We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome in two languages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edinburgh Residence
Ranked #45 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcome in two languages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had a lovely stay when I picked my brother and his wife up from Edinburgh airport. Though the stay was short it lived up to the description of grandeur and comfort given to me by my friend who visits once a year in September. Most staff speak two languages, which was great as my relations are from Germany, so no problem with communication. Room service was quick ant the food delicious. We did not have time to enjoy all of the residence, but I will return for a longer stay soon, as the position is so convenient to explore Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ute S, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you so much! Vielen herzlichen Dank! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and it would be lovely to see you again soon. Best wishes from beautiful Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    63
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
39
222
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Loved this timeshare property and if we ever go back to Edinburgh we would love to stay there again. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms were huge and spacious....nothing negative to stay about this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madhu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ute S, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We would love to have you stay with us again! Thank you so much for your kind feedback and if the opportunity arises .... you know where to find us... With the very best wishes from all of us at the Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Edinburgh Residence is part hotel, part timeshare in the west end of Edinburgh. We have been time owners for 15 years or more, taking our week at various times of the year and in the various rooms of our category of suite. It is a wonderful place, spacious accommodation, attentive service, and unashamed comfort. We have the middle grade, a Grand suite, that gives you huge bed, one or two sofas armchair, kettle microwave and mini fridge (though woe betide you if you bring in your own toaster, and worse still if you set the fire alarms off. There's also a small dining table.. If you get tired of your spacious room, there is a beautiful drawing room downstairs, complete with papers and a computer. Otherwise just look out of the windows, either towards the castle, or over Dean Village across the Firth of Forth to Fife.

There is 24-hour room service - I love breakfast there. People may think not having a dining room is a down side, but with the variety in Edinburgh to choose from, many within walking distance - a sister hotel with dining room is a mere 200 yards away. If in doubt, ask the ever-helpful staff or look in the book in the hall where visitors make their own recommendations.

It's relaxation in spades!

Room Tip: The best views are in the higher floors, but some of the lower ones make up for it b feeling especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ute S, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you, thank you , thank you! Reviews like yours make it all worthwhile for us and we are all so pleased that you enjoy staying at the Residence so much. Look forward to seeing you again soon.... Best wishes from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very friendly staff, the room was huge and beautiful with a lovely view over Dean Village, great breakfast served in the room and the location was perfect. The Edinburgh residence is definitely our favourite place to stay in Edinburgh and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ute S, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review and we are so pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! We all hope to see you again soon. With all good wishes from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

I have just spent the weekend at the Edinburgh residence with my husband. We were married a week ago and having a mini honeymoon weekend in Edinburgh as we are due to have a baby in a few weeks. Having read all the lovely reviews I was really looking forward to spending the weekend here. On arriving at the hotel we were so happy we had chosen this place to stay. We had a grand suite and it certainly was that. Huge suite, beautifully decorated and massive bathroom with Jacuzzi bath and separate shower. The staff on arrival were lovely also and very efficient in showing us to our suite and how everything worked and how to order breakfast to be delivered to our suite the following day. We did this fairly quickly as were heading out to have a look around. Now for the disappointment, we ordered breakfast to be delivered between 9.15 and 9.30 so that we could go out early and take in the sights, however by 10am it still hadn't arrived so my husband contacted reception to enquire to be told they would call us back to let us know. At 10.20 they called back to say they had lost our breakfast order so could we fill in another and take it to reception. We did this and breakfast was delivered around 11.10 almost 2 hours after our original requested time. Nobody really knew what had happened or seemed to care so no apologies or mention of it again. Food was fine when it did arrive although being heavily pregnant i was starving so any food would have been welcomed. Half a day wasted we finally managed to go out for a look around the city and put the breakfast incident down to a simple mistake and looked forward to a better breakfast service the following day. We were to be disappointed again unfortunately. Breakfast did arrive on time, however not what we ordered. Items missing from cooked breakfast and no milk for cereal, determined not to let this ruin our experience we remembered that there was a mini fridge in our suite which had a small carton of milk inside so we could use that instead only to find that it was sour (The fridge only works sporadically) so no cereal for us. What we did get to eat was lovely so no issues with food quality. If not for the problems with breakfast our rating would have been 5 out of 5 as everything else about the hotel really is as described on the website and other reviews. I understand that mistakes do occur but it's just unfortunate that in our instance there were a few and with not as much as even a simple genuine apology we really were disappointed and don't think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIRFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ute S, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your time to post some feedback regarding your recent stay. We always try to achieve a very high standard and it is clear that we failed to do so on this occasion. I can only apologise for the mishap with your breakfast orders and I am very sorry you didn't have the best experience here at the Residence. Wishing you well and kind regards from Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed in the Edinburgh Residence for two nights and i have to say it was a fantastic alternative to a hotel.
You basically get a suite within an Edinburgh townhouse, but with the added advantage of room service. The breakfast served in the room was very good and a great selection to chose from.
The bathroom was huge and we had a spa bath and a rainfall shower that had such great water pressure we did not want to come out of it.
The But, is only because I feel they should warn you that your room may be a basement room.
When we were taken to the room I could not hide my disappointment to find we were below the road and there really was very little light able to get into the rooms. We had a classic suite, and i am not sure if all classic suites are under ground, but if so..they really should mention it on the website. If they are not all at this level then there should be a price reduction for those that are.
Other than the lack of natural light it was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We would definitely return and I recommend it to anyone who likes a little luxury but would rather avoid the biz of a large hotel.

One tip if you do have a basement room, as an ex smoker, i would have loved the private seating area outside the room, under the road or not.

Room Tip: Ask if it is a basement room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bob n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ute S, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you kindly for reviewing us and for your great feedback. The courtyard suites are popular with many of our guests due to the fact that they provide some outside space, however, I am very sorry to learn that you were slightly disappointed with the location of your suite. I am very glad you enjoyed everything else about your stay and we very much hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards from all of us at The Edinburgh Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is very individual hotel of outstanding suites , set in a Georgian terrace only 5 minutes walk from Princess Street. The facade is very discreet & understated, so when you enter through the
large porch you are totally overwhelmed by the high quality of the interior. The receptionist is really welcoming & you are quickly , with the help of the porter installed in your own suit.
This is extremely comfortable & well equipped with it's own micro wave , kettle coffee maker etc.
The bedroom if totally separate & of a very luxurious standard with it's own jacuzzi bath & separate shower cubicle. Breakfast is served in your room & here again there is an outstanding choice of food with a choice of eating times. When you think that for a city centre 5* hotel for only a little more than the inferior quality of budget chain hotels ther really is no contest

Room Tip: Rooms to the front look over a park. Rooms to the rear look over towards the Firth of Forth & D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank freddy37499507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ute S, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review. I agree, we do offer very good value for money and we all hope that you will also take the opportunity to return for another stay with us.

Kindest regards from all of us at The Edinburgh Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edinburgh Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edinburgh Residence

Property: The Edinburgh Residence
Address: 7 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Edinburgh Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Residence is a collection of 29 elegant, 5-star hotel suites through three adjoining Victorian houses in the West End of Edinburgh. Categorized as 'Classic,' 'Grand' and 'Town House,' the 5-star suites are more like apartments, with magnificent proportions that really allow you to spread out and make yourself at home. In some, the sitting rooms are adjoining, and in others they are self-contained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Edinburgh Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edinburgh Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Hotel Edinburgh
The Edinburgh Residence Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing