We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“26.8.13”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #40 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Amazing place great hotel great rooms super clean all the staff are very helpful and the food is amazing cant wait to return. Looking to return in December and each summer so glad we chose this hotel me and the mrs had a ball I would recommend this place to anyone anytime

Room Tip: Defo visit the beach it's amazing
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 281KyleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your enthusiastic review of your stay, we lok forward to welcoming you back in December

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,277)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

852 - 858 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for just two nights during our visit to the Edinburgh Military Tattoo and other attractions. The hotel is situated approx 15-20 minutes drive into the city centre. We were travelling with a coach party so the transferring etc was no problem for us as we were dropped off and picked up at arranged times and places. This is a great way to get around.
The hotel was everything and more than we could have hoped for. There is plenty of parking if using your own transport. The hotel staff made us feel very welcome. There is a light and airy reception area leading to dining area's, bars, and lifts and stairs to rooms. We had a large family room which was more than adequate for our needs. It was clean and comfortable and supplied with TV, hairdryer, tea, coffee and biscuits. The bathroom was very clean and appeared to have been recently updated. Well supplied with towels, liquid soap and shower gel. Good, large white towels. I would say our only complaint would be that the room was very hot and stuffy with only a smallish window for air and we had a view of an expanse of rooftops.(room 308) Fortunately we weren't in the middle of a heatwave but I'm sure if we had asked they would have supplied a fan especially if we were staying longer than two nights. The view (or lack of it) didn't bother us and others in our party had reasonable views. In our opinion (and we can be fussy!!), the food was amazing and plentiful. We don't eat meat but do eat fish. The choice on the dinner menu was varied for all three courses. Top marks to the chefs for the cooking and presentation and to the waiting staff who were very efficient and obliging. There was also a great choice for breakfast including cereals, fruit, juice, and a wide variety of cooked to suit everybody. All in all we had a very comfortable stay here and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayP202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay. We are delighted that you found our facilities and service met your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I'm almost scared to write this review in-case the hotel gets so booked up I don't get back in!!!
I highly recommend this hotel - excellent facilities - swimming pool, spa, ample car parking, lovely helpful staff, beautiful spacious rooms (bonus of really excellent toiletries)
Despite not being in centre of Edinburgh it has access to excellent bus service - every 10mins only £1.50 or train station approx. 7 min walk away.
Breakfast is hearty and filling keeping you going for any planned excursions for the day.
Defiantly value for money!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our family (myself and my husband and our three sons, ages 14, 11 and 5) broke up our journey home from the Highlands to Leeds with a night in Edinburgh. We booked at short notice and because of the Edinburgh Fringe, we only had a choice of two hotels, and out of the two we chose the Best Western Kings Manor. We had a family room, with a super king size bed for me and my husband, and three single beds for each of our boys.
I am so glad that we made this choice. The room, even with all of the beds in, was still very spacious. It was lovely and clean, the bathroom was huge, and we had been given plenty of towels for all of us. There was a PS2 in the room for our use, which meant that we could play games or DVDs on it. We were all very happy.
The young lady on reception was the loveliest most helpful receptionist I have ever met! She was great with the children, especially our 5 year old, and in the morning she had remembered all their names which was lovely. She helped us with which bus we needed to catch, and I felt confident knowing that she was there to answer any questions we may have.
The beds were lovely and comfy, and we all slept very well.
Breakfast was great, the staff were great, and nothing was too much.
If you are a family and you wish to stay in Edinburgh I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We are delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and your short stay met all your needs. We hope to welcome you back for a longer stay in the future when maybe you will have a chance to enjoy our leisure facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed two nights in a family room, and found everything we'd expect from a four star hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable, everything clean, and the staff friendly and helpful. Also used the swimming pool, which was a good size with jacuzzi and sauna attached. We didn't eat here but used the bar, which was also fine.
I have to mention the location as well - quiet, close to a couple of nice restaurants in Portobello, and easy to get into the city centre despite being a few miles out.
Our only problem was that we couldn't get the room cool enough. Despite all heating being off and it not being hot outside, even with windows open the temperature refused to drop below about 22 celsius - too hot for us, especially at night. The hotel also lacks any kind of 'wow factor' - their strapline of "hotels with character" doesn't really make it, as it could have been a standard four start hotel anywhere. But still good overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_Traveller019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of you stay. I am sorry that you found it to warm for you, it’s not a complaint we often come up with in Scotland! As it says in the room information folder we do have fans for guests use that can be obtained from reception.
I am sorry that we failed to Wow! you , but I suppose we should take some solace from your description as a ‘standard four star hotel anywhere’ especially when we are only 3 stars!
We hope that maybe we can welcome you back in the ‘cooler’ winter months and you will give us another chance to show you the ‘wow factor’.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

All we could ask for,,,,, reasonably priced, great service, really friendly helpful staff, clean and comfortable.
will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank anacoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for posting your review we look forward to welcoming you back shortly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Chose this hotel for a 3 night family break,and it exceeded expectations! We had superb club room which was spacious and modern and decent bathroom.We chose the hotel's DBB option and the food both in Lauders Restaurant and the Bistro were excellent and plentiful,the staff even give you a bag to take items you can't eat away!Reception staff friendly and helpful.Hotel only 5 minute walk from station and train is 7 minutes to Waverley so superbly located.Lots of leisure facilities available,My Wife loved the pool,there is a Gym and tennis also on offer.Overall excellent value and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Try for a club room if you can.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveharrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are all delighted that facilities and service matched your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,548 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $80 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing