We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb location and premises”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Grounds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Grounds
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
Spiral staircase access to apartment
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Street
Bathroom
Wall plaque outside apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
cassiuske...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb location and premises”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

In Edinburgh for Edinburgh v Munster rugby match - the result was not good but the accommodation was great. Magnificent exterior and a just-the-job interior with the right balance between traditional and modern. Spotlessly clean. Unobtrusive host. Great locality. Good shops around the corner. Nice walk to Princess St. A lovely place to warm the cockles and remember fondly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the ghost
Liked least: the ghost
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2013
Sorry about the rugby score - unusual for us but glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay !

Best wishes,

Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewed October 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Agatha643
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This house is great!! A lovely garden to have tea in the mornings...I enjoyed staying in a bit of Edinburghs history. Yes, there is a upstairs neighbor who you can hear at times, but not an issue. I am already planning a another visit and this is exactly where I want to stay again! Morag was very accomodating for my early arrival and there was milk, bread and butter, tea and coffee all ready there for my use! I felt very welcome! Thank you Morag.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house, inside and out!
Liked least: That I had to go home!
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2013
So pleased your visit went well and I look forward to welcoming you back soon ! Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH64
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfectly located for the Festival”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 5 nights at Duncan's Land during the Festival and had the most wonderful stay. The apartment is comfortable - with the free wifi enabling us to make last minute bookings for festival tickets a doddle. The location is perfect, with the lovely restaurants and shops of Stockbridge on the doorstep and all the Festival venues within walking distance. Morag made the booking, payments, all comms, really easy and quick. We would love to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PH15
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Simply Comfy”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We arrived at Duncan's Land Apartment after a long and hectic journey. After some looking around for the entrance to the property, we were delighted to find a comfortable apartment in an historic looking building.

The apartment was well located in the Stockbridge area, with many restaurants, cafes, and food stores along the main street. Inside the apartment we found a very helpful written restaurant guide for the neighborhood. The apartment was walking distance -- or a short cab ride -- to the Castle and the Royal Mile. So it would make a great base for business or sight-seeing in Edinburgh.

As the apartment had several big windows facing different directions, it was great for people watching. The place was very well-decorated and equipped. It made us feel like we were home. While it was chilly and wet outside, it was nice and toasty inside.

Morag had also done everything to make sure our stay was nice. The directions to get to the place and the key were clear and easy. We walked into the kitchen to find a welcome basket with oatcakes and jams, and milk in the fridge. We found everything we needed in the apartment easily. There were wifi connection and even board games in the cupboard! We wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the apartment fuller.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall comfort of the apartment
Liked least: The toilet -- it took some learning to flush it properly
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2013
Thank you, Pam for this great review and taking the time to do it. I hope you return some day. There is knack to the toilet flush which I need to include in the apartment notes !

Best wishes,

Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedleyLam...
Milton Keynes
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Late Review”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

We were delighted with the comfort of the accommodation and the attention to detail that Morag had included. The apartment is stylishly decorated and we appreciated the welcome pack. There are numerous shops nearby for extra provisions and the drawback of city parking can be overcome with a little ingenuity and a willingness to walk (I parked adjacent to the Botanical Gardens if we were staying in Edinburgh for the day as the parking is considerably cheaper). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition of the apartment exceeded my expectations.
Liked least: My wife and I were disturbed by noise from the flat above at night but this appears to have been resolved on an earlier review
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are sorry that you were disturbed by neighbour noise at unsociable times and we have alerted our upstairs neighbour to the issue and he has agreed to be more considerate. We have also suggested he carpet his rooms which would absorb the noises considerably. Hope you return some day to test it out !

Kind regards,

Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing