We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find, last day in the UK.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto & Fi on The Mound - CLOSED

Porto & Fi on The Mound
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great find, last day in the UK.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We wish we had found Porto & Fi earlier in our stay. It has a great vibe, very attentive staff, and food with flavor! We enjoyed breakfast so much, we returned for lunch. If we had been near it or it's sister restaurant we would have had dinner there as well.



Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    48
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wish I could have eaten here more often”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We saw this restaurant around the corner from our rental as we were headed to another restaurant. The California decor looked so welcoming, we skipped our original destination. I had an excellent fish pie. This was the only place we found with a good selection of teas. The server was really nice and attentive. Wish we had a place like this here!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank macgrej68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great cafe, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We went to Porto & Fi on a cool, drizzly Saturday afternoon for a late lunch, without a reservation. The hostess told us to come back in about 40 minutes and when we returned, she gave us a great table in the window. Excellent cafe food--my wife's quiche, my goujons (superbly cooked fried cod with wonderful homemade tartare sauce), and daughter's Thai sweet potato cake, which she loved. And their banofee pie (caramel and banana) was the best I had in Edinburgh.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DMANDMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food and views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place via tripadvisor. The restaurant has a modern laid back feel to it. The staff are friendly and courteous. We had the burger ... Which was alright but not great. My friend had the grilled sea bass and was so good he wouldn't let me taste it.

Prices are very reasonable with main courses ranging from £9-£14

Great views if you can get a chance to sit by the window.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rbingrbong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We went for breakfast and were not disappointed.
Fresh orange was lovely. The others had French toast with bacon and maple syrup and enjoyed it very much, I had eggs Benedict which was good but was disappointed that there was no gluten free option for the muffin - even a slice of GF toast would have been fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigJock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto & Fi on The Mound also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing