We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Edinburgh to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Price Promise
Ranked #36 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a most interesting boutique hotel located in central Edinburgh and a great base. Rooms are most comfortable and beautifully decorated. Staff are friendly and efficient and you are made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive. As it was raining in the evening I decided to dine in the hotel and I'm glad I did. The kitchen is run by Chef Daniel Mellor whom I understand was a finalist on TV's 'Master Chef'. I dined on Hot smoked salmon served served with a caper remoulade and melba toast, followed by a 35 day aged Bucclveuth rib eye served with bearnaise sauce with caulieflower/brocolli gratin - all excellent. This was washed down with the house pinot. Breakfast the next morning was a treat with everything cooked to order rather than the usual tired breakfast buffet most hotels insist on serving. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    350
    86
    19
    6
See reviews for
86
594
48
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here in April13 on a Saturday night, parking, use the ncp at greenside place in the omni centre, nothing outside the hotel at all, will cost you £15 ish for the night. Check in was swift, staff very polite and courteous. Room passed the mrs' spotless test , so we were good. Bathroom was big with modern fittings and a large walk in shower, the media unit was a little over the top, but it might amuse some people, I was just happy that everything worked well. The little annex room contained the complimentary fridge that had water/coke/irn bru, biscuits, just little nik naks you dont get for free in other places. The bed was comfy and the breakfast in the morning was very very nice, we had a couple of beers after our night out in the bar as well, no complaints. Location,, just down the road from the Conan Doyle pub and around the corner from the Omni centre/playhouse, almost perfect. When you factor in the price, which was comparable to Prem Inn/Travelodge prices, this really is a gem of a hotel that I am reluctantly giving 5 stars because I don't really want it to get too busy as we will def be going back. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good:
- Great central location
- Friendly staff
- Clean, well-decorated hotel
- Comfortable bed
- Complementary mini fridge
- TV (and remote) works like it should! No missing channels or bizarre settings.

Bad:
- Could hear neighbours showering
- Had to request soap
- Shower door didn't fully close - water everywhere
- Temperature in shower quickly fluctuated just enough to be noticable
- Speaker output in shower room broken

Overall I liked this hotel. The shower was mildly annoying but tolerable. However, I was lucky to notice there was no soap beforehand. The speaker in the shower room is a great idea, just a shame the one I had didn't work. The fact that the TV worked properly blew me away; never before have I seen a hotel TV setup that isn't broken, crazy or both. There was a USB power socket which I found useful.

Room Tip: The rooms seem to vary drastically in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrunchyWombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
385 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here in the Easter holiday. It was clean, Quiet and in very good location. The room perfect size for a solo traveler. The staff were nice. Easy and fast check-in and check-out. definitely in my list when i visit Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbdullahAltamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a fantastic time recently in Edinburgh and stayed at wonderful Indigo Hotel in York Place. ,
Staff at the the hotel were very polite and helpful. Room was absolutely fantastic and we only had breakfast at the hotel but the Traditional Scottish Breakfast was superb apart from the Haggis!
Really recommend Edinburgh for a visit as it's truly fantastic, cultural, interesting, absorbing. The weather was poor but what do you expect in Scotland! The City is not that big actually and Rose Street and George Street are good for bars and restaurants whereas Princes Street is ideal for shopping. Grass Market is a very interesting area with bars, restaurants and shops too. Arthur's Seat was a no-go because of the weather but maybe next time?
You have to do the bus tour and visit the domineering Castle which is outstanding.
On arrival get the Airport Link return bus NOT taxi into central Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_j1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed one night on business, and the hotel is well located for central Edinburgh. The hotel has a nice welcoming feel to it, and the staff are very helpful and attentive. My room was large with a desk area to the side, which was useful, and the wifi was free. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel, and both were very good. There is also a small, but nice, bar area. The only issue was the car park, which was a five minute walk away, and is separately located behind the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had a few issues booking this hotel which irritated me at first, but I wasn't disappointed when we arrived. And the staff were as accommodating as possible. The day before I called the hotel after receiving a call from them the day before that and spoke to Matt. He was very nice on the phone and very helpful, he was also on reception when we arrived and kindly let us check in early as our room was ready. This was greatly appreciated having travelled all morning and it was a cold day. The room was clean and nicely laid out, we loved the fact the tv was at the end of the very comfortable bed, great for watching a movie. The bathroom was immaculate and the shower was lovely and warm.
We opted for the prepaid breakfast included deal which made the room better value as it was a little more than I would normally pay for a hotel room, though it is a boutique hotel and by comparison to others like it in Edinburgh the price was very reasonable. Plus the breakfast was good! The location is perfect. Not long from the Waverley station.

I hope my review gives other people enough information, but generally I would recommend the hotel and will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y0dA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#23 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,510 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#35 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Property: Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing