We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #42 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband, myself and our dog stayed here for one night. Room was lovely, quiet, and a good size and very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and very helpful and gave us a room near an exit door so that we could easily get outside with our dog. Our breakfast was in the price of our room and was excellent. We were also able to have it in our room which is fantastic with having the dog with us. Hotel is in a good location for Portobello beach and surrounding area, and there is a bus stop just outside where you can hop onto a bus into Edinburgh for £1.50 each way. I would definitely stay here again, and will recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetteHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. We do feel that we are a good venue for dog owners with many excellent walks on our doorstep. We look forward to welcoming all 3 of you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    452
    108
    23
    8
See reviews for
294
446
65
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I found the hotel better then I was expecting. The free internet and parking was an added bonus. The room was a nice size with two queen size beds. The hotel's breakfast was a rip off so we drove to the Ocean Terminal Shopping center and had a lovely classic English breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yukonpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on your stay. Breakfast , if bought when booking your room can be as little as £6.30 per person. We do not consider this to be overpriced in any way, particularly when considering the range of items on offer, but we certainly respect your right to choose a room only rate and take breakfast wherever you wish. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just got back from a 2 night break and at first we were quite impressed,nice room,bar and leisure facilities and the breakfast was excellent,the only thing that spoiled our weekend was being woken in the middle of the night (we didn;t settle to 1am) by a party in one of the nearby rooms singing very loudly,we were about to call reception to complain when we heard what we presumed was another guest hammering on the door and they quietened down,when we checked out this morning reception didn't seem to care.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I am disappointed to hear of your disturbed night. I understand that one of your fellow guests had also been disturbed by noise and one of our night porters attened a room and asked them to be more considerate to other guests. I think this may be the person who was ‘hammering’ on the door. I am very disappointed if our front deskl staff did not appear sympathetic to your comments in the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights.
Hotel in good location and facilities good.
Hotel is a little tired in places and needs a little more tender care, but still good value.
I would suggest if offered room 203 decline as right by lift and doors. This is a very noisy room and was disturbed several times by people coming out of lifts, and slamming doors.
Dinner in restaurant very good and reasonably priced.
Bus stop outside takes you straight into Princess Street 44 or 44x. I would suggest that you buy a £3.50 return as travel costs £1.50 per journey. Bus drops off by gardens opposite Jenners, and picks up at the side of Jenners.
Would use the Hotel again, and if thinking about Fringe need to book now.
WIFI free

Room Tip: Use the buses as cheap and reliable. Portbello is great for fish and chip suppers and a walk along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsJeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for posting the review of your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am a bit puzzled about your comments regarding noise in 203 from the lift. I wonder if you may have mis-remembered the room number as 203 at the very far easterly end of the building and at least 40 yards from the nearest lift. We are about to fully refurbish another 22 rooms over the winter as well as general improvements to bedrooms and bathrooms and installation of a new- quiet- lift.
We hope that we can welcome you back next year for a quiet break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Myself and 5 others and a 1 yr old stayed here on Wednesday 11 September. We got two triple rooms for £77 each including breakfast really good value. When booking we said it was myself and another friends birthday.

When we arrived there were hardly any parking spaces but there are some more at the side of the hotel.

When arriving at reception we were presented with a birthday card and chocolates :) Was a nice touch. Reception staff really friendly they even showed us to our rooms. One of our room wasn't ready but when it was they found us and informed us.

Room 151 was where the boys slept 3 single beds, flat screen telly, ps2 in room so can play games or watch dvds (which u can rent at reception.) Bathroom a nice size too.

The girls were in room 153 had a double bed, and a put me up bed beware bed comfy but sharp edges at bottom of bed if kids with you could be sore if they caught themselves on it. We also had a travel cot in the room. We rented dvds from reception was no charge and reception staff so friendly even offered us popcorn to take to room to eat while watching movie. They didn't even mind that I went down in my onsie.

We had lunch in the we snack bistro really good value and tasty food. We all had sandwiches or paninies. Good atmosphere staff all friendly and dotted on wee one in our group.

Swimming pool in hotel free to use we went there in the morning. There was a nice big pool areas were cornered off for people wanting to swim lengths. There was also a wee baby pool, sauna, steam room and jaquzzi. Spent good hour there was fun. Changing room even had hairdryers there was a nice wee touch.

Breakfast was a buffet breakfast - beans, sausage, bacon, eggs the usual, toast provided on table. There was also tea/coffee and fruit juice. I didn't really like the apple juice but I am a wee fuss pot. There was also yoghurts and muffins/cakes and cereals. Waiting staff were all friendly.

I never went to the bar but the boys said it was a good price and nice atmosphere all the sports on telly too. You could take drinks from bar up to the room.

To get to town centre there is a bus stop just out the hotel number 44 its £1.50 a single ticket can't remember the return price. Remember exact change only some people in my group had never been to the city. Then the bus back you look for stop that has number 44 bus and the bus stops opposite the hotel really handy.

We wish we explored the beach but we only stayed for one night. Would definately stay here again was a great price, comfy sleep and friendly staff :D

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loula1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your enthusiastic review of your recent visit. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we looked after you all so well. We look forward to next years birthday visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Kings Manor was suitably located a ten minutes walk from the beach, the walk was pleasant but there are slopes and climbing back again was an effort. There are no restaurants nearby, we searched in all directions and finally had dinner at the restaurant which was simply good, a tasty pizza and a seafood pasta made our evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yashodhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay. There are a number of small restaurants in nearby Portobello and Musselburgh that our customers have enjoyed. There are information packs in reception featuring all local facilities , including restaurants, which feature some of our past guests reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel last weekend, and quite honestly, we couldn't fault anything but can only praise the management and staff of this establishment for their helpful, non intrusive service. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room (no 84) was beautiful and was extremely spacious. The food and drink was first class at very reasonable prices. The location albeit in the outskirts of the city was ideal for parking, and the bus service located about 50 yards from the door ran about every 10 minutes for £1.50. A day rover ticket for £3.50 was available to purchase from the reception staff and allowed 24 hour unlimited travel. Tickets to all the major attractions were also available from reception which allowed us to fast track and avoid long queues. Would we visit edinburgh and this hotel again? Yes, like a shot!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Housty111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#95 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing