We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #51 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for a 2 night stay on the Indigo Indulgence package in September 2012. The service was absolutely incredible and check in was fast and easy. The rooms are lovely with complimentary mini bar and tea and coffee facilities and a massive bed. With the indigo indulgence package a 3 course meal was included on your chosen night. The food was to die for, and I am a really fussy eater and still managed to clear my plates. The drinks were quite expensive but I expected it for such a fancy hotel. Breakfast was a full Scottish breakfast, only thing was on the first morning we went for breakfast I would say they were slightly under staffed and did over-hear a few mix ups with breakfasts and coffee but the next morning the staff had increased and they were a lot more organised. We had tickets to see Phantom of the Opera and the theatre was a 2minute walk from the hotel.
I would definitely recommend this hotel as it is close to the shops, theatre, bars and restaurants.
Overall it was a fabulous stay and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibiza2010274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Ibiza2010274,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your two nights with us. Our Indulgence package is great as you do not only get to stay in our amazingly stylish and comfortable rooms but you also get indulge in a three course meal at our Turquoise Thistle restaurant. Dan our head chef takes great pride in only using the most local and fresh produce and you can certainly taste this in the excellent dishes we serve.

I will certainly discuss your comments with our team and I hope that we can welcome you back soon, maybe for Dirty Dancing at the Playhouse.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    397
    114
    22
    11
See reviews for
103
672
60
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great new hotel. We arrived early with the intention of leaving our bags until the rooms were ready but the receptionist swapped our room so we could check in early. The room we were given was spacious and comfortable. Bathroom had an excellent shower. Complimentary snacks were tasty and had plenty of gadgets!

Breakfast was delicious. It was almost a shame the buffet had so much choice because we didn't get to taste everything and the full Scottish cooked breakfast was excellent

I would have given this 5/5 except for the fact we had a knock on the door at 1:30am asking us to keep the noise down which spoilt the experience a little bit. We did get back late but myself and my partner were quiet and respectful of other guests. We were surprised to get disturbed 10 minutes after we got back to our room informing us a complaint had being made against us, we were already in bed by this point. It's a little bit harsh marking the hotel down on this point as the manager was only acting on another guests complaint but for us, it detracted from our overall experience which was a shame.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear SafeNath,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us and is great to hear that our freshly cooked breakfast set you up perfectly for your day in Edinburgh.

Please accept my apologies for being disturbed by our night manager. As you say he was acting on the comments another guest has made and I have since discussed this with our night team.

I hope that we can welcome you back to our beautiful hotel in the near future.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Excellent location within walking distance to lots of city sights and very close to range of interesting New Town restaurants. Some reservations when booked as it is part of large hotel chain but you would not notice this. Attention to detail was notable - eg local biscuits and variety of tea in room, very quiet and comfortable room, accomodating reception staff and delicious breakfast. Slightly complicated TV/Radio system but we got there in the end.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCSCambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Everything about this hotel is lovely. The rooms are very nicely decorated and full of extra little gadgets. Mattresses are soooo comfortable and pillows you just sink into. The breakfast was lovely with black pudding and potato scones that melt in your mouth. The little tray of nibbles in the room was very tasty too. Staff are very approachable and cannot do enough to help you. A definite must for any visitor to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a brilliant stay last Thursday at the Indigo. We booked two rooms and even got a comp upgrade to an executive room. What was a pleasant surprise was 10 minutes after check in, the porter arrived with strawberry’s and shortbread (what we didn’t order). We had tickets for the theatre and was literally a 2 minute walk. Everything else was with in such a close proximity. The staff were brilliant and very helpful. Only downside was the parking was difficult to find, but this is an issue Edinburgh wide with the current construction work. All in all would definitely stay again.

Thanks :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Front Office M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our Family booked us into the Indigo to celebrate our Golden wedding anniversary the hotel was absolutely superb. The staff and every thing was as you would hope from a hotel of this sort.
they (the staff )were exceedingly helpful and the Conseage collected and even took our luggage to the nearby carpark for us, Nothing was to much effort.( the Hotel was in the area being installed with the new Tram services)
We only stayed the one night wich was which was as I said a present from family for our Golden wedding celebrations. All the Staff were aware of the occaision and each and all offered their congratulations.
The Resturant and other facilities were excellant and I would recomond this Hotel to anyone visiting this great City.

Room Tip: If available choose one of their Special 00- roomsthey are the Dogs ______ I was so inpresssed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oddjobjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was a nice surprise, very clean and quiet hotel. Staff very friendly, rooms were a nice size and the bed was very comfortable. Restaurant next door, turquoise thistle is a little upscale for my tastes but also very good and we ate breakfast there every morning. Very good coffee. Overall made our Edinburgh stay a joy. Will definitely stay here next time.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LEJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Property: Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Address: 51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing