We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$267
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$141
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$105
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$111
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$220
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$276
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$159
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveler rating
185
95
18
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
95
18
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkinghighland breakfastcity centreferry roadhaggisthe local bus servicebus stopa great place to stayexact changethe royal yacht britanniaensuite roomset you up for the daybreakfast was excellentguest housenight's sleepbed was comfortablepleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 311 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights in June with my friend for a charity event. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast is amazing. David is very welcoming and has loads of info on the various sights to see.

We enjoyed our stay so much we have already booked to go again next year

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank NicDLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed here for a week, for the edinburgh moonwalk, great stay and David a great host, very heplful lovely man, rooms clean and tidy, breakfast was great and well cooked. The location is great bus stop across the road and a great bus service. Can't fault my stay was great. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have recently returned from a 3-night stay at the A-Haven Townhouse and I could not have been more pleased with the service provided. From the moment I arrived I was made to feel welcome, the host, David, providing many helpful tips on subjects such as where to eat in the local area and how to get around the city easily and cheaply. There are also many leaflets and brochures giving information on attractions in Edinburgh and the surrounding area. The hotel is on a frequent bus route from the centre of Edinburgh, with a stop directly outside. I was in a single room, which was comfortable, more than adequately equipped (although the ensuite was a little on the small side), and with room service provided daily. The breakfast was outstanding, with a large amount of choice and even the option of seconds! In short, the A-Haven Townhouse is an excellent choice of residence for those taking a short break in Edinburgh, providing a model which others would do well to follow. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was our first B&B stop over on our recent trip to Scotland. It certainly did not disappoint. The room was nice and the hosts were very heloful and friendly. The breakfast was great with other choices besides the typical (huge) Scotish breakfast. When I asked for an egg white omelet, I was told it was no problem. The location was across the street from the bus stop (take the bus to the Edinburgh Castle and Royal Mile!) and only about a 10 minute walk to the Leith Harbor, not only scenic but has great places for dinner. One of the best perks was the private secure parking - not that common in Edinburgh. Enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brose0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This place can not be faulted, David and his staff are very helpful and polite.

The breakfast is first class, plenty of choice and large portions!

There is secure parking on site which is really important in Edinburgh as there is little roadside parking and the charge per day is £10 to £15 in a car park.

Getting from the guest house to the city is very easy an all day ticket is only £3.50 and is a better option than paying £14 for the tourist bus. The bus stop is just across the road and buses go / arrive every 15 minutes.

Leith is a 10 minute walk away where the Royal yacht Britannia is docked (well worth a visit), there are some amazing seafood restaurants there too.

When we return to Edinburgh we will stay here again, for the price asked and the service provided this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DM2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews