We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, worth a visit”

Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
Ranked #12 of 413 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy unique 360 degree panoramic views over Edinburgh from the fascinating Camera Obscura and rooftop terrace. In World of Illusions, experience five floors of interactive hands-on optical illusions, tricks and fun things to do including vortex tunnel, mirror maze and shrinking room. Get involved, play, touch everything. Great fun for all ages and nationalities, whatever the weather. Scotland’s oldest purpose-built attraction, established in 1835. Tickets are valid all day, just get your hand stamped and come and go as you please all day long. If you don't see everything we give you a free pass to come back the next day. Unique money back guarantee if not fully satisfied. Free Wifi. 'Best family attraction in Britain’, The Telegraph. 'Five Stars, outstanding, world class', VisitScotland. Bring your camera - lots of photo opportunities throughout. Allow about 2 hours. Please note the attraction is located in a listed 17th Century building over 5 floors without a lift. Open every day, open late on holidays. Latest news: Autowed has arrived - get married, renew vows or become 'best friends forever', with our friendly robotic wedding machine.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Can spend sometime visiting this after the Edinburgh castle as it is on the same street very close to each other. Alot of Interesting stuff in there and they also have great friendly staff! Worth visiting, entrance fee is reasonable as well, paid around 9pounds with 10% discount. You get to spy the people around the street, quite interesting! Lol.

Thank NanaLer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Hi there and thanks for coming. As you say, we're practically next door to Edinburgh Castle, and as we're open later (and don’t close due to weather conditions) it’s well worth popping in after your visit to the castle. Thanks for mentioning our staff too - you’re right – they’re a very friendly bunch. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,025)
There are newer reviews for Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,849 - 6,853 of 10,025 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

We enjoyed the show and our guide was very informative. The world of illusions was amazing! I assumed it would be a bit of a tag on to the Camera Obscura but it is a fantastic museum/activity centre in its own right!
High recommended for all ages!

Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Hello Jess. Thanks for your high recommendation! You’re quite correct, the World of Illusions is so packed full of weird and wonderful exhibits that it could stand on its own as a visitor centre on its own and we’re delighted that you thought so too. We love our piece of Victorian technology however and are really glad you enjoyed the camera show too. As always we’ll pass on your kind comments to our guides (who are in danger of becoming a little big headed with all the lovely comments people are writing about them!) Come and see us again next time you’re in Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place is full of cool and strange puzzles and illusions. The gift shop downstairs is also really good. Definitely recommend a visit.

Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very stimulating and funny place to visit. There are lots of interesting effects for children to experience and try out. Of course it isn't necessary to take children with you but they invariably enjoy the experience when you do. LOL

Thank RedManNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I visited the camera obscura on new year's day with my boyfriend and it was the perfect lift me up after the festive night!
It was great fun and interesting. Unfortunately the camera obscura show was already sold out but was still definitely worth it.

Thank Frenchseahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Hello there. Thank you for visiting us when there are so many things to do in Edinburgh on New Year’s day! We extended our opening hours over the period so that our visitors had plenty of time to see everything, even if they wanted to fit in other activities on the same day. We are sorry that you missed the Camera Obscura show by the time you came but I hope our staff at reception were clear about offering you a ticket to come back the next day, at no extra cost, to see the show. We are delighted the visit was the perfect tonic for you that day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camera Obscura and World of Illusions also viewed

 

Been to Camera Obscura and World of Illusions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing