We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Thrums Edinburgh
Ranked #296 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for the price”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Thrums was a nice guest house, a little old-fashioned. Breakfast was good, was included in the price, though it is only served until 9.15am. Room was comfortable though small but the bathroom was quite new. Excellent bus service right outside the hotel with frequent buses which will drop you to the royal mile in a very short journey. Overall a nice hotel on the cheaper side of those available in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank SiobhanFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    42
    44
    26
    35
See reviews for
39
68
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The breakfast was good, the room was great and the front desk service was fantastic! Great location, right next to the bus route and a short walk into town. Very clean. Bring your own shampoo/conditioner/lotion with you.

Room Tip: Hotel offers free parking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxtracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here in room 8 for a 4 night stay from Exeter uk. Was very comfortable, clean, had a fantastic bathroom with massive shower, best I've seen in bathrooms for some time in hotels. Excellent staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. lovely breakfast good place to get to all tourist attractions not far from Royal Mile and Edingburgh Castle. would definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: This hotel is excellent the optional rating does not work properly. I would have opted for excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I have just come back from this guest house. It is a nice place to stay. The breakfast is good also. The boss of this hotel is kind and very friendly. He is willing to go for extra mile for his guests. Overall, I do recommend this hotel and may stay the same hotel if I come to Edinburgh in the coming future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veraloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
160 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I chose this place because I thought it looked like a comfortable place to stay but entering the lobby the deep chill rang alarm bells. The receptionist was friendly enough but promised packed breakfasts that never arrived. He tried to charge us a surplus for using a debit card, this wasn't mentioned on booking.com. The rooms were big but freezing. The towels tiny and thin, the double bed a single and a half, one thin pillow each. The room was very noisy with guests banging doors all night and drunks screaming and singing in the street until 4am and later. They even made my son's bed with his suitcase still in it! I can only assume they thought this is Edinburgh we can charge what we like and no need to worry about service or facilities!

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wizak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Our room needed an update, but it was very spacious and comfortable. They offered a nice breakfast and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjmjmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We decided to stay here even though some of the reviews advised otherwise. We are a family of 5 and enjoyed staying in room 17. The staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was super. There is a faded charm about Thrums and we felt it served our purpose and was good value for money. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 17 was really large and the 5 of us were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
The Salisbury Hotel
#76 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#129 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#14 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#71 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#120 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thrums Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thrums Edinburgh

Property: The Thrums Edinburgh
Address: 14-15 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 1RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thrums Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Thrums Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thrums Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
The Thrums Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing