We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very charming little place to be!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of No. 11 Brunswick Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
No. 11 Brunswick Street
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne
1 review
“Very charming little place to be!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

What can I say? I stayed there for nearly one week and I was sad to leave. Everything is typical scottish! (It was my first time in Scotland - but I think it is)

Breakfast was wonderful and you can have as much as you want and you can make your choice on the day before. It's up to you fruity and healthy or tasty with sausages and bacon.

My room was on the 2nd floor and it was large enough and very homely.

The location is absolutely perfect. You can get on Princess Street / downtown in some minutes and so is it possible to take a break into your own room and start through again.

My final rating is that I will defenitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roeggelschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    275
    79
    23
    11
See reviews for
112
555
52
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
carlisle cumbria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

we have just spend a very relaxing two nights in this hotel we couldnt ask for more .friendly welcoming staff .central for all the sights and a lovely building .our only regret is we couldnt stay longer .we can recommend the breakfast and the haggis is a must .thank you we will hoprfully return in the near future .

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toddy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

Took my husband to Edinburgh for a birthday treat.
Found a little gem called The Clan Campbell hotel.
excellent service and very friendly staff.
Ghost walk was brilliant,Liz was an excellent story teller.
What made the raio alarm go on in the empty room next door to ours when we got back from the walk?very spooky.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suealFlint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

I stayed at the Clan Campbell Hotel for 2 nights in a double room. This was not my first time in Edinburgh, but my first time in the Clan Campbell Hotel.
I really enjoyed my stay there. After a friendly welcome the owner showed me my room. It was a lovely double room with new furniture (dark wood, lovely) and white walls with
nice pictures. I was impressed from the first moment. It looked really clean and with the lovely personal touch, so that you know the owner cares about his guests.

Unfortunately I forgot my hair dryer, but there was one in the room, also an iron board, so I missed nothing at all.

Breakfast was fantastic, you were able to choose between continental and cooked breakfast. The continental breakfast included fresh fruit, which was really nice and
you don't find it in every hotel. The cooked breakfast was rich with eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, bacon and you also can have Haggis for a trial, but I didn't ;)

The room was very quiet and I had enough time for a rest to recover from my big trips during the day.

I really liked the ambience there, I don't prefer the big 100 - 200 room hotel where everyone is just a Mrs Room No 156. This Hotel is family driven and the staff is very
nice and friendly and is always there to help.

I highly recommend this hotel for a stay to explore the City of Edinburgh. It is just 10 - 15 minutes walk from the city centre, you are also able to take a bus to the beach which
is really nice.

Thanks to John, the owner, for a fantastic stay in Edinburgh. I definitely come back and bring the rest of my family!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanjapuuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

A substanttial stone building, with tall rooms and huge stairwell. Pleasantly decorated, but not in its first youth. Our room was small but adequate. It had a bath as well as shower. There is a large a compfortable sitting room and bar.

Just what we needed for a night, but not a destination in its own right.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank planetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
industria, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, December 21, 2009
Thank you for yor review. We are glad that enjoyed your stay and that our hotel provided good value.
Being a small hotel in the city center we do not have a gym or a spa that would make us a destination in its own right.
However having undergone a major refurbishment in 2009 we feel that we offer exceptional accommodation and good value in the center of Edinburgh.We have also added and improved on our breakfast menu-offering a fantastic hearty cooked breakfast that you will not get in a lot of places nowadays.
We are continually making improvements and listening to what our guests require in order to make our hotel that little bit more remarkable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

The hotel is in a very old house. The room was large and the beds comfortable. No air conditioning but it doesn't get that hot, for personal preference a fan in the room would be nice (to be fair, I did not ask if any were available). The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a great way to start the day. We took advantage of the lounge area where our son played some on the piano and we enjoyed a beer while talking with the owner. Very near the bus stop and a short walk to Waverly Train Station, where we caught the train to St Andrews for some golf. Our only regret is that we did not stay long enough in Edinburgh to see all that we wanted to see....I guess we'll have to go back :)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pingbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

I stayed here with my partner just for a night's break. My partner paid for the accomodation and when he told me it cost him £140 I thought to myself well it must be pretty luxurious even although it's Edinburgh and I am aware it is expensive, especially at this time of year with the Fringe being on.
I was really shocked on arrival to this quite doom looking hallway. We were then shown into the bar area to pay for the accomodation. Again I felt this dark and quite unpleasant! I thought maybe the room would be different but unfortunately was presented with this very dated room in need of a good clean and decoration. The bathroom was awful!!!! I am aware it is an old georgian house but you can still have it looking clean and classy in keeping with the georgian tradition.
The hospitatly of the staff was very friendly and invitiing and I couldnt complain about them or the breakfast, his was lovetly. Just really disappointed about the price we paid for this hotel and the standards of the rooms. I have stayed in a lot of hotels both budget and expensive and I have to say that even some budget hotel standards of rooms were better. I did read the reviews of ths hotel and was so excited about going but was very let down...........Sorry!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScotlandSweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
industria, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, August 24, 2009
I amsorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel.
We strive to maintain high levels of housekeeping and from your review it would seem that you were not happy with the housekeeping and the room. I have brought this to the attention of housekeeping so that there is no repeat.
We are continually updating the hotel- no sooner have we finished the last room-then it's back to the first one again. But we cannot do everything overnight.
Our central hall and lounge with 14 feet ceilings are well lit with both natural and artificial light.
As we only had a large family room left for the Saturday night in the middle of August-that is the price we charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 11 Brunswick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 11 Brunswick Street

Property: No. 11 Brunswick Street
Address: 11 Brunswick Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JB, Scotland (Formerly Clan Campbell Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 11 Brunswick Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the timeless beauty and luxury of No 11 Brunswick Street. Contemporary, modern facilities within an elegant Georgian town house. The 10 individual bedrooms offer designer bathrooms with heated floors, fluffy bathrobes, luxury toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed linen together with sumptuous furniture and fabrics. Within a 12 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverly Station, No 11 provides easy access to Edinburgh’s tourist, cultural and business locations. Eat in at the hotel Brasserie, sample the vast range of restaurants on Leith Walk or fine dine in one of five Michelin starred restaurants within a mile of the hotel. With 24 hr reception we aim to provide welcoming, friendly service and an oasis of relaxed calm for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your No. 11 Brunswick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 11 Brunswick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing