We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gr8 hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Ranked #130 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“gr8 hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

the same as all the previous comments great spot and lovely people gr8 beds and a nice breakie to boot very close to an excellent transport system which means the zoo or the castle are never more than 10 mins away
Boon choo and her lovely family could not do enough for me and the wife and 3 kids
one of the nicest and most attentive place we have ever stayed

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominicb580415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
21
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely hotel recently, and really enjoyed our stay. It's absolutely spotless and well looked after. Slightly old fashioned decor and a small bathroom was the only very small downside. Our room was huge and very light, very comfy bed too. Good range of food available for breakfast and it's in a great location, less than two mins to Haymarket train station and about 15 min walk to Princes Street. Very lovely staff too. Would highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

"Hotel" may be in its name, but these accommodations for travelers feel more like a bed and breakfast or quaint inn. Upon entering the main room of the hotel, you already feel right at home. Boon Choo, the innkeeper, greets you with a smile and an energetic spirit. She is dedicated to making one's stay as comfortable as possible. Ours certainly was! She even goes that extra mile -- if guests have to leave before breakfast (the only meal served at the inn) is served, she'll pack you a light lunch/snack to take with you. When she heard my daughter and I intended to climb Arthur's Seat, she quickly got us a few pieces of fruit from the dining room: "You'll need something (for nourishment for the taxing climb)!" She offered to pack us a couple of sandwiches as well, but we declined. We wanted to try the local fare along the Royal Mile.
Breakfasts were WONDERFUL -- a full, traditional Scottish breakfast was offered every morning, as was an alterative, plus an array of cereals, yogurts and fruits. A feast fit for a king and queen!
My daughter and I reserved the largest room in the hotel -- called the family room, I believe. Originally, my second daughter was supposed to join us. Sadly, at the last moment, she was unable to do so. If she had, there most definitely would have been ample room to accommodate all 3 of us. As it was, my one daughter and I were extremely comfortable in the tastefully decorated room. True to European fashion, the bathroom was on the small side, but we managed. I am not a "skinny Minnie", yet was able to maneuver just fine. (Be sure you understand how to engage the hot water before stepping into the shower, as a point of note.)
Grosvenor Gardens is a mere 1-1/2 blocks from the Haymarket train station in Edinburgh, and a pleasant 20 minute walk (unless you are a s-l-o-w ambler) from the Royal Mile.
Boon Choo and her staff go that extra mile to make your stay as pleasant as can be. The hotel/inn is quiet, relaxing -- the perfect place to call "home" while in Scotland's capital city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelindaW52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We really enjoyed our days, staying with Mrs Chan at this B&B. A lovely big room and we slept soooo well. We heard the birdsong in the mornings; it was lovely. Good breakfast, lots of friendly chat with the other guests. Grosvenor Gardens is conveniently located near Haymarket Station and just a 30 minute stroll into town. Good value!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqui g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Somehow my husband and I got to stay in the family room which was beautiful and huge! Such an unexpected treat! Rooms were very clean and decorated on a way that made you feel like you had gone back in time. Breakfast was good however in the future I wouldn't pay the extra to get breakfast there. Rather I would go to one of the many cafes around the city. About a 15 minute walk to Princes Street and the Royal Mile.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabmontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed in the Twins room. Very nice, tidy and cosy place close to the centre and most important places there. Stuff was friendly and helpful. It's nice that we could leave out luggages at 12 pm so we had enough time to visit Edinburgh. Thanks a lot for warm meeting and early breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We were in the 4 poster room. The decor is to a very high standard and both mattress and pillows were very comfortable. The room is very large and quiet. The owner is very friendly and breakfast SERVED promptly. Minor issues such as no shower gel only soap bars.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank davide t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 148 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
19 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#95 of 148 in Edinburgh
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
#119 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,552 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#88 of 148 in Edinburgh
819 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#129 of 148 in Edinburgh
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Gardens Hotel

Property: Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Address: 1 Grosvenor Gardens | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH12 5JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel is situated in West End. It offers easily access by foot to Edinburgh's business district, tourists attractions, restaurants and famous Princes Street. The Hotel is well served by bus and train,close to the motorway network and Edinburgh Airport. We offer a warm and professional welcome to both tourist and business visitors. Our high standard of cleanliness, attention to detail, hospitality and those little extras will make your stay more memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your Grosvenor Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing