We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Edinburgh
from $13.10
More Info
from $15.72
More Info
from $17.03
More Info
from $22.27
More Info
Reviews (12,199)
Filter reviews
12,199 results
Traveler rating
7,925
3,230
777
189
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,925
3,230
777
189
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews all ages vortex tunnel great fun no lift five floors couple of hours kids and adults few hours a lot of fun interactive exhibits any age whole family rainy day great attraction edinburgh castle royal mile mirror
Filter
Updating list...
927 - 932 of 12,199 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2018

I don't totally agree with the all ages advertisement of the attraction but that is subjective. It's more of a place to take children. I paid - so I made the best of it, but felt foolish.
People working there were professional and nice. The show was entertaining.
It has a circus or carnival fun house type of atmosphere.
kind of strange...

I would not put this place down, it is nice. But I would not put it at #5 in Edinburgh.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank jsscotlandtrip2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Hi, thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our Camera Obscura Show, it really is a unique experience and the only place to get a live picture of Edinburgh. The majority of our visitors are adults, and feedback suggests they have a great time, having fun and exploring over 100 interactive exhibits including our Vortex Tunnel, Mirror Maze and Ames Room. Our Rooftop Terrace views are also unrivalled in the city, we hope that you got the opportunity to see Edinburgh from this fantastic vantage point. Thank you for sharing your visit with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing time, weather wasn’t to good this morning so we weren’t able to get great views. But a great time was had by all.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Pebbles2268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Hi there, it’s wonderful to hear that you had such a great time during your visit. However, we are disappointed to hear that you weren’t able to see the Camera Obscura at its best. we hope that during your next visit you make use of our Readmission Ticket, to get a second visit free of charge. That way you get another chance to see the Camera Obscura when the weather is a little better. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

This was great! well worth a visit very unusual had a great time. Took about 90 mins and quite a few stairs but we loved it thankyou

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Yvonme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Hi Yvonne, thank you for taking the time to get in touch with your review. It’s lovely to hear you enjoyed our unique Edinburgh attraction, and that you loved your time with us so much! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018

From the outside I was worried this would be a rather dry and boring museum for the children, but they were kept fascinated all the way round.
There were a lot of steps - would not suit the elderly or less mobile.
The top floor views and camera obscura were great.
My youngest left his bag somewhere at one point, but when we realised and went back for it the staff had it ready for us - thanks.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank mamma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Hello, and thanks for getting in touch with your review. It’s brilliant to hear that we were able to exceed all your expectations! It’s lovely that the whole family had such a great time during your visit, and we’re delighted to hear that we managed to reunite your son with his bag too. Thanks again for getting in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

I read a few reviews saying that it was a good way to spend a few hours, I definitely found it enjoyable, but I don’t think you need that long. Friend and I went to the top first to do the camera obscura show, which is a definite must of the whole experience. We were going through the rooms on the other floors at a brisk pace, as they were closing within the hour, but I still feel like it was a neat experience. Would recommended!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Elcd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Hi there, and thanks for getting in touch with your review. We do usually recommend around 2 hours to fully experience the building, but some visitors find they need less time when things are a little quieter. It’s a shame to hear that you didn’t make use of our Readmission Ticket to come back for a second visit free of charge. That way you could take your time and experience all of our interactive exhibitions and the show inside the Camera Obscura at your own pace! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews