We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is unsuitable to visit the Edinburgh Zoo!”

Edinburgh VisitScotland Information Centre
Ranked #123 of 394 things to do in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Edinburgh iCentre welcomes you to Scotland. Find us on Princes Street in the heart of Edinburgh, Scotland’s historic capital. This one-stop shop helps you make the most of your time, and enhance your trip. At Edinburgh and Scotland's iCentre we can help you plan tours, book day-trips, reserve accommodation and purchase transport passes for touring Scotland. You can even reserve ferries to the islands. Discover the latest information on events and festivals taking place in Edinburgh all year round. Buy tickets for Edinburgh attractions, Historic Scotland Explorer Pass, the Royal Edinburgh Ticket and popular city tours. Our gift shop has a wide variety of quality Scottish gifts, a selection of guide books and maps. Drop by to make sure your trip to Scotland is one to remember.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is unsuitable to visit the Edinburgh Zoo!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Beware: A note to those planning to buy the Pass. It is certainly not suitable for those visiting the Zoo. the Zoo issues 'Panda' viewing tickets when you book online and you have to be there at the given time to see their main attraction!
However, you cannot get the Panda tickets if you use the Pass as you are not buying a ticket online.It basically means you need to be at the Zoo (in a queue) first thing in the morning to get the small percent of daily issued Panda tickets or opt to miss out on the Main attraction. Secondly if you do go to the zoo in the morning to get the Panda tickets, you'll miss all the other Animal attractions, since most of the shows start at about 1 p.m.! Tried calling the Zoo and explaining the problem but they were unsympathetic and asked us to make two visits to the Zoo when out Hotel Booking was on the other part of the Town.

So unless you plan a whole day trip to the Zoo which is highly unlikely for most visitors, the Edinburgh Pass is quite unsuitable for the Visitor.On top of it the Pass does not include the Edinburgh Castle or Royal Yacht Britannia! In other words for the three major attractions,the Pass could be unsuitable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simononline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    6
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Edinburgh Pass”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We got the 3-day Edinburgh Pass and definitely got out money's worth out of it. However, we found that there weren't enough things included that interested us to fill the whole 3 days. A one or two day pass would have been sufficient. We ended up wasting a day going to places that we didn't find interesting just to get our money's worth and ended up missing some places not included in the pass that probably would have been more enjoyable. Would have appreciated some more information on the "free" things to do around the city.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank meggiehoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Edinburgh Pass”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The pass was a disaster for my family. Bought four passes in advance. In reality, most of everything we wanted to see was not included. We went out of our way to use it twice and ended up doing things we otherwise would not have. I think it might be a value if you are really interested in multiple museums and if you have the time to hit four a day. We were there for four days and one day was largely just relaxing and strolling the town. Another was the Castle and Palace...both not included. Then a day trip to Sterling Castle and parts north and that's not included. You almost have to stay put and focus on using the pass and it's hard to see the value. If you buy it and don't use it sufficiently, you take a large loss. If you don't buy it and find you would have benefitted, it will be by a small dollar amount.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Europe-07-09-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverley e.yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First class service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The nice ladies helped me and my wife with all the information we required with a smile. They both had nice Scottish cashmere twinsets and tartan kilts, showing that they really cared about Scotland and it's products, my wife then purchased a cashmere twinset in pale blue after our visit to the Information centre, thanks again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“scotland "lang may yer lum reek"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Ay laddy,
Edinburg (ed-in-brrr-aw!) is the cultural epicentre of scotland, whereas Glasgow is where all the action is, imho. We flew into Glasgow, rented a car & drove on the wrong side of the road for a week. cue "Yes" Roundabout reference. Anyway, you gotta see Stirling Castle, bridge of Allan, Mt. Nevis, Culloden (cue Dire Straits " Brothers in Arms"), Doune castle (Monty Python fans'll know it), Rosslyn Chapel (crack davinci code) Oban distillery (bring snorkel), Holly-rood castle. Drank, i mean "enjoyed" lots of "scotch" culture, & deep-fried haggis , washed-down with copious quantities of murky local beers (each town has its own).
yours truly,
Haggis MacCrumpett

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank aaaaaaaaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edinburgh VisitScotland Information Centre also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh VisitScotland Information Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing