss the various aspects of your feedback by calling me on 0131 556 2414, at your earliest convenience.

I look forward to hearing from you and thank you once again for taking the trouble to write a review.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here last week for three nights. Room wasn't ready when we arrived and we were given a promise that they'd call us. We never got that call, checked back at 4 and the room was ready (oh, well). The rest of our stay was truly magnificent! I'd requested a room with a view and that is exactly what we got: a classic room on a higher floor with an amazing view of Arthurs Seat and the Scotsman building. Location felt quiet, we had no trouble sleeping (the amazing beds might have helped!). Room wasn't huge but very comfortable and clean.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was one of the best we've ever had. Excellent hot items and a continental buffet with a really good selection of breads, pastries, fruits (even blueberrys and raspberrys) and cereals. You could also have pancakes and waffels. Coffee was very good, and I had a cappuccino one morning which was excellent also. Service was very friendly and efficient.

Very pleased and would gladly return tomorrow!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed a truly magnificent stay with us at The Balmoral Hotel and you scored us so highly on many aspects of your stay, from the comfort of your room and the amazing views to your dining experience at breakfast.

We thank you for taking the time to recommend The Balmoral to other travellers to Edinburgh and hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We chose The Balmoral primarily for location but we were not disappointed with the service or staff! Truly a great iconic hotel. If you are on the upper floors, don't forget to peak into the stairwell and see the amazing staircases and stain glassed windows! A great experience!

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at The Balmoral Hotel during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

Your appreciation of our iconic building, which has just celebrated her 110 Year Anniversary, fills us with great pride. We are also flattered by your kind words regarding the quality of service by our team as it helps to inspire and motivate us.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Balmoral during your next visit to Edinburgh and thank you once again for your review.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

It's elegant, oldy-worldy yet modern clean and fresh. Overall, outstanding - in particular, their customer service. Frank the Concierge was personable, helpful and assisted us beyond our expectations. The only thing that is not up to date or that failed our expectation was the lack of wifi... Well, it was available, but at a high cost.
We arrived early, and our Classic room was not yet ready, so because we were exhausted from travel, we upgraded to an Executive room which we could check in to immediately. We don't regret paying the extra as it was a nice room on the top (6th) floor with a view of the Castle. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Balmoral.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liseyloulops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

stayed two times in Novmber, first for one night and second ( after a day to Glasgow) teo nights. I have not used the facilities and had breakfast once ( very nice but I think the 5 pounds surplus for egg benedict could be dropped). Welcoming, reception and concierge are up to the level of a long standing five star establishment. Rooms very comfortable, huge beds, pleasant ambience in public places and perfect location.
The place to eat meat in the city is the steak house of Hotel Rutland, the other side of Princess Street

Room Tip: all rooms are nice, stayed 3 times so far in different sides of the hotel, no complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioannis_karkanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Location is perfect for a brief stay in Edinburgh. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see very easily. The Royal Mile is just across the North Bridge. The staff could not have been more accommodating and were extremely helpful in every way. The room was perfect -- the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large and the shower terrific. The only downside was you had to pay for internet as we did not bring our computer but that was a minor inconvenience. I would highly recommend The Balmoral if you are traveling to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Balmoral and all of the team are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and wish to thank you for your kind comments.

Although you did not have your computer with you during your stay, we do provide guests with complimentary internet access in our Business Centre 24 hours per day.

Thank you for your review and we hope you will choose The Balmoral again for any future visits to Edinburgh.

Kindest regards

Franck X Arnold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,805 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,032 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing