We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #45 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We had a perfect stay at Kings Manor. On arrival we were informed that we had been given a complimentary upgrade to a club room for the duration of our stay (5 nights). The room was lovely - huge bed and felt quite luxurious. The staff were extremely helpful throughout, giving us great suggestions about things to see and do and were at all times friendly and attentive. They did all they could to help with any matter immediately. The facilities were also excellent and my boyfriend and I took full advantage of the free gym, pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and tennis courts (with free use of rackets and balls), as well as free use of wifi. The hotel was perhaps 20 mins out of town but the bus stops were right outside and buses came so regularly this was not an issue at all. As a young couple that went to Edinburgh a little blind with regards to where to stay, what to do etc, we felt we couldn't have had a better holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nushkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,182 - 1,188 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

We have just got back from a weekend in Edinburgh and we stayed at the Kings Manor hotel. The hotel is rated as a 3 star so we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived as I would say it was of a much higher standard than many 4 star hotels we have stayed in. As I would expect anyway Scottish hospitality was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. The room was large and spacious as was the bathroom. (We overlooked the tennis court). The bed was huge and was very comfortable. Tea and coffee facitlites, iron/ironing board, hairdryer all available in the room. Large flat screen TV. We used the spa facilties and thoroughly enjoyed it. The treatments were reasonable priced but due to a couple of hen nights at the hotel I was unable to book any treatments but I will make sure I book in advance next time we go YES!! there will definitely be another stay at this hotel. The food was excellent, breakfast plentiful hot and cold buffet. We dined in the Bistro and the portion sizes of the food was well above average, I wasnt able to eat all my food. Prices were reasonable and the best part of the dinning was the hotel was well staffed so empty dishes were cleared immediately and requests were dealt with quickly. The flowers and chocolates in our room on arrival were an added bonus as it was out 23rd wedding anniversay. The hotel is ideally situated for Edinburgh. There is a number 44 bus that picks up and drops off right outside the front of the hotel and drops of in Princess Street. Its a regular service every 10 - 15 mins and only costs £1.20 single or £3.00 for day travelling. The room wasnt air conditioned but I asked at reception for a fan and had one delivered to our room 10 minutes later. I must say if anyone had any bad comments to make about this hotel they obviously are not well travelled. I cannot think of any negative comments about the hotel or staff. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who was visiting Edinburgh and me and my husband will be gong back to the hotel again next year with a few more nights added on. I would like to thank all the staff at the Kings Manor for making our stay memorable and SEE YOU ALL NEXT YEAR xx

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thor1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Just back from a three night stay at Kings Manor. Purpose of trip was to see a concert and make a weekend of it in Edinburgh. Parking and driving in central Edinburgh as we know is not very relaxing to say the least so when we found out that Kings Manor had car parking and also we could catch a local bus right outside the door of the hotel to take us to anywhere in edinburgh we thought that would be very useful. We never moved the car ur four days there-No 44 bus straight to Princes Street in 12-15 mins for £1.20 or you could but a £3 day ticket for as many bus journeys in one day that you wanted. Bused run every ten miniytes and they are in abundance. They also ran late at night if you are out late in Edinburgh. The opposite way the bus ran to Portobello or Musselborough - both lovely seaside towns to visit. The spa facilities were excellent-one little gripe no nozzles on hairdryers but thats not important to everyone - changing rooms with lockers,power showers,sauna,steam,jacuzzi and large swimming pool. We never used our shower in room yet as we used the pool every day. One other thing they could have later breakfast times so that you could use the spa area longer in the morning before breakfast(which is what we like to do when we are away). Pool does open early but breakfast stops at 9.30 so to make good use you had to be up early if you wanted to use before breakfast. Even it it was 10am that 30 mins would make a difference. Breakfast every morning was lovely and plenty choice. We ate in the Lounge one night and had a good choice of bar suppers at a very reasonable price- wine a bit pricey l would say but food price made up for it. We did not eat in dining room but the menu choice looked excellent. Staff very helpful - we stayed in room 302 and the bathroom had been refurbished but the room itself was a bit dark and could be brighter but very clean. Would highly recommend it to anyone on a weekend break as the price was very reasonable too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broomlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2010

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the transport into the city useful. It really is a great service and as you say much easier than driving and a whole lot cheaper than driving! The fast train srvice get you to the city centre in 7 minutes.
Thank you about your coments about hairdryers, I will pass them to the spa manager and certainly take them on board when we are looking at replacements.
I fully understand your comments regarding later breakfasts and indeed we offer breakfast at the weekends to 10am . Unfortunately we are generally busy with conrfences mid week and we need the resaurant to be reset for lunch for 12 noon. The spa opens at 7 every morning so that is a full 2 and a half hours of excercising or relaxing before end of breakfast . You can of course get room service breakfast - for no extra charge- untill 10am every day of the week, if you pre book with reception. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
alister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

KIngs Manor is only rated 3 star so it was a pleasant surprise. The Best Western branding is an indicator of standards and this hotel, I believe, exceeded. The hotel is convenient for the City Bypass and only 4 miles from the City Centre but close to a local retail park.
The room was comfortable with a really comfortable bed. The real plus points for me were the Free Wifi (compared with some of the more up market brands), good lighting in the room (central and over the desk), a proper teapot on the hospitality tray and some of the friendliest staff. What a good advert they are for both the hotel and Scottish hospitality. I was out early both mornings and a continental breakfast was available and whatever time I wanted it (again better service than some of the more up market brands). Continental can mean many different things but this was juice, cereal, 3 slices of toast and a big pot of tea - excellent. The leisure facilities are wonderful with a lovely pool, gym, studio and treatments.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsmith42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Very small rooms with twin beds. No air conditioning but at least the window opened fully...but you could hear others in their room and the street noises.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank willye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutterblid, Revenue Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2010

Thanks for taking the trouble of posting a review of your stay.The hotel, as we clearly state on all information channels, is around 4 miles from the city centre. it has ,as other reviewers have pointed, out excellent public transport links to the city which is fast regular ,fairly cheap and safe.Our location offers easy access to all the cities attractions without the crush,noise,congestion and traffic issues that goes hand in hand with a city centre location.
We do not offer air conditioningg in most of the rooms, but unfortunately in Scotland that is not a facility that we normally need due to our 'temperate' climate.
Only 4 rooms look out onto the front of the hotel where the 'street 'is.All other rooms including all twin bedded rooms are to the back of the hotel overlooking playing fields ,some flats and houses and our tennis court,so I am unsure where the street noises came from.I would have thought that a city centre hotel would have more problems with street noise than any that we may have here.I hope that the rest of your trip was more to your expectations.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

we spent one night at this hotel on our way to inverness and it was much better than we expected. the room was increbibly big with a huge bed, proba\blby one of the most comfortable ever. nice bathroom, big parking and just a 20 min journey away from the city centre by bus. buses run every ten minutes and it costs 3 pounds for a day travelcard.

it is very easy to get to, as it is just off A1, and it is also easy to carry on driving to the north.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titisor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We stayed for two nights in one of the new club rooms. Excellent facilities. We ate in the Bistro, the best fish and chips in town. Also had room service from the Bistro. Easy to catch bus into town and back. Friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thunderbird13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,603 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#75 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#94 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,241 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#109 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $65 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing