We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$324
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$265
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$106
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$156
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$654
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,354)
Filter reviews
1,355 results
Traveler rating
698
488
129
29
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
698
488
129
29
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomportobello beachleisure facilitiescity centrelauders restaurantswimming poolsteam room and saunasingle roomgood sizebus stopreception staffexcellent hotelbuffet stylenumber bushuge bedbus servicevisiting edinburgh
Filter
Updating list...
1,042 - 1,047 of 1,355 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have stayed at the King Manor twice in December 2010 and 2011 to visit Edinburgh Christmas Market and do our Christmas shopping. We love this hotel, very friendly staff, excellent large rooms (we were in the annex). No need to venture out of an evening after a long day shopping, just use either of the two restaurants - one more formal than the other. Well equipped gym and a good pool and beauty salon. The hotel is on a very good bus route and you never spend more than 5 mins waiting to catch a bus into Edinburgh centre. Really sad we are not visiting this year but will be back next.

Room Tip: Book into the annex as these seem to be larger rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slinky459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed on a saturday night, hotel was very busy. Very friendly lady checked us in, not the biggest room we have ever stayed in, but comfy and clean. Bathroom a little outdated, bath a little slippy whilst showering. We had no wi-fi signal in our room on the second floor, this was not an issue as we did not need at the time. Breakfast was buffet style, and £10 extra pp. plentiful but very small plates (side plate size) meant the hungrier in the party made more than one trip to the buffet

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your review. Our rooms do vary in size and size does relate normally to pricepaid. I am glad at least the room was adequate for your needs. The solution to small plates ( 9 inch in diameter) and big appetite is as you suggest multiple trips to the buffet! I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stay in Edinburgh at least twice a year when we are visiting relatives. On previous occasions we have stayed at Premier Inns or Holiday Inns, which are reasonable priced and of a good standard. After reading the good reviews on Tripadvisor we thought we would give the Kings Manor Hotel a go. Booked through Expedia and for three nights we paid £155, paying extra for the breakfasts ( £10 charge was well worth it, cooked breakfast was excellent).

As previously stated the staff are very helpful and friendly, rooms are spotlessly clean, food is tasty and reasonably priced. Very easy and cheap to get into the centre of Edinburgh, by bus and in easy walking distance of the sea front and restaurants in Portobello. We will definetly be staying there on our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hales24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your kind review.
We hope that you signed up for a BEST WESTERN loyalty card during your stay so that you can get rewards from your future Best western stays- including us we hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Every time I've visited the hotel be it to stay or for a meeting the hotel staff have always been very professional and a credit to the hotel. The rooms are always fresh, clean, comfortable and offer a nice selection of toiletries, teas/coffees etc. I turned up quite late to book in but the receptionist was lovely and helpful as was the young gentleman who checked me out in the morning. The hotel does have a main road running just outside the front of the hotel which can get busy at times and it is on a direct bus route but I've never heard any traffic noise in the room even when I've been in rooms directly overlooking it. There are muffins, fruit, teas/coffees for you to take if you want breakfast on the move which I find helpful as I'm always rushing to work when I stay there. Only downside is the minimal parking at the hotel and even in the additional car park it is very dark and there is evidence of building work and a skip that encroaches on some of the spaces. Pretty much nothing to complain about really and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zanna72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay(s) with us. We are most grateful for your feedback. The A199 which passes in front of the hotel is a moderately busy road during the day but very much quieter at night only 7 of our 95 rooms face the road and as you point out traffic noise is minimal and I can recall ever having a complaint about it. We have 130 car parking spaces for 95 rooms; on road parking is free and unrestricted outside of the hotel gate. Occasionally space is limited if there are functions in the hotel or our gym is busy, but it is very unusual not to get a space in the car park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here over the weekend while working in Leith. Booked the compact single room on a room only basis and enjoyed the pool which was nice and quiet in the evenings. The room was really very small but as they stated compact and had all I needed, in fact I was surprised that the bathroom was a nice size. Ate in the bistro bar one night and found the staff friendly and the food reasonably priced and tasty. Didnt bother with breakfast as going out early to work and didnt think £10 was worth a quick breakfast. Only bad thing was that central heating appears to be on a timer and I woke up the first night feeling very cold indeed however the chambermaid offered to get me an extra heater for the second night and again was friendly and helpful. Lots to visit this end of Edinburgh with Leith, Portabello and Mussleburgh very close.

Room Tip: Compact single room was fine for me however if you were very tall of on the large side you may find it restricting.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn-e-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments after your stay. Our Small singles do offer great value if you are looking for all the facilities of a full service hotel on a budget, The rooms are pleasantly decorated but – small. Central heating is on a combination of thermostast and timers. As is often the case as winter approaches getting the balance right as the outside temperature changes. As you point out portable heaters are available on request if we get it wrong for you. I hope that we can host another visit from yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews