We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful garden, convenient location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Grounds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Grounds
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
Spiral staircase access to apartment
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Street
Bathroom
Wall plaque outside apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
LAURA M
St Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden, convenient location”
Reviewed June 6, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Just steps from the bus stop, enter a through a wrought iron gate and cross a beautiful garden. Up one flight of stairs, this lovely apartment is much bigger inside than it appears from outside. Clean,well appointed and within walking distance to several restaurants and pub (including a Thai restaurant on the ground floor of the apartment).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2018
Many thanks for this lovely review - so pleased that your visit went well.
Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarsh73
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely old building.”
Reviewed April 30, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Apartment was comfortable, 1 flight of stairs, good location if you like walking. No free parking, no washer/dryer. Small fridge, which means very small freezer. If you are in no need of this, it would suit just fine for a short stay. We would have appreciated the welcoming basket more if the cereal, biscuits and Nutella packets were not out of date.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2018
Thanks for your review which is much appreciated . Glad your stay went well . Apologies that some of the Welcome basket items were out of date which clearly we had not noticed . New supplies are on their way !
Morag Cosford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1519
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Town and Stockbridge”
Reviewed January 15, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A very good location to experience Edinburgh. Only a short walk from the shops and restaurants of Stockbridge and also the sights of New Town. Just a short way down the Water of Leith Walk to the Royal Botanical Gardens. Good access to buses. The apartment was as advertised, modern (small) kitchen and good wifi. Narrow steps but rustic and only up one flight. Also, check out the very good restaurant on the ground floor. Would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2018
Hi David,
Thanks for the great review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and will hopefully welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigate6...
Aschaffenburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful apartment”
Reviewed January 9, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It was a very nice trip to Edinburgh's Hogmanay and this apartment was the best choice of all. It is very beautifull and big enough for 4 people to stay. The kitchen has everything you need and even if you have any questions, the owner answers mails within a day.
We will book it again for our next travel to Scotland.

Thank you very much Morag!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Duncansland Apartment and look forward to welcoming you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed November 21, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the apartment for a weekend trip to Edinburgh with our children. We found it to be extremely cosy and homely, well equipped and ideally situated for the city centre in upmarket Stockbridge. The owners were very helpful and forthcoming with checking in details and answering our queries. Lots of care and attention has gone in to making this apartment a comfortable base for anyone visiting Edinburgh. We will certainly be back. Many Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review, we are so pleased your enjoyed your trip to Edinburgh and we will hopefully welcome you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46kirstys
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family half term short break”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Great quirky place to stay in a great area, a walkable distance to Edinburgh Waverley Station (20mins) and the city’s attractions.
The Thai restaurant downstairs is a bonus, make sure you book and wasn’t any problem to us. Starbucks over the road too for the coffee addict.
A few lovely touches from the owners in the way of toiletries in the bathroom, tea coffee etc in the kitchen and a bag full of ‘just in case you forgot anything’ eg toothbrush/paste in the laundry cupboard.
WiFi was intermittent during our stay and the hairdryer was broken. The owner did say they would’ve brought another but I made do as it was a short stay.
If I were to stay again I’d prefer the toilet seat to be changed, the yellow seat put me off, have a lick of paint and a good dusting (cobwebs etc) for the price of the apartment. But that’s probably me just being picky!
All in all a great short break was had by all

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to give such a helpful review and I am glad that your visit was good. Re the issues you raise , we were not aware that the hairdryer was not working at full heat - it has now been replaced . Also we did not think that the toilet seat was discoloured to such an extent - we will check that and replace it. We will be repainting any areas which need it as part of our general refurbishing over the next few weeks . Apologies if the dusting was not up to standard - that's unusual as my daughter who manages the apartment is a trained housekeeper and is usually very thorough with all her cleaning . Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and as I have detailed they will all be attended to very soon .
Regards, Morag Cosford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisbaneD...
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Still a real 'find' and a lovely place to call home”
Reviewed March 3, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here for a month from the end of January through to the end of February 2017. It was my second such stay (during a work visit to Edinburgh) and it is still such a warm, lovely place to call home. As with my visit two years ago, Duncan's Land is still perfectly situated, Morag is still a wonderful landlady and Stockbridge is still the perfect place to live - close to everything (restaurants, the Waters of Leith and village markets and shops as well as the city and business centre), yet it is still lovely and quiet. The apartment is gorgeous and fully stocked with everything I needed (there is still a great laundry down the road as the only thing the apartment has not got is a washing machine). I still strongly recommend this to you all - I know I hope to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2017
Thank you , Louise for this lovely review and making the time to submit it . Much appreciated and I hope you do return - you are the ideal guest ! Best wishes , Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing