We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE INDIGO HOTEL EDINBURGH”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #61 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“LOVE INDIGO HOTEL EDINBURGH”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Me & Wes have just stayed at Indigo Hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland for a few days. We went to celebrate his birthday.
We were greeted by Daniel. A friendly & helpful member of staff who asked us to sit and wait & they would sort out our room key. But in the meantime offered us drinks. A good cup of tea.
We were given our room key/key card & we used the lift to the 3rd floor. As we entered our room we were amazed by the lovely decor. The colour scheme & the lighting were so nice, oranges & teal. Also the wallpaper was impressive. The bed was so big & comfy & there was flat screen tv on the wall. the room had all that you'd need - kettle with drinks supplied, a complimentary mini fridge filled with soft drinks, a hairdryer, an iron & ironing board. The bathroom was great. I loved it. It was modern, nicely decorated & very clean. It had nice lighting & also a volume control so you could hear the tv! There was also mini shampoo & body wash as well as bathrobes & fluffy towels which were on a heated towel rail. The room also had air con.
All the staff were very professional & went out of their way to help.
We could decide if we wanted breakfast or not & were told that if we did, then to book by 10:00pm the previous night to get a discount.
The breakfast area was decorated nicely with relaxing music being played. There was a menu & you could choose what you'd like. The Scottish Breakfast which included haggis if you wanted was on the menu & it was really nice. We could also get toast & orange juice. The waiting staff which included Jade & Ejay were very good & professional.
Very polite.
When we went to reception one evening after a night out, we said that we forgot to book the discount breakfast for the next day (it was after 10:00 pm) & were told by Daniel that he would sort that out for us. No quibbles or anything like that, he just really looked after us as guests. We were impressed. Great service.
We had a drink in the bar area a couple of times & were served by Femi. We asked her about certain whisky drinks & she was very happy to discuss various types & make recommendations.
Another member of staff, Colin was also very helpful & informed us of luggage storage on our last day of stay, which was free of charge.
We checked out & staff member Melissa took care of our luggage so that we could go & look around one last time in Edinburgh.
We would recommend a stay at Indigo Hotel. It's in a good location & it's very clean and has great service. We can't wait to visit again.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes1andJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Wes1 and Jane,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

It is great to hear that you have both enjoyed such a special occasion. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the hospitality of our team and I will certainly pass on your comments.
We certainly are in a great location to explore everything Edinburgh has to offer and even if the Fringe festival isn't in town you can see great comedy just around the corner at the Stand Comedy club or see a play at the Playhouse theatre.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to our neighbourhood soon again.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    414
    122
    27
    13
See reviews for
108
701
61
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spent one night in this hotel and will definitely go back there! Bright, clean, modern boutique hotel - very helpful staff. Room was smallish but very clean and well decorated - looked out on to a wall as it was at the back of the hotel but we did not intend to spend much time in the room itself anyway! Excellent shower and room had iron and ironing board too. Very quiet - good night's sleep! Breakfast was good though we did not have the full cooked Scottish offering - it looked good though. Dining room nice and bright - would have been a nice place for dinner had we decided to eat there. Would definitely recommend the hotel. We walked from the railway station and it took less than 10 minutes so well located for the city centre - the tram works did not affect us at all as we had no car and it may make it even easier to access the hotel in the future using the tram.

Room Tip: Knowing about the tram works in advance, we asked for a quiet room and room 107 was at the back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie504032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Jackie504032,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found our team very helpful. We do try and make all our guests stays memorable and it gives the team a great boost when we get such good feedback.

All our rooms come with luxury toiletries and spa inspired rainfall showers. Combine this with a morning cuppa with fresh milk from the complimentary mini bar and you are certainly set for a great day out in our beautiful city.

I do hope that we can welcome you to our Turquoise Thistle restaurant on the next occasion.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for just one night. Overall a good experience. Walking distance from Waverly station. My wife was here on business and I took advantage of a trip to the National art gallery, again within easy walking distance. The staff are friendly and attentive and, whilst we did not dine in the evening here, we breakfasted, which, whilst not great was acceptable. We had a nice room serviced by an efficiant elevator. We would definately stay in this hotel for future trips to the Scottish capital 7.5/10. Malcolm S Stott

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Malcolm,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the comfort of our boutique bedrooms and the friendliness of our team. Our chefs take great pride in sourcing fresh local produce and hopefully we can welcome you to our Turquoise Thistle restaurant on a different occasion.

I hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood soon.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The evident problem is the limited access to the hotel because of the trams. Upon arrival, the staff was extremely helpful directing us over the phone to the hotel and helping with bags. We were booked into the rooms we requested-a King(real King) for us and a large King with rollaway for our kids. I was suspect to an air conditioning issue when I saw a fan in our room. After trying to get the air condition to work and visiting my kids room that also did not work, we addressed the issue with the front desk. If the front desk had been upfront about the issue, it could have been solved. But as the gentleman told us there were no more rooms, my husband continued to press. My husband asked to speak to the manager but was told the night manager was checking on it but a half hour later while still standing at the front desk, the night manager finally identified herself next to the person my husband had been speaking too. She simply did not identify herself for over 30 minutes which is completely unacceptable as she had been standing 2 feet from my husband the entire time and overheard his conversation with her collegue! Then we were told that all rooms had fans(not true as my kids room did not). Rooms magically appeared and we were moved to air conditioned rooms. But we had to move the next day too as the room my kids were booked into a room that was reserved that night. In addition, we asked to move as the room was much smaller than our first room. The bathroom was so small that you were in direct contact with the wall heater-not sure how that got approved for safety. We also learned the definition of a King as we were clearly in a USA queen but were charged for a "King". In Europe, we learned that a "Super or Supreme King" is an American King. I applauded the day manager who took over this situation the next day but he has a serious problem with his staff. In addition, on the website it would be easy to explain the terminology for bed size. This was our last stop on a 3 week trip and we had an excellent experience at the Indigo in Liverpool and had high expectations for this hotel. We travel a lot and stay in various types of lodging. We do not need large rooms or Kings but we do expect to get what was advertised when we pay for it. This was to be a treat for our last few nights. The manager did offset both rooms by 50% on our last night to help rectify the situation. I don't think we should have been charged at all for the first night. Needless to say, we did experience good service in the breakfast room and the food was excellent. The staff was very unfriendly the morning after our move but all of a sudden became more helpful. Obviously a training issue. We asked that they be honest with the next traveler who would check into the rooms with no air-conditioning. Mistakes happen, things breakdown, etc. and we have tolerance for those situations but the lack of honesty about the rooms will linger a long time and effect our decision to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Kate M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I do apologise for the issues you have experienced during your stay and did appreciate the opportunity to speak to your husband. We do value our guests feedback and I have since discussed your comments with our management team. I can also confirm that the issues with the airconditioning system have been resolved.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future to restore your faith in our beautiful hotel.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

OK, been to a goof few boutique hotels and this is probably the worst
you walk into an area which is far from welcoming
it's the lift area ?
so you have to turn right and there you find the reception
very small and it goes through to a tiny bar area and then the
main dining area

books in to the King Suite 407? best available i think
floor 4 when i walked in i felt off balance, thought it was just me
but my girlfriend said the same the whole floor was on a tilt
the maze to our room was up small sets of stairs every so often
and again felt as if you were on a boat with the balance

that aside it was an attic room so slanted by the windows
which opened about 2 inches, secondary double glazing
which you will need for the noise from a nightclub called The Street
which blasted out music until 1pm
also the tram road works are being done right outside the hotel
hammer drills the lot not very peaceful

the suite? was broke into 2 spaces the larger area had 2 small chairs
a chaise longue al of which was about 3 inches off the floor
and one normal chair by the dressing table

once in the contraptions it was a struggle to get back out
not comfortable at all
the bed which was the opposite but apparently the Indigo thing
that you need to run and jump to land on it, silly idea IMHO

ordered breakfast in our room they forgot the milk for the cereal
the jam and butter for the Croissants so twice had to come back to our room

good points were the breakfast in the dining area and the shower and the location
we went to the Glasgow Indigo and it was hugely super to stay in
even though we had the penthouse the set up and decor was far superior

sorry Indigo i cannot recommend this hotel too many minus points
the price we paid was not what we got in return if it was a 100 pound a night
i would still feel hard done by
at 250 + a anight i expect better
and will next time we are up here
by booking into the Glasshouse or the Missoni again

Dave & Lynne

Room Tip: don't go while road works are being done weekends were ok but through the working day forget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLT1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear DLT1956,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.


I am disappointed to hear that you have not fully enjoyed your stay with us. Hotel Indigo Edinburgh is set in Edinburgh's New Town, a UNESCO world heritage site. The building itself comprises of 5 original Georgian townhouses and as such all of our 60 boutique bedrooms are different in size and shape.
Please accept my apologies for the missing items on your room service breakfast. I have discussed your feedback with our restaurant manager.

I would like the opportunity to discuss your feedback personally. Should you wish to do so please contact me on dominic@hiedinburgh.co.uk

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has excellent rooms and the staff were very attentive. The only real problem is the tram works outside the hotel and the distance to the hotel car park.

The hotel is in a great location and all the main attractions of the city centre are within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy Edinburgh.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Paul E,

Thank you very much for writing such a great review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. We certainly are in a great location to explore everything Edinburgh has to offer. I am also happy to say that York place is open to traffic again from the east end to elder street. This means you can stop and unload in front of the hotel where our concierge team is happy to assist with luggage and directions to our car park.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood soon again and thank you for recommending us.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very new hotel, very modern and very friendly staff, comfy beds, free internet. Breakfast was typical scottish and we liked it. Location near to waverly train station (main station). free Mini bar (All non alcoholic items). I would surely recommend this hotel and looking forward to stay in indigo brand in other cities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girish2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Girish2011,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the comfort of your boutique bedrooms and the friendliness of our team. We certainly are in a great location only 5 minutes walk from Waverley station and just around the corner from Multrees walk with it's designer stores or George street where you will find clubs and bars.

I hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood soon again and please do discover our other Hotel Indigo hotels.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,394 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Property: Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing