We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for people and dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #42 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for people and dogs”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay. Special dog friendly room was spacious and luxurious for the price and there is a good green space at the back for short walks. Poppy the dog has diabetes and there was no problem providing a fridge for her insulin. Staff always helpful and friendly. A somewhat anonymous location completely compensated for by easy access on foot to Portobello beach and other great walks on the John Muir trail. As mentioned by others, great bus service to Edinburgh though we walked it one day via Holyrood Park and Arthur's seat and it didn't take very long. We had no need to use the car once on our stay. Excellent good sized swimming pool and steam room which we used twice daily. Breakfast and service very good when we filled up adequately for our energetic days. As there are no other eating establishments near by and we had Poppy, in the evenings we ate at the hotel restaurant and bistro and had room service one night which is something we wouldn't usually do. Food, without being special, was fine and reasonable value. Good self controlling heating system in room, very quiet and slept like logs. Would definitely visit again if in Edinburgh .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freddypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay , we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us (and Poppy). We have always welcomed dogs to the hotel but recently , thanks to a staff initiative, we are looking to make our canine guests even more welcome. I was interested to hear that you walked into the city, certainly via Holyrood Park or using the dedicated cycle way it is a pleasant trip and not as far as you may think, you can always get the bus back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    456
    111
    23
    9
See reviews for
300
452
65
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The restaurant had dishes marked as coeliac friendly and were able to prepare a special dish for one of the children. Kids loved the swimming pool and was very impressed with the committment to the environment. Most of all was impressed with the fantastic staff. Very handy being beside no.44 bus route.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelRecycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay.
All restaurant and bistro dishes are marked as to their suitability for vegans, vegetarians or those on a wheat free diet. We are confident that we can offer most guests food that will match their dietary needs .
Our environmental commitment is a key part of our business and it shows itself throughout the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Had a very pleasant stay during the Calcutta Cup weekend and enjoyed walking around Edinburgh apart from the roadworks! Don't get a taxi into town, there is bus stop outside and it costs only £1.30

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0cky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay , particularly the ‘free gift’ at the start of the second half. Roadworks are going to end sometime – so they tell us! Luckily with the bus service running past our gate you don’t need to touch your car at all during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights here, and had a great experience. The rooms were largish by UK standards, and the whole hotel was extremely clean. Dinners in the bistro and breakfast in the restaurant were fantastic. Add to that the quality of customer service, and it certainly gets the thumbs up. While not in the centre of Edinburgh, it was great for car parking, and centrally located for what we wanted to do. Wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSteggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Made a late booking to stay one night (as you can usually trust a Best Western) , Not dissapointed at all, Quick Checkin, Very good Pool,/Sauna etc. Didnt have an Evening Meal meal but the breakfast was good

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveWilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. I hope that your next stay allows you more time to make full use of our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boroughbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stay here often. Rooms are nice and modern and I have had free upgrade more often than not. Restaurant has great food if you don't fancy the trip into town and the bar seems to be used by the locals as well ( must be good ) . Don't forget your swim wear, huge pool with sauna and steam room. Make sure you get the breakfast deal, its the best in town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Its nice to get comments from regular guests as well as those staying only occasionally. I hope that you are enjoying the new Lauders Restaurant menu and its new ‘Tapas’ innovation . anyone staying with us must find time to use the leisure club , it’s the second largest hotel pool in the city. Our balcony beauty therapy centre has been moved for a couple of weeks taking over a few bedrooms temporarily, but it is due to open next week- and its looking good! Maybe you can make use of that facility on your next visit, we hope to have some promotional re opening offers available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

we stayed in kings manor on weekend just after new year.had been before in best western hotels and sort of new what to expect.to my surprise it was better from start.check-in was very quick but in a room with two single beds.went back to reception to say what my booking was saying and a girl in reception sorted out my new room(very good in all aspects) in less than a minute.very helpful staff.great food(breakfast and dinner in restaurant) very good fitness centre(swimming pool and sauna, steam room).i would stay again.only shame early check-out at 11.00.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ales2878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutterblid, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay. As you point out it is important when using on line booking sites that you are clear the exact type of room that you are booking. Luckily most of our twin rooms can convert to kings sized doubles. Later check out can be arranged via reception usually there is a small fee , but if we are quiet we can occasionally offer this facility free of charge. Please ask us! If you are waiting for a later flight home, we are always happy to store luggage for you and you are welcome to use leisure club and bistro whilst you wait.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
4.9 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
7.2 mi away
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#92 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing