We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edinburgh Residence
Ranked #65 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights as part of our honeymoon to Edinburgh. The staff are very friendly and professional whatever time of the day you may call on them.

The suite itself was very well kept and in immaculate clean condition, the quality was amazing. The bed was comfy and the suite was well equipped including tv, microwave, dvd player etc.

We opted for cooked breakfast which was delivered to our suite at a time to suite us. It was cooked brilliantly and was very nice.

Would recommend the Edinburgh residence to anyone looking for a high quality place to stay in a wonderful city.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ute S, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us for your Honeymoon and thank you so much for recommending the Edinburgh Residence in your review. I am delighted that we were able to create fond memories for you and it would be lovely to see you again in the near future.
Best wishes from Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 367 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and were not disappointed. From the very warm welcome on arrival by the receptionist and porter, we were quickly checked in and our car parked for us in the private car park. We were shown to our room (suite 3) and settled in with its features pointed out to us. The suite itself was delightful and beautifully furnished. The main room had a extremely comfortable bed, settee, armchair and low table, cabinet containing kettle, microwave, tea, coffee and sugar, cutlery and crockery, dining table and 2 chairs and TV. There was an ante room with wardrobe and dressing table and chair which led to a huge bathroom with bath, separate shower cubicle, toilet and wash hand basin. We opted for cooked breakfasts on both mornings and it is served at your chosen time in your room. The quality of food was exceptional and set us up for our day ahead. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Sandgrounder64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ute S, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us celebrating your birthday. The greatest pleasure for the team and me comes from exceeding our guests' expectations and we are all delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for recommending The Edinburgh Residence We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully very soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is just a lovely place, from the welcome in reception to our wonderful suite. Our one bedroomed apartment was on the third floor, huge bedroom with en-suite, dining area, sitting room with sofa bed and second bathroom. The views were wonderful and the apartment and everything was 5 star. Furnishings good and especially the bed, good quality all round. Although self catering breakfast can be ordered and delivered to your room, excellent service and breakfast. Dirty dishes collected, The reception staff were very helpful and the car could be parked and collected whenever you requested it.
I cannot fault this lovely residence, would I go back, you bet your life I would.
Were also shown two other suites and they were equally stunning.

Room Tip: We used a restaurant nearby which was part of Bonhams hotel, excellent restaurant and we received a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moirayeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ute S, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

It is lovely to read your review and that you would love to stay with us again. Don't leave it for too long! Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes from the team at The Edinburgh Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I could not fault the staff and service at this hotel but feel the cabinets in the room were in great need of TLC the curtains and lighting were awful. Nice and clean and comfy though. Would have no hesitation in coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andyhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ute S, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We do have a rolling refurbishment programme to ensure all our suites are maintained to the highest standard and have taken your feedback on board. I would also like to thank you for your kind comment about the team here at The Edinburgh Residence.

With best wishes and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Have stayed at the Residence on several occasions; it never disappoints us. Having looked over some earlier reviews I think most details have been covered; however, will add our experience anyway. Firstly, we have never received anything less than a friendly welcome, parking in Edinburgh is challenging, so arriving and having your car taken is a great start.

The rooms are all a good size and well planned - from recent visits: room 11 is ground floor with front aspects while room 10 is again ground level with aspects over Dean village, rooms 6 and 7 are basement level with door to 'small' courtyard, room 27 is a favourite (it's a townhouse suite) that looks over Dean village, which is much better if you are staying with children or sharing with a friend (it has 2 bathrooms and doors to close off bedroom from sitting area/pull down bed).

For us facility's in the room (fridge / microwave) with adequate glasses /crockery etc allows you to have a simple meal in when that suits and the microwave is great for feeding teenagers who need that extra 'in-between'' meal! Also never had any issue with wi-fi - in any room - and idocking stations are available when requested.

The breakfast served in the room is never going to be perfect (as some reviews seem to expect) but it's as good as it gets within a hotel, we always enjoy the experience of having it served in the room, with newspapers, whilst soaking up fantastic views over Edinburgh. Can never say we have experienced any issue with noise - once we had a family playing football in the room above, yes we heard it, but that's more an issue with inconsiderate people: it's the converted rooms of a townhouse not a steel built building with acrostic sound proofing.

It's a pleasant walk (10 min stroll) to the centre, with a few wine bars and decent bistros within 5 mins walk, or Bonhams 2 mins away (although can't say we like Bonhams, no real reason, it is just not for us). A £5 taxi will get you to most attractions/restaurants should you not fancy the walk.

Last point, the staff who work there have always been 1st class - many have changed over the years, but we have never experienced anyone who didn't provide the attention and service you expect from a high quality facility. It's staffed to a level of what it is; the staff perform many different tasks and in our opinion are to be commended for the manner in which they do it.

As is evident we like it, we very much enjoyed our last visit on Sat 01st, and look forward to coming back very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms that are rear facing over Dean Village have great view and are not over looked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ute S, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Stephen

Thank you so much for your very kind review and for your high praise of the team here at The Edinburgh Residence. They were delighted to read your comments and it does wonders for motivation! It was our pleasure to look after you and we very much hope to see you again very soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had a wonderful 3 night stay for the Hogmanay celebrations. Our suite (30) was large and very comfortable. Two lovely big sofas, one each for stretching out on! Despite being at the front of the building it was extremely quiet and we slept very well. It's not as central as some of the hotels but it's a short walk to the top of Princes Street and worth it to stay in a place with character and enjoy some peace and quiet when you want it. Very handy stop for the Airlink bus not much more than 5 mins walk away on Shandwick Place. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and a real treat to have it served in the suite.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this hotel and each time has been lovely, from the check in which is easy and quick to the check out nothing is too much bother. No need to worry about parking your car as when we arrived we just handed our car key over and hotel did the rest. We arrived quite early but our suite was ready, we were shown to our Grand Suite and were talked through where everything was and more importantly how to use the Nespresso Coffee Machine and also the process of ordering breakfast the night before and handing in the sheet at reception. Breakfast is served in your suite, it's taken straight to your dining table. I really enjoyed this idea as you can have a leisurely time having breakfast and getting ready before going out, best bit for me with this is. to having to listen to people who persist in taking calls on their mobiles during breakfast. On our way out for the day we handed our key in, doing this means they will "make up" your room, they will only do the room if you tell them (this is a new thing as we have not had to do that on our other 2 stays here) I will definitely be staying here again,the beds are comfy and big, the shower was nice and hot and powerful, my only gripe is why on both mornings did housekeeping feel the need to vacuum outside our door at 9amon Sunday and 8am on Monday,

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
West End
The Bonham Hotel
The Bonham Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,034 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
Prestonfield
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edinburgh Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edinburgh Residence

Address: 7 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $132 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Edinburgh Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Residence is a collection of 29 elegant, 5-star hotel suites through three adjoining Victorian houses in the West End of Edinburgh. Categorized as 'Classic,' 'Grand' and 'Town House,' the 5-star suites are more like apartments, with magnificent proportions that really allow you to spread out and make yourself at home. In some, the sitting rooms are adjoining, and in others they are self-contained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edinburgh Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edinburgh Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Hotel Edinburgh
The Edinburgh Residence Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing