We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free mini bar!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #51 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Free mini bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Very modern hotel, just a few minutes walk from the theatres and less than 10 from Princes Street. Had a slight problem with the cleanliness of the floor in our room and they upgraded us immediately with apologies. Free mini bar is great - no alcohol but snacks and soft drinks. Nice toiletries, fantastic bathrooms, wi-fi and data hub. Tea tray also exceptional, fresh milk in the fridge and a wide choice of tea and coffee, de-caf's and fruit teas. Bed very comfy, lovely full length mirror...loved it!!

Room Tip: High floors are quieter - beware the cobbles at the back and wheeled suitcases though!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NY777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    397
    114
    22
    11
See reviews for
103
672
60
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel was fantastic. We stayed the night before the Edinburgh half marathon and while the location wasn't quite as close as we'd hoped, the quality of the hotel made up for it. Hotel Indigo's are quirky in the best way possible and this one was fantastic. Toiletries were wonderful, room furnishings were bright and fun, and the bed was one of the best I've ever slept in. They provide a wonderful selection of snacks, teas and coffees for free in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girlfromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iceland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just got home from a really good stay at this lovely hotel. It is not far from Princess street, about a 10 minute walk and god bus connections right outside. There is a very pretty pub next door, the Conan Doyle, we had a nice lunch there. There is a Tesco express around the corner so perfect if you want to pick up something for the mini bar. They leave that free for you and a nice touch is they have a few drinks, water, soda, and a power drink and snacks, all complementary.The room was pretty small, but everything looked brand new and in top condition. And very trendy, with bright colors and modern designs. The bed was very comfy, I had the best nights sleeps I can remember in a very long time. The bathroom is a good size, towels warmers and nice toilettries. It was a little odd that they were never replenished, we had to keep running down to the lobby to get more since our phone did not work. But otherwise, housekeeping was great. We had a terrible view so do ask for a room facing the street, there is a pretty church on the other side of the street. A couple of things you should be aware of tho. There are roadworks outside so taxis can not come right up to the hotel, not a problem for us but might be for others. There is no noise proplem with the works that we could hear and the buses can still travel the road. And the hotel might be a little difficult for people that have a problem with walking, loads of corridors, stairs and such. I did see an elevator tho so perhaps they have better access to other rooms but you should check if you have any difficulties.
There is a small resturant, again, very trendy as is the bar area. We only had a bar snack since we got in too late, it wasnt great but I am sure the resturant food is better.
The staff was wonderful and very helpful with the things we needed, I always value staff most on our stays and I could not have been happier.
Free wii fii, you need to get a new code every day but that should not be a problem.
I would definatly recommend this hotel and would have given it a 5 star had the room been just a little bigger. Good job Indigo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I've stayed at the Indigo last month and this is what I found:
Location - very central - 1 minute from main station.
Rooms smart and stylish with excellent bathroom (first class shower - no bath though)
Some of the food is good (although over priced - there are some excellent restaurants in Edinburgh)
But I'm sorry that's where the good stuff ends.
The worst part I'm afraid is the service, for this I would blame the manager, are the staff being trained ? Being polite I'd call it sleepy. I don't think the staff are bad people they just haven't been trained how to be attentive and to look after paying guests and it's frankly rude.
Queues at check out can been lengthy and chaotic in the morning.
Assume the wifi at Indigio is either slow or non existent.
Put simply this is a missed opportunity. It's a smart place but badly managed and until that changes I won't be going back - it just doesn't match the price and the high end sales pitch.
Unless you get a very good price I'd stay away to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

My partner and I's stay at the Hotel Indigo was perfect from start to finish. The service was great, from the helpful and knowledgeable barman making a white russian for my girlfriend (when it wasn't on the cocktail list) to the desk staff offering to keep our bags (even after we had checked out) in order to let us explore the city some more. The cooked breakfast was fantastic,
Onto our room. Very modern room, fantastically designed. We really wished we could take the bed and shower away with us! The bed really was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The complimentary mini-bar with soft drinks and goodies was a nice touch.
Will definitely return to this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dundeederek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Sadly this hotel, while perfectly located, and completely brilliant as far as lay-out, design and top notch linen, beds, and towels... the staff is, at best, abrupt but far along the lines of rude. They have no idea who you are, even if you had been at the desk and spoke with the same person 10 minutes earlier, they will struggle to know that you are even a guest in their small hotel.

I literally watched the other day as one of the front desk people assisted two girls into the hotel. He carried the one's luggage and let the other struggle trying to pull her heavy bag up the stairs. He had long went inside before the other young lady had been able to pull her one bag up a single step.

Room service- while they are fast, the food is not great. God forbid you order something that is not good, as there is no apology, no replacement, and certainly, no taking it off the bill... even if you couldn't eat it because it was so bad.

The housekeeping staff is lovely. They are very good, and they are extraordinarily polite. I think perhaps a switch of front of houe staff with the back of house staff would prove to be a cosmic step in the right direction for this well located, albeit a tad pricey, little gem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tantric1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Tantric1,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience with us. I am pleased our location suited you well and glad our hotel exceeded your expectations. I am sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service you received from our front desk staff and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

A great hotel with very nice location, excellent service, well cleaned, modern and cosy rooms, helpful staff and nice atmosphere.A little expensive, but all hotels in Edinburgh are expensive, so comparatively provides good value. Recommended overall.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuzAlexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Property: Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Address: 51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing