We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #71 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here in November. Very friendly, helpful staff. Great food, super room. We were in room 104, which has been mentioned on here for being noisey - no way other than footsteps above. This room is lovely with its own outside area and very, very well appointed - I would ask for this one again. The staff are so helpful and the place is a joy to be in. Would go back tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mercedesmadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place to stay. Quite expensive but in the end you never feel that you haven't got what you paid for. Friendly reception staff, perfect rooms, the best shower I've had in my life (monsoon style) and a great location make this place worth the money.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benandkate1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Brilliant location, opposite playhouse and Omni centre. One block from Waverley station and Princes St.
Very friendly, helpful staff in all areas.
Great breakfast, did not eat in hotel otherwise but menu looked really good.
Very clean, quiet, modern room with lovely comfy bed, great tv and wifi and the best shower ever!! Free snacks and soft drinks in room were a nice wee extra.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on Saturday night, very stylish, contemporary hotel with lovely welcoming and helpful staff. Hotel is a beautiful old town house with great features and has a lot of lovely features.

The room was spotless but the reason I only give three stars is because we hardly slept...... There was a great amount of noise coming from the bathroom..... When we left we made a joke to the receptionist about the room being haunted...... Who knows??

Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and would probably stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear James H,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our friendly staff. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned. However, I am sorry for the inconvenience the noise caused you.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

What a fantastic little hotel with fantastic staff all out to make your stay memorable. Very central, ear lots of restaurants and pubs, the better shopping areas are all a short walk away. Staff welcome you to the hotel with a smile, opening doors when they can. There were also some tasty snacks at reception for the hungry travellers to enjoy.
We were escorted to our room and given a brief introduction to it, our room was beautifully decorated, all the equipment we needed for our short stay, and very clean. A lot of hotels in the older Edinburgh buildings are short on space and the rooms are often quite tight for space as a result, but the design of our room meant we were not cramped.
The breakfast provided was very good, a continental buffet, as much tea, coffee and or juice as you want and a full Scottish on top of that, all served by the attentive staff.
Parking is available at a small cost, but is limited so be sure to book in advance. We really liked it here and will almost certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

You know when you are in a good hotel when you are greeted by friendly, welcoming staff at the front desk as we were. Understandable our room had not been clean because of our early morning arrival; this did not stop them from completing the check-in formalities.

We returned later that day to find housekeeping had cleaned our room to a very high standard,replenishing the refreshment tray and complimentary drinks in the refrigerator. The bed was large a comfortable and the bathroom was also large although it did not have a bath it did have a very large walk in shower. Again the bathroom was scrupulously clean and well equipped with all the usual toiletries one expects in a boutique hotel.

Having stayed at this hotel before and knowing the dining area is small so breakfast was taken a little later, breakfast can either be continental or cooked to order which arrived very quickly. Inadvertently when ordering I did not ask for an ordinary Haggis and for some reason they served the vegetarian equivalent, tasteless!

Next year the ‘Famous and costly’ Edinburgh tram system (It’s really a light railway and not enough of it to be called a system) should be operational; this will take you from Edinburgh airport directly to the hotel.

Travel times along the full route of the new tram line have been estimated at around 33 minutes – while the city’s Airlink bus shuttle has an advertised journey time of just 25 minutes. Edinburgh has an excellent public transport service under the name of Lothian buses, so forget the tram take a bus it’s much better and faster. The tram cannot take you to Ocean Terminal to see the Royal Yacht or to the Botanical Gardens and positively not Edinburgh Zoo – but a bus can!

The hotel is located in one of the more interesting parts of Edinburgh; just across the road is Broughton Street with its local pubs and restaurants. I can personally recommend Locanda De Gusti a fine Sothern Italian restaurant, next door is the Cask and Barrel public house which is well worth a visit.

All in all we had a great time at the hotel as well as Edinburgh, will we return to Edinburgh and this hotel again? Definitely YES.

Room Tip: Higher rooms better, any problems can be sorted out – just be nice about it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Me and my partner decided for a last minute city break away in Edinburgh, and just got back from a great stay in this hotel.

Firstly, the room was very well decorated with all modern appliances and fittings. Even able to plug laptop, cameras etc into the TV set which was a nice touch. Excellently stocked complimentary mini-bar, with plenty of coffee, tea and hot chocolates to choose from.

The bed was excellent, very comfy with amazing Egyptian cotton covers, one of the best hotel beds i've ever had from my time in hotels from around the globe! The speaker in the bathroom didn't work, but it wasn't a big problem for us. The bathroom itself was amazing, lovely monsoon style shower, with plenty of toiletries and fresh towels....things you don't always get in hotels!

Finally, the staff really made the stay. All times very warm and welcoming with excellent customer service. Even let us check in an hour early which was very nice, and kept our bags after check-out the next day until out train.

Overall, an excellent stay, would defiantly recommend to anyone staying in central Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wardhaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Wardhaugh,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you and your partner have had a great stay with us. Although our check in time is 3pm we do try and check guests in as early as possible and should the room not be ready when you arrive we will certainly look after your luggage so you can venture out and explore our beautiful city.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed the warm welcome of our team and will certainly pass your comments on. I do hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood soon, maybe for a little bit of Christmas shopping.

Stay original,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $127 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing