We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour”
Review of Mercat Tours

Mercat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.34*
and up
Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh...
More Info
$17.91*
and up
Edinburgh Night Walking Including Underground Vaults
More Info
$17.91*
and up
Underground Vaults Historical Walking Tour in Edinburgh
Ranked #20 of 207 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'History is a damn good story, what it needs is a damn good telling!' We're a family business and simply love sharing Edinburgh's stories. We're the original, largest, and first 5 star walking tour company in Scotland giving guaranteed quality. With a warm welcome and our award-winning storytelling and tour routes, we'll help you explore and discover Edinburgh. Our expert guides offer a unique, memorable glimpse of our remarkable history. With guaranteed daily departures, year round we offer exclusive access to Blair Street Underground Vaults, Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse & National Museum of Scotland. Our tours begin at 10am and finish at 10pm, so we're sure we'll find something for you!
Reviewed January 12, 2013

A mix of history and ghost tour. You learn about the old characters of Edinburgh and how they can still be seen today. You walk through the streets from venue to venue until you reach the underground vaults. Great atmosphere. We paid to have the drink after and hear more stories. Well worth the extra.

1  Thank figgy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thanks for taking time to get in touch with your comments and pictures - they are great! It's always great to hear when we 'get it right' and we'll make sure to let the guides knwo too.

Many thanks again and we hope you stay in touch on facebook and twitter,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,405)
There are newer reviews for Mercat Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,061 - 3,065 of 4,406 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

We took the Historic Vaults tour earlier this week, with Charles as our guide. A lovely man, he really seemed passionate about the city and its historic past. Chatted away between stops, and he made the tour just right in terms of the balance of history and humour. Well worth the £9.

Thank DFallon1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you taking time to get in touch and review your tour - we're really pleased you enjoyed your tour with Charles. We'll make sure he hears your comments!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We did the Ghost and Ghouls tour and I cannot recommend it enough! Very entertaining, a great way to find out some of the interesting history of Edinburgh and going down to the underground vaults is certainly an experience! Quite lighthearted, so a good one for the not so brave! Definitely a must-do!

Thank KD0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Many thanks for your great feedback - we're so pleased you enjoyed the expeirence!

We hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Went on the 'Hidden and Haunted' tour tonight and feel totally ripped off. Badly told, made up ghost stories that not even boy scouts would bother telling. Such a shame as the setting is amazing and surely the ideas conjured up could be better. Both my girlfriend and I came away utterly disappointed after reading such great things.

Very little historical fact and I know no more about the areas visited than I did before.

Thank jp4hm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Many thanks for taking time to review your tour with us - we're really disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy the experience.

All the stories that we tell on our history and ghost tours are researched, trained and delivered accurately by historians. We always aim to give an entertaining, dramatic twist to the city's history but can certainly guarantee that all the stories are factually true.

We'd appreciate if you could get in touch with us directly on info@mercattours.com 0131 225 5445 with a little more detail about the tour and date and we'll be happy to compensate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The storytelling was fantastic and the jokes were well placed and clever. My husband loved it too! If you like old haunted like stories you will like this tour.

Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mercat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing