We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #65 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very nice hotel with stylish decor and luxurious bathroom. The location is great. Staff was very helpful. There is free minibar and free wifi. For the hairdryer look in the drawer above the minibar, not a usual place. Couldn't try the bar and the restaurant as we were in a rush. I wish we could enjoy our stay longer.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors can be more noisy from street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear brKat,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and personable service of our team. It gives us a great boost when our guests enjoy their stay and I will certainly pass your feedback on to the team.

I do hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Stay Original,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Excellent room, brilliant breakfast, but went out for dinner. Staff were most helpful. They were digging up the street out front so we were met at the back of the hotel and our luggage transported to the hotel. Well positioned for us so would certainly stay again, but book early we wanted to stay in May but they were booked out, very sad.

Room Tip: Want a good room? Book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Fred1099,

Thank you very much for writing such kind words about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

My team and I are thrilled to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. Our chefs at the Turquoise Thistle restaurant take great pride in cooking all full Scottish breakfasts to order and you can certainly taste this.

We hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood soon.

Stay Original,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel, great staff, fridge full of free goodies in the room was a godsend on a hungover sunday morning the fact they supply you with a can of iron bru for that purpose was excellent!! Aveda products in the luxury bathroom were also a nice touch, the room was very well equipped, hair, dryer iron, decent wardrobe, tv etc... And the interior design of the room was fab, really quirky / trendy, and the location was also great as we were able to reach Leith shore for somthing to eat, then the Stand comedy club was a short stroll along from the hotel, finishing up at the Jam House a little further along. Had a great stay at this hotel and would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nonie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Nonie G,

Thank you very much for writing such a great review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. All our boutique style rooms come with complimentary WiFi and complimentary mini bar with snacks, fresh milk and soft drinks. We are in an ideal location to explore the night life of Rose and George street and are also just around the corner from Edinburgh's Playhouse theatre.

It gives our team a great boost when our guests enjoy their stay and I do hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Stay Curious,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We really liked this hotel, the staff were out to please and our room was great. Its a cool modern look, well it is pretty new, and the location is great really. Now its true that the tramworks are not ideal, and probably wont be either once they are finished but the owners can't claim they werent warned.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one. we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Cloner,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

My team and I are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. We certainly are in a fantastic city centre location and you have everything from the designer shops and boutiques on Multrees Walk and George street over the pubs and bars on Rose street to the Castle and the Royal mile within a 20 minute walk.

Access to York Place is currently restricted and we do ask all our guests to contact our Front office team for up to date direction and assistance with travel.

Stay Original,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I had such a great stay here! I chose this hotel because of its cool aesthetic, its location, and - great for us allergic folks - its polished wood floors. What we didn't realize, and immediately loved, was the very upbeat service shown by the entire staff, which felt very personal. (We have no use for the slick, corporate one-size-fits-all approach of other hotels.) We also loved the Aveda toiletries and the in-room fridge stocked with snacks and bottled water for us at no charge. We chose the "breakfast included" rate, and that was a smart decision, as the hot food was beautifully prepared and presented, and the additional cold buffet items (many) were very high quality. The restaurant for dinner was lovely and the food excellent, and the bar menu was the best we've encountered. We certainly hope to return!

Room Tip: We chose a slightly larger room with a sitting area and would recommend that. We were on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Sheila,

Thank you very much for writing such a great review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you and your husband have enjoyed your time with us. my team and I are glad that we could look after you and it is great to hear that you have enjoyed our personal approach to service.

Our chefs take great pride in sourcing the best of the excellent produce Scotland has to offer and turning it into mouthwatering dishes for our guests. Our full Scottish breakfast is cooked to order and you can certainly taste this.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Stay Curious,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here, Very central location. The room was bright clean and individual. The little extras really made the difference, for instance the 1/4 pint of fresh milk and other items in the fridge for the guests. The hallways were quiet during our stay this combined with the great bed made for a great sleep.
Check in was quick and efficient and staff always helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise-lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Louise-lou,

Thank you very much for writing such kind words about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

My team and I are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. All our rooms come with complimentary WiFi and a complimentary mini bar with fresh milk, snacks and soft drinks. I have forwarded your feedback to our team and it gives them a great boost when they know our guests enjoy their stay.

Stay Original,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectation in terms of style. Great value for a fantastic, well equipped room in the heart of Edinburgh. First choice next time I visit. Ideal for business trips and the weekend away as close to Harvey Nicks.
Check in was slick and communal areas were smart.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason2bm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Jason2bm,

Thank you very much for writing kind words regarding your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the style and comfort of our boutique bedrooms. We are in a fantastic city centre location to explore all that Edinburgh has to offer, whether you are looking for a weekend shopping trip or doing your miles sightseeing.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Stay original,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $108 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing