We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough but too soon for Rodin's The Kiss” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish National Portrait Gallery

Scottish National Portrait Gallery
1 Queen St., Edinburgh EH2 1JB, Scotland (New Town)
44 131 624 6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 315 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visit one of Edinburgh’s most iconic buildings and explore a fascinating overview of Scotland past and present though a wealth of imagery encompassing painting, photography, sculpture and film. Meet the people who have helped shape the nation’s identity at home and abroad from Mary, Queen of Scots and Bonnie Prince Charlie and Robert Burns, through to more recent pioneers in science, sport and the arts.. See this outstanding national Collection in its newly refurbished 19th century home, from the suite of grand, top-lit galleries to smaller, intimate rooms, and discover the new Photography Gallery and the atmospheric Victorian Library. Round off your trip to the Portrait Gallery with a visit to our new café. Serving a delicious menu of fresh dishes and classic recipes, our team are passionate about sourcing the very best local ingredients and seasonal produce. A great place for lunch or even just a coffee break, our family-friendly venue is one of the best cafes in Edinburgh. Admission is free. Charges may apply for special exhibitions.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good enough but too soon for Rodin's The Kiss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Loved it, but requires plenty of working....arguably my highight for all the fantastic art on each fllor was the two unattributed clocks in room or should that be chamber X

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank xyz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ottawa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

What an amazing collection of art - we especially enjoyed the British galleries. And we loved the gift shop which was full of beautiful things.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank laughinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I visited SNPG for a study purpose. I went there with my classmates. It was average for me however I have to say there was one exhibition that bowled me over by the Photography gallery of Jitka Hanzlova from Czechoslovakia at that time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ivetulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not catering for the generalist/”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

It is a wonderful building, beautifully restored and improved, and well worth the visit for this alone. What I found disappointing was how the selection of exhibits seemed to favour fairly obscure and ancient people, at the expense of more populist, 20th century choices.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It is a pleasure to be able to enjoy this recently refurbished gallery. The grand hall which all visitors step into to access the upper floors (or the toilets!) is stunning, and the rest of the building does not disappoint. The library is fascinating, there was a wonderful collection of portraits and self-portraits on the top floor, and a greatly interesting exhibition of the development and pioneers of feminism in Scotland. The cafe, located on the ground floor, sells tasty Scottish food; my friend and I appreciated the scones. All in all, the Portrait Gallery provides a beautiful, fascinating overview of the rich history of Scotland and I am looking forward to my third visit soon!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alliie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scottish National Portrait Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Scottish National Portrait Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing