We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely big room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #65 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed one night in this super big room - shame I was alone on business! Dinner was nice though at first the staff seemed to be finding it hard to find the volume switch for the music as it was intrusively loud - they did find it in the end.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert_B_London61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The plus points of our stay: vast room(112), free snacks/ juice, cleanliness of bathroom, Aveda toiletries, comfy bed, good linen, location, friendliness of staff, magnifying mirror, speed/ease of checking in and out.
Minor negatives: we had booked the £14.95 pre theatre dinner. However, menu was limited and then to make matters worse only some items were on with offer. None of these were to our taste so we ended up ordering out with the offer. Not a major thing ... But annoying anyway! Whilst the full cooked breakfast looked good the Continental breakfast was limited and unappealing! The sliced cheese was dry and curled up around edges. I had to ask for natural yogurt as all that was on offer was low fat fruit.
So, although I would have no hesitation in staying here again in the future, I will perhaps dine elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotlandlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Thank you for a lovely stay at your hotel and for making sure I was OK when I fell ill!! Our hotel room (409) had a magnificent view and I couldn't find fault with the room itself. The bed was extremely comfy - and high! The Aveda toiletries and the freebies in the mini bar (albeit non-alcoholic ;) ) were a great extra touch. The bathroom and the shower are modern and practical. We were overlooking York Place but you could hear a pin drop in the room. Breakfast was plentiful and varied and all staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend your hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie9ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner on Saturday night and was pleasantly surprised. At check in I was asked if a trainee could check me in under the guidance of a senior member of staff which I thought was polite (some hotels wouldn't even ask) Once checked in we were asked about our plans for dinner and when informed that I had a restaurant reservation elsewhere the check in clerk arranged a taxi. The room was very spacious with a large bathroom with a very good shower and bath. The bed was very comfortable although a little high off the ground. The complimentary mini bar was very good. Breakfast was a little bit disappointing but overall very good and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again in Edinburgh

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank gmcc295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed in room 209 which overlooks York Place which is a busy road. The room itself was an exec double, spacious with modern decor, done to a good standard. The bathroom is also very modern with a good shower but no bath. Despite initial concerns of noise (due to overlooking York Place), these fears proved unfounded - we found our room had a good standard of sound proofing. A nice touch in the room is some free snacks (crisps, tunnocks wafer, biscuits) and soft drinks (water, coke, irn bru) in the mini-bar. The main bar area is small but pleasant and reasonably priced for drinks and snacks. We didn't eat meals in the hotel so can't comment on the meals. The staff on the whole were efficient and polite. The bar staff were friendly. However we found that the receptionist, who checked us both in and out, didn't appear particularly interested e.g. on checking out she did not ask if we enjoyed our stay or check everything was up to standard.
The hotel is ideally located for transport links being close to Waverley train station (less than 10 mins walk), Edinburgh bus station - and in time, right next to York Place tram stop! It's also only 5 mins to Multrees Walk and George Street so ideal for those looking for shops, restaurants and bars. In summary it's a nice, modern, clean hotel in a good location with everything you need on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindos2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I guess they have done their best to convert an existing listed property but rm 204 is a very disappointing room. Not exactly as the web site would make you believe. Barren walls and view of ventilation plant outside window. Would hardly rate it as the Executive room I paid for. A real let down compared to Indigo @Glasgow. I have stayed in HI Express hotels that have better decor and views.

Would maybe have been nice to have been offered something better considering my IHG Platinum status and better rooms were showing as available.....

Room Tip: Check to see what room you are being offered. Is it like the ones on the web site?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ob1knbxtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear ob1knbxtrail,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with your room. I can see from your reservation that you have booked one of our standard King rooms and have received a complimentary upgrade to one of our Executive King rooms. As a boutique hotel all our rooms vary in size and layout and the rooms displayed on our website are a selection of Standard, Executive and Junior Suites.

Please do contact me directly on dominic@hiedinburgh.co.uk when you are planning to stay in Edinburgh again and I will certainly make sure we allocate you one of our front facing rooms.

Kind regards,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice hotel, handy for Princes st. And St James shopping. We had tickets for the Playhouse theatre which it was very close to. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. The room was clean, comfortable and surprisingly quiet given it looked out on to a busy road. We had one evening meal which we enjoyed and 2 breakfasts which were fine and in pleasant surroundings. Would definitely use again

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank louforart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $108 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing