We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”

Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
Ranked #5 of 446 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy unique 360 degree panoramic views over Edinburgh from the fascinating Camera Obscura and rooftop terrace. In World of Illusions, experience five floors of interactive hands-on optical illusions, tricks and fun things to do including vortex tunnel, mirror maze and shrinking room. Get involved, play, touch everything. Great fun for all ages and nationalities, whatever the weather. Scotland’s oldest purpose-built attraction, established in 1835. Tickets are valid all day, just get your hand stamped and come and go as you please all day long. If you don't see everything we give you a free pass to come back the next day. Unique money back guarantee if not fully satisfied. Free Wifi. 'Best family attraction in Britain’, The Telegraph. 'Five Stars, outstanding, world class', VisitScotland. Bring your camera - lots of photo opportunities throughout. Allow about 2 hours. Please note the attraction is located in a listed 17th Century building over 5 floors without a lift. Open every day, open late on holidays. Latest news: Autowed has arrived - get married, renew vows or become 'best friends forever', with our friendly robotic wedding machine.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I with s teenager visited the Camera Obscura and had a fabulous time there are many floors with lots of different exhibits.

There were lots of mirrors which made you look close up and far away which were lots of fun. We took lots of funny photos and had lots of laughs.

It is very close to the castle and is on the Royal Mike which is very historic. I really enjoyed the top floor where you can see right across Edinburgh and the skyline a great fun day out. Enjoy.

Thank bettybH2434XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Betty, thanks for getting in touch to let us know that you had such a great visit with us here at Camera Obscura. It really seems like you had a brilliant time in our interactive exhibitions, but the highlight of your visit seems to have been the Rooftop Terrace views. Definitely one of our favourite things too! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"all ages"
in 1,090 reviews
"great fun"
in 932 reviews
"vortex tunnel"
in 450 reviews
"no lift"
in 199 reviews
"five floors"
in 122 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 433 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 149 reviews
"few hours"
in 380 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 112 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 222 reviews
"any age"
in 101 reviews
"whole family"
in 140 reviews
"rainy day"
in 234 reviews
"great attraction"
in 140 reviews
"edinburgh castle"
in 271 reviews
"royal mile"
in 280 reviews
"mirror"
in 1,170 reviews
Filter

111 - 115 of 11,209 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't totally agree with the all ages advertisement of the attraction but that is subjective. It's more of a place to take children. I paid - so I made the best of it, but felt foolish.
People working there were professional and nice. The show was entertaining.
It has a circus or carnival fun house type of atmosphere.
kind of strange...

I would not put this place down, it is nice. But I would not put it at #5 in Edinburgh.

Thank jsscotlandtrip2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our Camera Obscura Show, it really is a unique experience and the only place to get a live picture of Edinburgh. The majority of our visitors are adults, and feedback suggests they have a great time, having fun and exploring over 100 interactive exhibits including our Vortex Tunnel, Mirror Maze and Ames Room. Our Rooftop Terrace views are also unrivalled in the city, we hope that you got the opportunity to see Edinburgh from this fantastic vantage point. Thank you for sharing your visit with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had an amazing time, weather wasn’t to good this morning so we weren’t able to get great views. But a great time was had by all.

Thank Pebbles2268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there, it’s wonderful to hear that you had such a great time during your visit. However, we are disappointed to hear that you weren’t able to see the Camera Obscura at its best. we hope that during your next visit you make use of our Readmission Ticket, to get a second visit free of charge. That way you get another chance to see the Camera Obscura when the weather is a little better. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was great! well worth a visit very unusual had a great time. Took about 90 mins and quite a few stairs but we loved it thankyou

Thank Yvonme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Yvonne, thank you for taking the time to get in touch with your review. It’s lovely to hear you enjoyed our unique Edinburgh attraction, and that you loved your time with us so much! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the outside I was worried this would be a rather dry and boring museum for the children, but they were kept fascinated all the way round.
There were a lot of steps - would not suit the elderly or less mobile.
The top floor views and camera obscura were great.
My youngest left his bag somewhere at one point, but when we realised and went back for it the staff had it ready for us - thanks.

1  Thank mamma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, and thanks for getting in touch with your review. It’s brilliant to hear that we were able to exceed all your expectations! It’s lovely that the whole family had such a great time during your visit, and we’re delighted to hear that we managed to reunite your son with his bag too. Thanks again for getting in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camera Obscura and World of Illusions also viewed

 

Been to Camera Obscura and World of Illusions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing