We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #45 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 12, 2013

went to Edinburgh in September we stayed at the King Manor Hotel the over all hotel was excellent the staff, the taxi driver we used, the breakfast, the spa was great, a few minutes walks from portabelo beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for posting a kind review of your recent stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

My aunt arranged to have her 90th Birthday Party here on Saturday evening so I decided that this would be the most suitable place to stay. I have to say that my previous experience of Best Western hotels has been varied to say the least so I wasn't sure what to expect. I was very pleasantly surprised by the Kings Manor. From my initial check in to departure, the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The rooms were lovely, spacious and clean. We ate in the bar on the Friday evening and the food was excellent as was the Breakfast. I would definitely stay here again. It's location was perfect for our purpose but it's obviously not in the city centre however there is a bus stop right outside which takes you right into the centre.

All in all this was a great hotel and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alijam43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for posting a review after your Aunts 90th Birthday party. It certainly appeared to be a most enjoyable evening for everyone concerned. I hope that your stay has encouraged you to use more Best Western hotels. They have over the past few years increased the standards of membership and we have sadly lost a few colleagues that could not match these new standards. It has meant that overall the standards are now higher and more consistent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Booked 1 night to stay with partner and all was perfect...massage was amazing spa fabulous and staff could not have been any more helpfull.....room service quality was the only let down but really worth the money

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazzscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am disappointed that our room service was not up to standard. I do hope that you let my colleagues on duty know and that they took appropriate action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a two night trip to edinburgh, stayed at this hotel. Arrived at half 1 in the afternoon, was told we couldn't check in because the room wasn't ready but we were allowed to use the pool and sauna.
The room was great, a missing light bulb that's all I had to complain about.
There was a massive tv though!
staff were very friendly giving us bus timetables and calling taxis for us.
A 20/25 minute bus ride to the centre with the bus stop being right outside the hotel. £1.50 for a single, £3.50 for unlimited buses.
Very nice area that the hotel is in, you wouldn't be able to tell it was so close to the centre.
Found breakfast expensive, £12.50 per person per day, we just went into Edinburgh and had a breakfast in a gorgeous wetherspoons, on George's street. £10 for both of us with drinks.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for posting comments on your stay. Breakfast, if bought whilst booking your room can be as little as £6.30 per person. Which is not bad for:-
Fruit Juice Selection Orange, Grapefruit, Apple, Pineapple Tomato, Cranberry
Fruit Compotes Grapefruit Segments, Prunes, Mandarins, Apricots, Banana Crisps, Raisins
Cereal Selection Cornflakes, Rice Crispies, Weetabix, Muesli, Bran Flakes, Special K, Frosties, Crunchy Nut, Fruit and Fibre
Porridge With Sliced Banana and Heather Honey or With Fresh Cream
Low Fat Yoghurt Selection Strawberry, Raspberry, Peach, Natural
Seasonal Fruit Platter Melon, Pineapple
Fresh Bread Basket Wholemeal and White Morning Rolls, Selection of Danish Pastries and American Style Muffins, Warm Toast Butter and Preserves
Beverages Freshly Brewed Coffee, Selection of Teas, Scottish Breakfast, Earl Grey, Assam or Fruit Flavoured Teas
Cooked Breakfast Grilled Bacon, Sausage, Tomato, Black Pudding, Baked Beans, Sauté Mushrooms, Haggis, Fried Bread, potato scone. Poached, Fried, Boiled or Scrambled Eggs
Fish Grilled East Coast Kippers with Butter, Poached Smoked Haddock Fillet with Parsley and Lemon
A range that even Wetherspoons would be challenged to match.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that we can tempt you to purchase breakfast with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our first stop in a UK trip.
The bathroom was updated and good, the room was clean.he air in the room (411) was extremely stale-we washed the filthy filter in the AC, could hear the motor running a little bit unit but still didn't get any air moving. Staff came immediately when called but we were told that's as good as it gets- they did bring a desk top fan which definitely helped.
Met our needs, nothing to rave about

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimboCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay. All bedroom AC units have now been serviced. Please accept our apologies for the unhelpful comments of our colleague. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband, myself and our dog stayed here for one night. Room was lovely, quiet, and a good size and very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and very helpful and gave us a room near an exit door so that we could easily get outside with our dog. Our breakfast was in the price of our room and was excellent. We were also able to have it in our room which is fantastic with having the dog with us. Hotel is in a good location for Portobello beach and surrounding area, and there is a bus stop just outside where you can hop onto a bus into Edinburgh for £1.50 each way. I would definitely stay here again, and will recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetteHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. We do feel that we are a good venue for dog owners with many excellent walks on our doorstep. We look forward to welcoming all 3 of you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I found the hotel better then I was expecting. The free internet and parking was an added bonus. The room was a nice size with two queen size beds. The hotel's breakfast was a rip off so we drove to the Ocean Terminal Shopping center and had a lovely classic English breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yukonpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments on your stay. Breakfast , if bought when booking your room can be as little as £6.30 per person. We do not consider this to be overpriced in any way, particularly when considering the range of items on offer, but we certainly respect your right to choose a room only rate and take breakfast wherever you wish. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,603 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#95 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,241 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#109 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $65 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing