We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great outdoor fun for kids”
Review of Craigmillar Castle

Craigmillar Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.89*
and up
Historic Scotland Explorer Pass
Ranked #33 of 399 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Admire city views from the high ramparts of Edinburgh's 'other castle', play hide-and-seek in its labyrinth of chambers or picnic in its courtyards.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great outdoor fun for kids”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have visited Edinburgh many, many times but had not visited Craigmillar Castle until we became Historic Scotland family members. It's a shame we left it so long as it is a corker of a ruin with plenty of stairs and rooms for the kids to explore on a wet or dry day. The information boards are suitable informative, and the location of the castle (and its history) give you a wonderful historical and geographical overview of the area. Found out why Little France was so named. Excellent for singles, couples and families.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sc0ttishFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    182
    35
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North of Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Castle in ruins”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I loved this castle, you can explore the entire castle with no barricades, or barriers. My favourite so far.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sn0wAngels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It'll Be Ruin Then?”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

There's precious-little to see when you eventually find a route to the place - other than the view FROM it.

Helpful?
1 Thank NikWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Visited Craigmillar castle after reading about it on tripadvisor.It didn't disappoint,lovely place and wonderful view of Edinburgh,except for the two high rise flats.What an eye sore they look on such a picturesque view,but that's not the castles fault.
Really enjoyed walking around and reading all the history plaques,well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozcity1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great place to run to from Edinburgh”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I only saw from the outside as I ran out before they were opened but I enjoyed walking around the outside trying to find a good picture to take. Next time I hope I get to go inside. Beware the stinging nettle in the fields behind the castle!!! ouch!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alfyiav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craigmillar Castle also viewed

South Queensferry, Edinburgh
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Craigmillar Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing