We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great grub in Indigo.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #59 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great grub in Indigo.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We had booked an early dinner thru 5pm at £12 for 2courses and a glass of Prosecco which was great value - although I'm not a Prosecco person. We arrived at about 5.45, coming back from the Scotland vs Italy rugby match, and the service was great all night. Our waitress was from New Zealand and she recognised a Maori necklace that Eileen was wearing, so that was us friends for the evening. Considering the price we paid, it was excellent value. Next time in the capital, it's worth checking it out.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jimcrawley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    412
    122
    27
    13
See reviews for
107
700
61
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a really good stay in this hotel, even if it was just the one night! Fantastic service on arrival, lovely bar inside hotel - didn't have any food from the restaurant as we are out but staff were more than helpful to give us recommendations on where to go. Room was divine and really clean, bathroom was exquisite!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahw0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Will start straight away with the problem, i stayed in room 104 which is in a corridor on ground floor. It has to be the worst sleep i have ever had in a hotel room, the noise from the other rooms was such you could hear word for word conversations the showers the televisions from other rooms throughout the night.at 7.30 am the workers outside started there work and i understand the hotel dont have any control on the tram lines being fitted but possibly could mention on there website that there is heavy building work right outside there hotel.
Back to the room problem when asked checking out if i enjoyed our stay, i first gave the positive that the hotel and bedrooms are very nice but my sleep was badly disrupted and was informed at the desk that there have been complaints before regarding rooms in that area of hotel. I emailed the hotel when i came home and have not had any reply yet, which just shows you they are not at all interested in your complaints.

Room Tip: Dont get a room on the corridor that has room 104 or you can forget sleeping.dont tell the staff tha...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear james c,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
402 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had two rooms, both were very nicely decorated, modern and fresh. I loved the bathroom. I liked that the floors were wood rather than carpet, a lot easier to keep clean.
Thick nice towels, bathrobes and nice products fro the White Company.

Safe, mini fridge with complimentary drinks and snacks (no alcohol), coffee and tea maker in the room. One of our rooms had two TV´s. The only thing that was a bit negative was that the lighting by the bed was very weak, so I had no chance reading in bed.

The beds were very comfortable, and it was very quiet, no outside traffic as the road is closed due to construction.

We had breakfast included in the room rate, and the breakfast was really no big deal. A small buffet with the bare essential. Also you could order the Scottish breakfast, which I did, and it was very good (i excluded the haggis and sausages). They also made omelets for my husband both days, even though this was not in the menu. What really was the downside was that service was sooo slow at breakfast. The toast and coffee was served 20 minutes after we ordered it (and about 10 minutes after we got our eggs).
Also they were very slow at refilling the buffet. It was not busy or many people in the breakfast room while we where there.

Wi-Fi is complementary, but you need to ask for log on details in the reception, as they did not give that to us upfront when checking in.

Also, when we left to go out in the morning we hang the "please service our room" note on the door. When we came back at 2 the room had not been served yet. We were planning to take a quick nap before venturing out again at 4, but since the room had not been done we were not able to relax properly as we knew we would be woken any time. It would have been great to have had the room done earlier.

Other than that, I had a pleasant stay, and would recommend the hotel if you are in Edinburgh.
The staff were vey friendly!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vestfoldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had a fantastic stay here, staff very friendly, room lovely, spacious and clean, food excellent. Would definitely recommend it and only a five minute walk from railway station. Would choose this hotel again if staying in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just had a very enjoyable weekend at the Hotel Indigo ,ideal location in the city centre as we were going to the Playhouse on Saturday night which was about a 3 min walk away.Staff in the Hotel were very friendly and helpfull ,we had a meal in the hotel restaurant on friday night the food was very enjoyable, we then retired to the bar area to find the staff all very happy to involve all patrons in this area in any and all conversations with in the area which made you feel very much at home in a very relaxing enviroment , After the Theatre on Saturday night which finished about 10.30 we asked the staff if it would be possible to have some light bites which was not a problem and we were served with some delicious sandwiches to accompany our night cap beverages.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012 as a long weekend with my boyfriend and absolutely loved it! Booked it a week before we went on a whim as we wanted to get away somewhere and I had never been to Edinburgh! So glad we booked this fabulous hotel! 4* and got a great price for 3 nights. Huge double bed with great modern decor. We were on the second floor and although there was no view from the window that didn't really matter to us as we were always out and about. I had just been recovering from the norovirus on the first day we got there and having a free mini bar with pringles, chocolate and tins of coke was a great addition! We didn't eat in the hotel but we did have a drink one night and it was nice and quiet in the hotel.

I think we did have a room that was specially for wheelchair access as the bathroom was fitted with such items, the only thing wrong with this was that the shower was not enclosed and I did manage to flood the bathroom one morning, oops! Wouldve been easily stopped by a lip or edge around the shower tiles on the floor, but obviously if the shower was for wheelchair access they couldn't have this (but still would've flooded the bathroom with, regardless of being in a wheelchair!)

Other than that, great hotel. Fabulous location, we took a short cut though a mall which is right behind the hotel and it takes you through to Princes street and from there it is 5-10 minutes to the royal mile! Yes, was a bit awkward to find at first due to the ongoing tram works, but don't let that stop you!

Did get room service one night which I'm sure would've been lovely, only they had gotten my order wrong and we were too tired to ring and change it, so my boyfriend ate it instead. (I had asked for a bagel with just cheese and some how got a bagel with club sauce? Strange!)

No expense spared at the toiletries either, Aveda shampoo etc! Lovely. Did not try the pool or spa

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms a lovely, there isn't much of a view due to the location on the street, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,386 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,030 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Property: Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing