We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #40 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting our son and daughter in law in Edinburgh. We were accompanied by our two dogs and were upgraded to a club room so that we would have extra room for all their doggie luggage. The room was very large with a spacious bathroom and an extremely comfortable (and huge) bed. Everything was beautifully clean. The hotel is a 5-10 minute drive to Portabello beach (or a 20-25 min walk) which is really lovely, and also home to a 19th century turkish bath in the swimming centre. Holyrood Park (with Arthur's Seat) is a 5-10 min drive and the centre of Edinburgh is about a 15-20 drive depending on traffic. The hotel breakfast was good; the bistro, where we ate dinner, has an extensive menu and very attentive staff. Parking was free and plentiful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocolateloverlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for posting the review of your recent stay, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

great food,extremely helpful staff,wonderful pool and great bar and the luck of meeting of the raith rovers team before their cup win! petfect perfect perfect! thank you to nicola,paul,kashia and everyone else thank you for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richiekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for posting your kind review, we hope to welcome you back again in the near future, although we cannot guarantee to have League Cup winning teams on hand to meet you on every visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed for two nights in March - me my wife and 13yr old daughter. We had booked a triple room and we were given an upgtade to a 'Club' room on arrival. Plenty of space, and very comfortable. We decided to be a bit slobby and ordered a room service meal on the first night, Very good indeed and reasonably priced. Great Scottish breakfast next morning, which kept us going all day. Very good leisure facilities. Also very easy to get into Edinburgh city centre. Railway station round the corner - journey takes a few minutes, and also plenty of buses. Much better than driving in and trying to park. Plenty of hotel parking (and its free - a welcome bonus these days) If you are on a leisure break, take the time to visit the seafront at Portobello - this is Edinburgh by the sea, not an area I was familiar with, but a lovely place to be.I will certainly stay here next time we visit the capital. Thanks to the pleasant staff - we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisbarker344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to explore the less well known parts of the city such as Portobello. We look forward to hosting a future stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for two nights to explore Edinburgh. Not wanting to drive into town, we found that the railway station was just a short walk away. Perfect! Staff were brilliant and I would recommend the restaurant, which served great food served by friendly people. I don' t know if all of Hotel was like our part, but we were in a typical old Hotel with winding corridors and steps up and down - even to the lift. Lots of ground floor rooms, though, should you prefer. We like the old feel to the Hotel. The area seemed quite pleasant, also, which helps you settle in. No wonder it was popular.

Room Tip: If you don't do stairs then mention this when booking.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mskinnerms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for posting your review of your stay. Like you, many of our guests find our location for easily exploring the city whilst being in a quiet location to be an ideal base for a city break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Having never been to the Spa & taking advantage of a GROUPON deal, we though we'd give this place a try.
We received a nice, professional welcome & shown where everything was. Changing rooms were clean, a little tired around the edges, but had everything you needed. Robes, flip flops & towels were provided. Gilchrist & Somes hand wash/cream provided by the sinks.
Therapists were lovely, professional & provided excellent treatments. Total bliss.
The only issue was that my Mum had an allergic reaction later in the day to the eye treatment used. It had also been sold to her as "very gentle", but unfortunately her eye area was red & inflamed by the end if the day. She was very annoyed as she had told the therapist about being very sensitive to products. It was a shame as we'd had such super relaxing & professional treatments.
Another issue was that we were encouraged to use the loungers by the pool to relax. There were 2 in total & these had been 'reserved' by other customers towels. There were some wicker chairs, but no more loungers.
Didn't use the pool, jacuzzi, sauna or steam room as we didn't have time.
We mentioned the lack of loungers on departure & were told they were very busy that day, they'd "forgotten" to put extra loungers out. The member of staff said laughingly, "they're all sitting there (the loungers) instead of by the pool!" When we looked in the direction indicated, all we saw were more wicker chairs. Not loungers. Very odd.
As a result, there us nowhere to relax outside of the pool/jacuzzi etc in the Spa. We feel this needs to be addressed.
Otherwise, I can highly recommend the treatments provided & will be using Elemis products as a result at home. My Mum thoroughly enjoyed her treatments, but as she had an allergic reaction despite telling the therapist about her skin sensitivity, this spoiled the day for her.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank womenabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for posting your review of your visit for beauty treatments. I am sorry that your mother experienced some discomfort from here treatments. I have asked our senior therapist to help me to reply. Gemma Says’ the product used in the treatment would be either an Eye Mask or Eye Serum.

• Eye Mask which carry Plant extract
• Eye Serum which carry essential oil based products

An eye mask is designed to react to black circles and puffyness and this may have led to a reaction. This is classed as an active treatment and so a reaction does take place. It could be an individual ingredient but if there were no specifics mentioned at the consultation about allergies, this treatment is still suitable for “sensitive skin”. We can however, get a list of the ingredients for her future use to avoid contact with.
Both the treatments are classed as “active” but also termed as not strong.
Where we deeply regret this experience our best reaction is to assist her in avoiding a similar situation by trying to help identify the ingredient she has had a reaction to’.
We can provide your mother with full details of all ingredients so she can identify what may have caused this adverse reaction.
I also note your comments regarding loungers and chairs, we offer a selection of both of these, but taking on board your comments we may need to look at getting more loungers.
Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here just one night to attand function locally. Standard double room was fine, though we reported a problem with the sink and the promised fix never arrived. Staff friendly and helpful though bar staff a bit under-trained.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdw47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay. I am very sorry that the maintenance issue was not properly dealt with during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,548 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $80 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing