We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap but good fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Edinburgh Zoo

Edinburgh Zoo
Ranked #44 of 394 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Edinburgh Zoo is set in 82 acres of sloping parkland and is situated three miles to the west of Edinburgh city centre. It is home to over 1,000 rare and endangered animals, including chimpanzees, sun bears, Indian Rhinos, the UK's only koalas and the first Giant Pandas in the UK for 17 years.You can experience a busy programme of educational events and activities from keeper talks to hands-on animal encounters. There is also a wide-range of eating experiences, several play areas and a fantastic gift shop.Viewing for the Giant Pandas is free but ticketed.(Included with entry fee) To avoid disappointment we are advising all visitors to pre-book their tickets through our website to guarantee viewing. Panda viewing tickets must be booked at the same time as you buy your entry ticket.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not cheap but good fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We took our sons (almost 3 yo & 7 months old). We're glad we didn't take our stroller as it's very hilly in some parts. (BabyBjorn works better in such condition)

I was slightly apprehensive to read many negative reviews but it turned out to be a good fun day.
My tips are:
* book tickets & panda slot online
* bring your own food & picnic (there're so many good delis & bakeries in town)
* go early to get parking space (the car park is on the hill & quite steep too)
* wear good pair of walking shoes & prepare to walk (very hilly)
* animals may be asleep, don't be disappointed, it's nature nothing you can do about it

Staff are attentive & friendly too. We particularly enjoyed watching penguins, meerkats, squirrel monkeies, koala, zebra, as well as a sleeping panda!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia_890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,439
    1,731
    938
    481
    344
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't miss the penguin march”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Great family day out . Unfortunately the pandas weren't on show the day we visited but we were told this upon entry . Lots if animals to see and plenty of activities for kids to play on . Refreshment bars are scattered all over the place so if you need a drink your nit far from a place to get one and you will need one as the zoo is built on a steep hill . Go and you will enjoy

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Enlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing zoo”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We flew to Edinburgh from Bristol in the main for our 14 year old daughter to see the pandas. Arrived at the door on Wednesday 28th August to be informed that both pandas were off show. I fully understand why the female is off show if she is about to give birth, but we were told that the male, Yang Guang was "under the weather". We asked to change our visit to Friday and were fitted in for a panda viewing slot at 9.30am. Not ideal as we would have to check out of our hotel early to get to the zoo in good time. Not to mention paying for the bus from Edinburgh town centre twice.

We returned on Friday. Pandas still off show. On the Edinburgh Zoo website, it was stated that both were very active at night and therefore sleeping during the day and that the male was calling to the female at night as he could sense her change in hormones. Now to me that does not sound like a panda that is under the weather. Personally I think the reason why there were no viewings is that they do not want any noise from visitors anywhere near the female. Having travelled all the way from Bristol we were extremely disappointed.

As for the rest of the zoo, the majority of the enclosures were small and unkempt. A jaguar continually paced up and down looking very distressed. The koalas had very small enclosures and were all curled up asleep. There were a number of animals which had babies, but no information as to when they had been born. Very little personal information about any of the animals. They are all individuals and we would like to know where they came from, when they were born and what their names are.

The grounds are extremely unkempt. Bristol Zoo has beautiful planting and ornamental gardens ans we thought Edinburgh Zoo, as a city zoo would be similar. We were mistaken. Even before we went in we could not help notice the half dead hanging baskets at the entrance.

Personally I think that the money they are spending on the pandas should have been invested in better enclosures for some of the existing animals as many are living in very cramped conditions. A very disappointing experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneEat0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best day out ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We went to edinburgh zoo and the bad bit was we booked to see the pandas and they had closed it because of she might have the baby soon. The penguins was really funny we didnt see the penguin parade but we had been there senice 9:30am. To make up for not seeing the pandas we spent a lot on stuff in the shop

Helpful?
Thank Crazykitty2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Slightly overpriced, but good for kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Second visit to the zoo with my niece, who is now 5 (was 3 on our first visit) and she definitely enjoyed the day, however I do feel it was rather overpriced and a bit annoying that there's a £4 car park charge.
Some definite improvements since our last visit, but feel there could be better enclosures for the animals. Food and drink outlets weren't too badly priced and the playground areas were good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank misspink34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edinburgh Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing