We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camera Obscura and World of Illusions

Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
Castlehill, Edinburgh EH1 2ND, Scotland (Old Town)
+44 131 226 3709
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 335 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy unique 360 degree panoramic views over Edinburgh from the fascinating Camera Obscura and rooftop terrace. In World of Illusions, experience five floors of interactive hands-on optical illusions, tricks and fun things to do including vortex tunnel, mirror maze and shrinking room. Get involved, play, touch everything. Great fun for all ages and nationalities, whatever the weather. Scotland’s oldest purpose-built attraction, established in 1835. Tickets are valid all day, just get your hand stamped and come and go as you please all day long. If you don't see everything we give you a free pass to come back the next day. Unique money back guarantee if not fully satisfied. Free Wifi. 'Best family attraction in Britain’, The Telegraph. 'Five Stars, outstanding, world class', VisitScotland. Bring your camera - lots of photo opportunities throughout. Allow about 2 hours. Please note the attraction is located in a listed 17th Century building over 5 floors without a lift. Open every day, open late on holidays. Latest news: Autowed has arrived - get married, renew vows or become 'best friends forever', with our friendly robotic wedding machine.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good fun! Took about an hour and a half to stroll around all of the different areas and see the camera obscura, well worth the price

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JRose91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you found the visit fun and it is really good to know you thought the visit well worth the price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,023
    2,123
    471
    104
    46
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Watch out for the Vortex!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a very enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours. Note that the camera obscura itself (with the view over Edinburgh) only works when there is very good light, so you need to factor that in if you really really want to see this part of the exhibition. However, there is so much more to see at the exhibition - and you receive a 10% discount if the camera obscura is not open!
There are lots of different rooms to check out, each with a different theme. And make sure to check out the Vortex - it is a really freaky experience, and may make you feel nauseous, but it definitely should not be missed!! There is also a maze of mirrors which is a lot of fun for all ages.
Oh, and be prepared for lots of screaming kids - although that could just be down to bad parenting on the day we were there! Also note that this building does not have any access for people with disabilities.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank barryjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello and thank you for pointing out that there is so much more to see in addition to the camera obscura itself. At the moment the last presentation is at 4.45pm and this gets progressively earlier as the days get longer. Therefore there is a small risk you might arrive too late for the show, especially during our late opening until 8pm for half-term, but we offer everyone the option of the 10% discount to visit the World of Illusions, as you mention, or a full price ticket which is also valid the following day so you have the chance to see the camera obscura show then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great fun, but a little bit expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's a great fun visit for all the family, even without any kids!

The camera obscura show is fantastic.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to point out what a fun visit you can have here, even when you don’t bring the kids along!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
867 reviews
347 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 932 helpful votes
“Mind blowing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have never experienced anything like this elsewhere in the UK and world and a must visit especially if you have "young adults". Great place especially if the weasther is inclement./

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello there. Thanks for the great review and for highlighting what a unique experience the visit is! It is always great to hear that we can be a fun day out, even for discerning “young adults”! We just had some feedback on our online survey where a visitor told us that the suggestion of a visit here was about the only thing that would tempt her teenage daughter away from her computer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Really good day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited here during our weekend to Edinburgh. We were on our way to castle but spotted this place on the way. It has plenty to do and see and is great for kids. A great way to spend a few hours. A really interesting experince.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank moogle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are delighted you had such a good day out – thanks for letting us know! As you mention, we are right on the way to the Castle so very handy to pop in here before or after your visit there. Or you can even come in before and after the Castle with our All-Day Ticket!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camera Obscura and World of Illusions also viewed

 

Been to Camera Obscura and World of Illusions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing