We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercat Tours

Mercat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.88*
and up
Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh...
Ranked #18 of 194 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'History is a damn good story, what it needs is a damn good telling!' We're a family business and simply love sharing Edinburgh's stories. We're the original, largest, and first 5 star walking tour company in Scotland giving guaranteed quality. With a warm welcome and our award-winning storytelling and tour routes, we'll help you explore and discover Edinburgh. Our expert guides offer a unique, memorable glimpse of our remarkable history. We promise: - Guaranteed departures, daily, year round - The smallest group size in the city - Exclusive access to Blair Street Underground Vaults - 'Family business' customer care Join us to visit: - Exclusive Blair Street Underground Vaults - Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, New Town, Palace of Holyroodhouse - Tours daytime and evening - Historical and ghostly Please get in touch and we'll help you choose the right tour for you.
Kittery, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We did a ghost and ghouls tour in Edinburgh and had a blast. Our tour guide, Mark, was great! Be sure to eat and use restroom beforehand, for it's a long tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,517
    860
    238
    130
    104
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level Contributor
568 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“The Haunted History of Edinburgh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have experienced several Ghost walks/tours in different locations around the world and this one ranks as one of the most enjoyable, informative and spooky of them all!

Our guide Liz was excellent at transporting you back into a darker time where you could actually feel like you were part of what was happening, the tingles on the back of your neck as she told you what punishments would have been dealt out at the Market square etc.

It was great to be able to walk down into the Vaults and have a look around, hear about all of the spooky sightings and experiences that had taken place and listen to all of the history and stories that accompanied this.

I would suggest to anyone who is interested in this sort of thing to give it a go and ignore the negative reviews that are on here as we found the tour to be fantastic and our guide to be great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Preyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review - we're delighted you enjoyed exploring our dark past with Liz!

We hope you had a wonderful time visiting Edinburgh and we welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average of Halloween”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The tour was slightly shorter and not as scary as expected for Halloween. Tour guide was nice but the tour wasn't spooky enough.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to get in touch. We're sorry you didn't find the tour scary.

I'm afraid that one person's 'terrifying' is another's 'amusing'! We realised a long time ago that it is a very difficult task trying to 'scare' when there is so much CGI and shock imagery used in films and media.

Therefore, we don't promise to 'scare' anyone on our tours - we aim to entertain visitors with true, grisly, macabre and mysterious tales which may well chill but terrifying we are not.

We hope you have a wonderful, chilling Hallowe'en.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Historic Vaults Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our Guide Hannah, was brilliant, very informative, interesting, funny and enthusiastic brought was what an unknown part of the city alive, although lasting an hour you get more than 300 years of history and some informative anecdotes thrown in. A must!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level Contributor
185 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A little spooky but informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Though you just go into the underground vaults of the city, the tour is quite informative.
The guide provided a good history of the vaults and what happened down there. It's not simply a tour and here you go.
I think it would be best to do the tour at night, for the effect above ground, but any time will work.
If your into caves or underground tours, this is a good company/place to go to

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElementTent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Many thanks for getting in touch - we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your tour with us!

We hope you had a great time visiting the city and we welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mercat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing