We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Place(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,423)
Filter reviews
1,424 results
Traveler rating
777
458
132
39
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
777
458
132
39
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary mini baryork placeaveda toiletriesirn brutram stopjohn lewisrain showerfresh milkroad worksjunior suitelovely hotelplayhouse theatrehotel barbed was very comfortablefull scottish breakfastprincess streethigh ceilings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,171 - 1,176 of 1,424 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night at the indigo! Amazing room although small and great bathroom. Some of the nicest mod cons and free mini bar!! They try and give you everything you need and I cannot fault them. Great breakfast and service especially when we were running late for our restaurant booking and they kindly phoned on our behalf. Definitely will stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mckerrowlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Mckerrowlouise,

Thank you very much for your kind words about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I have passed your compliments on to our team. It does give us a great boost to hear when our guests enjoy their stay with us.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon and please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can help you make travel arrangements.

Stay original,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel and our room was beautiful with a lovely bathroom with an exceptional shower.However we would advise other travellers to refuse to stay in room 109,appearances can be very deceptive.The fact that this room had no view, except for 3 walls,was not the problem after all it was only a place to sleep.Sleep being the operative word, except this room and a peaceful nights sleep is something you will not get.Connected to this room is the air conditioning unit which makes the most horrendous noise and the vibration through the walls made the full length wall mirror rattle.We checked out of the hotel and explained about our sleepless night we received an apology and a refund of our breakfast which is a joke because it was included in the price of our stay.We left feeling very disappointed at their response,we expected more from a 4 star hotel maybe if we had stayed in another room this would have been a more positive review.

Room Tip: Avoid room 109
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayaddict36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear holidayaddict36,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

I have been trying to get in contact with you to discuss your stay with us. Please do accept my sincere apologies that your experience with us was below the standard you expected. We do take all our guest feedback very seriously and are working constantly on improving our guest experience.

I hope that we can welcome you back to restore your faith in our beautiful hotel.

Stay curious,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Hotel room was very nicely done, with a nice bathroom and nice furnishings. Room was also very quiet. Lovely free shortbread, mineral water, and and a couple of other bits in the mini bar which was a nice treat, as well as some excellent coffee.

Staff very friendly, our luggage (which we had dropped off earlier in the day) was waiting for us in our room when we returned later, which was a nice touch.

Location very good - on the edge of the centre but within very easy walking distance of Princes Street and George Street. We walked virtually everywhere - nothing was more than 15 minutes away.

Only one niggle, which we should have raised at the time but didn't (it probably would have been fixed), there was a speaker in the bathroom playing the sound coming from the tv, with a volume switch on the wall, however the volume on this varied wildly even while turned completely down, and more annoyingly, it never played the full sound from the tv, normally only the background music - probably a dodgy connection somewhere.

But this is a really minor issue, overall an excellent quality hotel for not a bad price and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Emmzah.

Thank you very much for your fantastic comments regarding your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. We are located at the east end of Edinburgh's Queen street and as you correctly mentioned are within walking distance of Edinburgh's major sites, shops and bars, restaurants. We do react to any guest comments as quickly and efficiently as possible and please do let us know if there is anything we can do for you during your stay.

I will pass on your comments to our team and hope that we can welcome you back to our beautiful hotel in the future.

Stay curious,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We know Edinburgh well, but as a treat booked a night in the city so that we could have a drink and chill out. We found Hotel indigo on laterooms.com and got a real bargin, the hotel was beautiful, the rooms are fantastic and ours was very spacious. The showers are fantstic and the complimentary fridge very nice. The staff are caring and friendly and as it was chucking it down we borrowed an umbrella to go out for dinner. We had breakfast in the morning and it was very yummy- although my husband would have liked more. The location of the hotel is perfect and they have made the most of classic interiors and added a modern beautiful twist with printed wallpapers and beautiful blues. We had a lovely night. WELL DONE

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Laura,

Thank you very much for your kind words about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your room, our teams friendly service and our freshly cooked breakfast. Please do ask for a top up when you stay the next time.

It is great to be able to pass on such lovely comments to our team and it really makes all the hard work worth while for all of us.

I hope that we can welcome you back to our beautiful hotel soon.

Stay original,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in September 2012. It has a small bar/lounge area and a breakfast room/restaurant. We were a little disappointed to find that we had been allocated a room at basement level thinking it would be dark and dingy. Happily we were completely wrong and the room was gorgeous with two large windows to let in light during the day and plenty of lamps for evening lighting. I loved the decor of the room which was very colourful with a small seating area to include a chaise longue. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was very modern with a very efficient shower. Everything was spotlessly clean. The hotel is very well situated with a bus stop right outside and approximately 15 mins walk from Waverley Station or a short taxi ride. There were only two minor negatives as far as I am concerned, the first was the breakfast - food not great quality, service a little shoddy and tables far too close together and the other negative was that our room seemed to be next to a staff room of some kind which was used at all times of day and night and caused some disturbance due to slamming/squeaky door. All said, I would stay there again without any hesitation and just have breakfast at Jenners or one of the many other alternatives locally available.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CazzalovesLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear CazzalovesLewis,

Thank you very much for your kind words about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the decor and comfort of one of our basement rooms. These are a real feature of the Edinburgh New town and the Georgian Townhouses that make up Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I have discussed your comments regarding breakfast with our food and beverage manager. We take great pride in the locally sourced produce we serve in our Turquoise Thistle restaurant and are very disappointed that you have not found your breakfast to be of our high standard.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood in the near future and thank you again for your comments.

Stay curious,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews