We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August long weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #39 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Teddington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“August long weekend”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Like many others I was searching for an affordable base for a long weekend during the Fringe Festival and found most places far too expensive. Kings Manor proved a great choice- whilst it was situated on the outskirts of Edinburgh there's a bus stop directly outside. The staff were helpful, the pool superb for a hotel of this size and the beds wonderful so I'd definitely return. And do try the 10 min walk to Portobello beach, it's well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandacah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay, I am delighted that enjoyed your short stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    463
    114
    24
    9
See reviews for
312
454
65
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at the Best Western Kings Manor Hotel for a long weekend as part of a coach tour. Hotel is situation 4 miles outside of Edinburgh but cost approx £13 in a taxi to centre or the bus cost around £2 each way. The hotel has a large pool, with pool lanes roped off for lane swimming, it also has a splash pool for children, a jaccuzzi, steam room and lovely gym which is open from 7am to 10pm daily - reduced opening times for children. The room was large had a large bed and had plenty of space for hanging clothes a nice dressing table for sitting at whilst drying hair (hairdryer supplied). It also had a Playstation console and instructions how to set up on large flat screen TV for chldren playing games - a limited number of games were available at reception for rental. The hotel also had wifi thoughout. The breakfast was buffett style - as we were with a group we had a set menu for evening meal - if you go yourself the menu was quite varied with supplements for steak etc. The corner shop was a couple of streets away Asda was a 5 minute car ride away and the beach at Joppa was 15 minutes walk away down a steep hill - alright going down not so good coming back up. Plenty of on site parking. Ideal if you want peace and quite with Edinburgh not too far away.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahR349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for posting your very comprehensive review of your stay with us. We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here a couple of years ago and since then there has been a continuous improvement programme under way. Staff were very welcoming when we arrived and it's the firt hotel i've stayed in where they give you a wee while to settle into the room and phone you to make sure that everything is alright with it.
Rooms were large and very clean, well equipped and the club room we were in also had a PS2. Free wifi throughout.
We ate in the Bistro and the food was excellent.
All round a great hotel to stay and not far off the bypass either which makes it a lot easier to find. didn't have kids with us and we didn't use the spa so cant rate them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogs11uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for reviwing your recent stay. As you say we are continuously investing in upgrading the facilities. New gym equipment is being delivered shortly, We are upgrading 22 bedrooms over December and January and – at long last – installing a new lift to service these bed rooms which will make all 95 rooms lift accessable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Amazing place great hotel great rooms super clean all the staff are very helpful and the food is amazing cant wait to return. Looking to return in December and each summer so glad we chose this hotel me and the mrs had a ball I would recommend this place to anyone anytime

Room Tip: Defo visit the beach it's amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 281KyleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your enthusiastic review of your stay, we lok forward to welcoming you back in December
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for just two nights during our visit to the Edinburgh Military Tattoo and other attractions. The hotel is situated approx 15-20 minutes drive into the city centre. We were travelling with a coach party so the transferring etc was no problem for us as we were dropped off and picked up at arranged times and places. This is a great way to get around.
The hotel was everything and more than we could have hoped for. There is plenty of parking if using your own transport. The hotel staff made us feel very welcome. There is a light and airy reception area leading to dining area's, bars, and lifts and stairs to rooms. We had a large family room which was more than adequate for our needs. It was clean and comfortable and supplied with TV, hairdryer, tea, coffee and biscuits. The bathroom was very clean and appeared to have been recently updated. Well supplied with towels, liquid soap and shower gel. Good, large white towels. I would say our only complaint would be that the room was very hot and stuffy with only a smallish window for air and we had a view of an expanse of rooftops.(room 308) Fortunately we weren't in the middle of a heatwave but I'm sure if we had asked they would have supplied a fan especially if we were staying longer than two nights. The view (or lack of it) didn't bother us and others in our party had reasonable views. In our opinion (and we can be fussy!!), the food was amazing and plentiful. We don't eat meat but do eat fish. The choice on the dinner menu was varied for all three courses. Top marks to the chefs for the cooking and presentation and to the waiting staff who were very efficient and obliging. There was also a great choice for breakfast including cereals, fruit, juice, and a wide variety of cooked to suit everybody. All in all we had a very comfortable stay here and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayP202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of your stay. We are delighted that you found our facilities and service met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I'm almost scared to write this review in-case the hotel gets so booked up I don't get back in!!!
I highly recommend this hotel - excellent facilities - swimming pool, spa, ample car parking, lovely helpful staff, beautiful spacious rooms (bonus of really excellent toiletries)
Despite not being in centre of Edinburgh it has access to excellent bus service - every 10mins only £1.50 or train station approx. 7 min walk away.
Breakfast is hearty and filling keeping you going for any planned excursions for the day.
Defiantly value for money!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our family (myself and my husband and our three sons, ages 14, 11 and 5) broke up our journey home from the Highlands to Leeds with a night in Edinburgh. We booked at short notice and because of the Edinburgh Fringe, we only had a choice of two hotels, and out of the two we chose the Best Western Kings Manor. We had a family room, with a super king size bed for me and my husband, and three single beds for each of our boys.
I am so glad that we made this choice. The room, even with all of the beds in, was still very spacious. It was lovely and clean, the bathroom was huge, and we had been given plenty of towels for all of us. There was a PS2 in the room for our use, which meant that we could play games or DVDs on it. We were all very happy.
The young lady on reception was the loveliest most helpful receptionist I have ever met! She was great with the children, especially our 5 year old, and in the morning she had remembered all their names which was lovely. She helped us with which bus we needed to catch, and I felt confident knowing that she was there to answer any questions we may have.
The beds were lovely and comfy, and we all slept very well.
Breakfast was great, the staff were great, and nothing was too much.
If you are a family and you wish to stay in Edinburgh I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and your short stay met all your needs. We hope to welcome you back for a longer stay in the future when maybe you will have a chance to enjoy our leisure facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
8.4 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
7.2 mi away
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#94 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing