We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem, close to the city of Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #42 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    456
    111
    23
    9
See reviews for
300
452
65
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of days, very nice hotel from checking in to leaving nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I have ever had, will def use this hotel again the next time we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gu102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for posting your kind review. It is particularly pleasing that the recent effort and money invested in breakfast service has borne fruit in the eyes of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

If you want to avoid the pricey downtown princes Street hotels this is the place for you in Portobello A very pleasant 40 minute double-decker bus ride to downtown Oldtown and Newtown. Staff here are all confident and eager to make your stay comfortable enjoyable and most pleasant. Make sure to take advantage of the full-service gym and pool with Jacuzzi steam and sauna. I will definitely stay here again if I have the chance and will recommend it to others.... well done!

Cordially, Professor Mark McIntire

Room Tip: Book Room 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmcintire44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for posting your kind review. Its a pity that your trip was curtailed and you were not able to spend New Year with us. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

stayed here for new year ,hotel was excellent, Rooms comfortable and very clean. hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful. went out there way to make our stay memorable. would stay here without any question of doubt. suitable located too reach city centre in 20 min .overall hotel and staff made our break away very enjoyable

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed New Year celebrations in Edinburgh. It certainly has a great atmosphere and there’s lots going on. I hope that we may have the pleasure of hosting a future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on 30th & 31st Dec 2013 and we were so impressed. The room was very spacious, clean and nicely furnished. The double bed was huge (more like an American queen size), very comfortable and good choice of pillows. It was lovely and warm for saying the time of year. The TV was very good quality and the free Wi-Fi, was great.

We were a little apprehensive as we had booked in with our pet Shih Tzu and wondered if the "dog rooms" would be a lower quality, or had traces of previous occupants dog hairs or a "doggy smell". How wrong we were, absolutely not a trace of any pets being in there, our "dog" room was exactly the same as our daughter's room next door which didn't allow dogs in. There are gardens around the hotel where you can easily walk your dog.

The staff were so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble, our little dog Pippin was also warmly welcomed (every time we walked through the hotel).

Location is a bit out of the city but there are regular buses right outside the hotel (£1.50) or the train station is a short walk away. Taxi's are plentiful and allowed our dog in. The location is very peaceful.

Breakfast was excellent, very good quality food. We didn't get the opportunity to try the other menus.

All in all, excellent, we'll definitely stay there again with or without our dog.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for posting the kind review of your recent stay. We don’t have ‘dog rooms’ as such. There are a few rooms where we know from past experience that the carpet or other soft furnishing act as magnets for pet hairs. We do not use these rooms for guests with pets. Similarly we try to offer rooms on lower floors or near exits so that owners can ‘exercise’ their pets at short notice –if needed! Because of this we take care where we allocate pets, but we do not have rooms exclusively for pet owners. We certainly would be horrified if a new guest went into a room smelling of a previous pet. Our fantastic housekeeping staff ensure that this does not happen. I hope that we can welcome you and Pippin back to the Kings Manor in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
largs
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Room was comfortable and clean.Bed was large and very comfortable.Took dinner in the bistro both nights.Food was average,if spending more than a couple of nights menu choice a bit limited.Breakfast buffet had very good choice.Bus outside hotel very handy 15mins to princess street.Verygood hotel for a city break.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thennek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks for posting your review following your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Its a pity that you missed our new Bistro Menu that started yesterday. Our Lauders restaurant offers another additional venue for dinning in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
4.9 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,502 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
7.2 mi away
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#92 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing