We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Brilliant Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #48 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Great location, beautiful rooms, great value. You won't be disappointed.

Bed was really comfortable. Free mini bar a delight, aveda toiletries a great touch and a tunnocks tea cake. Being Scottish this really delighted me.

Brilliant!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonniescotsgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    381
    107
    21
    10
See reviews for
99
637
56
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

My fiends and I booked this hotel at staff rate for a night over before our package trip. The location is absolutely good, not far from train station and is also closed to all the shopping centres.

The first impression when we poped in was more than great, clean and stylish design, very lovely and warm feeling for the inside. Staff at reception are all very helpful, especially Albert, he took us to the room and introduced everything to us, which made us feel very welcomed.

The rooms are very nice, and what's more, Mini bar free, WI-FI free, room service without tray charge! This is a big surprise and which makes the stay here value more. Breakfast is also nice with high quality in both food and service.

Only thing that is a little bit pity is the air conditioner not working in my freind's room. But all the other things here are more than alright, so do recommend and of course will return:) all the best to Indigo Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here in early December 2012, just one night, as had some very early morning business in Edinburgh. Booked last minute, so paid £134 for a superior room - didn't consider this to be excessive, as the same room type can be had for under £100 with advance booking.

Arrived by train - the walk was easy; up Waverley steps, straight up to St. Andrews Square then right on to York Place. Exactly 10 minutes brisk walk even with a suitcase - no problem.
Car drivers - beware at present - the whole of York Place is currently closed to all vehicles due to the extensive tram works - likely to remain this way for some time. Plenty parking nearby though.

The hotel is right behind John Lewis, St. James Car Park and just a stone's throw from the Omni Centre (multi screen cinema and another large car park) and as for the Playhouse - the walk could almost be measured in seconds. Could this be the perfect Edinburgh Hotel location? Definitely within the top 5%.

On arrival, something happened which absolutely delighted me - I was upgraded to an Executive Room. I have been a Priority Club Gold member for about 3 years now - I never quite manage to get enough stays to reach Platinum - and in that time, I have NEVER had a complimentary room upgrade as a Gold member - this is almost exclusively offered to Platinum members only.
Well done, Hotel Indigo Edinburgh!! The night I stayed, they weren't too busy, so this is exactly the kind of "above and beyond the call of duty" gesture that has guaranteed my repeat custom. In the whole of the ICH group, I have consistently found Indigo to be the best for attention to detail and extra effort delivering great customer service. They are always my first ICH choice - though not many locations at present. Just hope they can keep up their superlative standards!

As for the room - there is hardly time for me to extol the virtues enough. A superb quality SIX foot bed with fine cotton sheets & duvet, massive flat screen TV, media centre (so iPods etc. can be played & charged through the room audio system), enormous en-suite with separate bath & superb shower, beautiful complimentary toiletries and minibar items.
I have honestly stayed at hotels costing 2 or 3 times as much per night, even in Canada & the US, which have not been so comfortable or immaculately clean. Absolutely off the scale for quality when compared to the two Edinburgh Holiday Inns (Corstorphine & West) which can often be found with similar prices when they are busy.

Alas, not able to comment on breakfast as I had to check-out before 7am (breakfast starts at 6:30am and I don't like it rushed!). Certainly sounded great from the menu, though.

Top marks to ICH for delivering another fantastic Indigo - but especially high marks to the Edinburgh staff who are on another level compared to other brands within the ICH group.

I will be back for a leisure break as soon as I can get the time off work...........

Room Tip: Executive Room 302 - one of the best en-suites I have ever experienced - separate full bath and walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyemajic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

A well decorated, clean hotel situated in a great location. However avoid being allocated a room at the back near the huge air conditioning system as this is like trying to sleep when a pneumatic drill is being operated. Don't expect to get breakfast in bed even if you place your card out on your door handle in good time. They didn't collect mine and I was left waiting all morning until I realised it was not coming! The staff were apologetic but not terribly interested. For one reason the TV kept switching off & it would not go on again. Breakfast was a shambles on the second morning, I sat amongst dirty tables that were left untouched, had to wait 15 mins for a coffee & porridge (this came lukewarm); there were 2 staff who seemed stressed & who were eventually helped by a receptionist but still they didn't cope. Over all- top dressed hotel but lacking in customer focus & experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skills2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Lovely bright and roomy hotel room. Excellent location, close to many restaurants and bars as well as shopping and sight seeing. Breakfast was enjoyable (cooked and continental) with several options to choose from. Staff were friendly and helpful. During stay, roadworks were taking place outside the hotel but were not disturbing or too noisy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We booked to celebrate my husbands Birthday & they were so helpful.
We had several phone calls to see if we wanted any restaurants booking & gave great advise on where to go.
Our rooms were fab & breakfast was very good too.
All in all a very good hotel & central to everything.
Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheffielddob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Really like this property... def worth a visit and will return!

Very comfy bed and the free minibar is a nice touch. The only downside was you couldn't turn the mood light in bathroom off? Or I couldn't find the switch...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saguyinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,828 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#38 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Property: Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Address: 51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing