We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #40 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very pleasant two nights stay at this hotel. Rooms were very clean and food excellent. Waiting staff and receptionists very helpful. Conveniently situated for visiting Musselburgh and Portobello. Didn't have time to sample the swimming pool or the spa facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsmith6083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay I hope on a future stay you will have more chance to make full use of all our spa facilities

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

913 - 919 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

The friendly and helpful staff made my stay really enjoyable. In particular the housekeeping staff were great, nothing was too much trouble. The spa and gym area were excellent. I will return one day soon.

Room Tip: Go for the club room a little more but worth it
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subsonic13uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay with us, we hope that you can return to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at the hotel on a business trip, in a single room. The good: Helpful staff. Very clean. Quiet. Has a bus stop right outside the hotel to go to the centre of Edinburgh. Nice parking.
The bad: The wifi in the room sometimes worked perfectly, sometimes it was very slow and a few times did not work at all. Annoying for me that needed to use it for communication through Skype and mail. A few times I had to leave the room and go to the reception to get connected. Breakfast (£10) as well as restaurant were a bit over priced taking into consideration that you could find the same prices in restaurants right next to Edinburgh castle.
Location was great, but if you did not wanted to have dinner in the hotel and you did not own a car, you had to make the 40 minute bus trip to and back the city centre, as there was nothing else to eat near the hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank bergos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you found our staff helpful.
I am sorry that you had problems with the free WiFi service. Readers of this review site will be able to track a familiar tale. Unfortunately we have had intermittent and hard to rectify issues for some time. Installing a new filter and routers has helped a great deal but there are still a few areas in the hotel whose signal is not consistent. We are working with new suppliers to try to find a solution. We have installed new hard wired points in reception to ensure consistent signals for those that need it and to offer wired security for those needing it. Hopefully this long saga will soon be behind us and we will be able to offer a consistent free WiFi service to all guests at all times.
Breakfast when booked as part of a bed and breakfast package if £7 and would challenge anyone to find a similar quality meal any where in the city for that price.
The hotel has a restaurant, bistro and an extensive room service menu. There is a small bistro next to the hotel, there are many excellent restaurants in nearby Musselburgh and Portobello . There is a guest information book showing details of these restaurants , and some past guests comments at reception. If you wished to go to the city centre the 8 minute train trip is quicker if time is of the essence. Our front desk staff will be happy to give you more information during your next stay or you can find more information on our new ‘concierge’ web pages on our hotel web site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have just got back from a three night stay at the kings manor. Our expectations weren't that high as we only paid £100 a night for all four of us bed and breakfast! I have to say we were more than pleasantly surprised at the value for money we got. Whilst its not a 5 star palace.... It is clean, the bedrooms are a good size ( we were in a family room for four and managed more than easily), and the bathroom was lovely and looked like it had just been refitted.

The facilities were great... The swimming pool excellent and it was lovely to take advantage of the steam room and sauna. The best secret was the spa treatments. Both myself and my husband had treatments and we both agreed they were of an exceptional standard - so much so I went back a second time!!!!!

Location of the hotel is fine... The no 44 bus leaves directly outside the door and takes you into edinburgh ( cost was £1.50 each way for an adult and was a lot cheaper than a taxi).

The thing we all agreed mad our stay was the staff... I stay in hotels every week with work and can say the people at kings manor have some for the best service skills I have ever known. Nothing was too much trouble, advise always available for any problems we had - even the taxi driver was great company.

We are already looking for an excuse to visit again this year.... I hope you have as good a stay as we did!!!!! Enjoy

Room Tip: The room over the pool was warm so would ask for one a little way away
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay. We are delighted that you found both our facilities and our service to your liking and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Rooms - we had a family room 2 adults and 1 child. (We also took our dog) Second bed was very comfortable.
Room was very clean and bathroom was recently refurbed to a good standard. Was a lack of electrical sockets in room.
Swimming pool in hotel but didn't use this. Did get a price for Beauty spa but found it very pricey.

Food - breakfast was varied with large selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, pastries etc. Hot breakfast is buffet style and was a bit hit and miss. Some of this food for example the eggs had been sitting there a while and was a bit dissappointing.
Eat one meal in the evening but as we had a dog we were unable to dine in any of the bar or restaurant areas ( found this a little dissappointing) surely there could be an area where you can dine with a dog) we had typical burger/chips which was ok but nothing special.
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and were always on hand.

On whole a good hotel very reasonable rates but would just like the food to be improved and the provision for eating areas with dogs.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thehurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay. We are delighted that you found both our facilities and our service to your liking and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting family in Edinburgh. A week before we left we had a phone call from reception (Robin) offering us a free upgrade for our family of 5 to two rooms together with a interconnecting door. How brilliant that was so Thank you. The rooms were modern and clean. Rooms had Tea,Coffee etc and both rooms had a Playstations. The hotel was well placed for Edinburgh with car park. We were looked after very well, the staff found us a table at Breakfast efficently and the dining room staff were accommodating by getting me milk for my youngest son on a evening. Would recommend this hotel. It is so nice to find a hotel which accommodates a family of 2 Adults and 3 Children.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulverston1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that we were able to offer you two adjuoining rooms for your stay. Unfortunately this is not always the case but we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

It can never be easy for a hotel to welcome a rugby tour, but this hotel did so with a friendly efficiency and charm. We stayed this Easter weekend 2013. The rooms were fair for the price, clean and good towels. The little things that make hotel 4 star were missing, free combs toothbrush and proper sopa but this was made up for by the price. breakfast for 40 was were presented and a good Scottish fare. A really good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diskdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments after your clubs recent stay. We host a number of groups throughout the year including sports groups. We are well aware of such groups specific needs and with a bit of forward planning with the group organiser we normally mange to offer a service that is suited to the group.
You were obviously very busy during your stay or you would have found in the room information folder that items such as combs, toothbrushes, shower caps, face flannels are all available free of charge via reception. We use bulk dispensed soap and shampoo from Gilchrist and Soames in our bedrooms as part of our ‘green credentials’ to cut down packaging and waste. Anyone who is in the habit of buying Gilchrist and Soames toiletries will know there is no compromise on quality , nor unfortunately, on price! Bars of soap are of course available on request if required.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,549 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $80 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing