We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
No. 11 Brunswick Street
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed in this hotel and what can I say it was wonderful. Lovely room which was so clean and very spacious. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and couldn't be faulted they were lovely. Breakfast at the hotel was lovely as varied each day. This hotel is in a quiet area but only 10 minute walk from princes street which is very handy! Would recommend this hotel to anyone! 10/10

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin-Ormond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    289
    82
    24
    11
See reviews for
116
581
54
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We are regular visitors to Edinburgh to see our children at the University and have stayed in quite a few hotels. We were on the top floor at No. 11 in a (very, very) small double room. Bit of a food smell come breakfast-time, but quite. Comfortable bed and clean enough. Good TV, good wi-fi.

Good location but a change for us as we are usually nearer the University. Most places walkable from here - can recommend Valvona & Crolla's cafe nearby. Plus excellent - if wacky - the Gardener's Cottage just over the road from the hotel. Cumberland Bar excellent.

What let's the hotel down is an obvious intention to save as much money as possible, particularly at breakfast where the cheapest white sliced bread jostled with unbranded sauces, and cheap-rate butter and jam sachets. Cooked food was just about 'OK'. Cheap orange juice, stewed coffee - espresso or special-order coffee an extra. Communal areas are a bit shabby, again, as a result of cost-cutting. Staff OK.

Would not book for 'special occasion' but met our needs. Would avoid restaurant, particularly with good ones so near. Had a bit of a gripe over the bill, as our booking confirmation showed it had been pre-paid when in fact it had not (we are always booking things up months in advance, so had to trawl through the c/c statements). Resolved amicably enough, but beware.

Would not book again, but that's us.

Room Tip: Rooms at back have nice view and generally quiet. Check if some rooms HAVE a view - we could not wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevewake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Couldn't believe we found such a fine boutique hotel, in heart of Edinburgh, at such superb value for money.
As well as the room being great, we found both the level of service and standard of food to be surprisingly high too.
Easy walking distance from playhouse, and Princess st for shopping and tourist attractions etc.
Couldn't fault a thing.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel as a central place to stay following a night out in Edinburgh and were totally blown away when we arrived to discover we had been upgraded to a suite! The room was amazing - four poster bed, seating area and loads of space but it really was the bathroom that took our breath away... Arran aromatics toiletries, Roll top bath, double shower and his n her wash hand basins gave the suite a real sense of luxury!

The room was immaculate and the staff were polite and attentive, especially at breakfast the following morning.

Thank you for a stay that exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MChristian23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I visited with my boyfriend for the May bank holiday and was really looking forward to a romantic and relaxing weekend away. Sadly the hotel really did not live up to expectations and i have to agree with most of the reviews here that it's overpriced and that they give a misleading image of themselves. The bathroom had hairs in it when we checked in and our double room was tiny. They don't show you exact pictures of the double room so my decision was based on the pictures of the very lovely (and much more expensive) large double rooms. All they show you are pictures of the bed and table detail so it's hard to determine exactly how big the room is and what is in it. I'm lucky we didn't get given the basement room which is only communicated that that might be possible AFTER a non-refundable booking has been made. Everything seemed very crammed in. They also charged us for an espresso at breakfast which i thought was unreasonable. It's also very noisy - sound travels up the stairs from the restaurant and if there are people in the garden you can hear everything they say too! Every morning we were woken up with the smell of frying bacon in the room and we were on the top floor. I thought at the time the hotel had just been repainted as all the walls were bare and there was a significant absence of any welcoming touches such as flowers but going on the reviews below it looks like it's like this all the time. Needless to say I won't be booking this hotel again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilabakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We held our wedding reception at No 11, our close family filled the hotel for the day and night we had 31 guests to celebrate with us for a superb wedding dinner. The food was truly wonderful "the best wedding food ever" was feedback to me on numerous occasions. The 5 young kids in the party were catered for and looked after with patience.
All of our guests commented on how lovely the hotel is and on how friendly the staff are whilst maintaining the highest standard of professionalism. I can only concur with this view, having stayed in early February this year too both times the staff have been brilliant.

The rooms are clean and bright, the lounge and brasserie are stylish with great ambiance. Breakfast is amazing!

No 11 is in the ideal location, 10 min walk from Waverley train station. 30-40 mins by bus from the Airport. 5 min walk to the shops on George, Princes and Queen Street.

Both Gavin & I have travelled a fair amount with work and have stayed in many hotels around the world, No 11 is by far the best experience for quality of service.

Thank you so much once again and see you next time we are in town.

Cheryl & Gavin

Room Tip: We stayed in the Georgian suite for both or our stays and will again in the future. The other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterscheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Had a downstairs room and although no view was everything we needed. Superb bathroom, comfy bed, friendly staff. Was good for 1 night. As they were preparing for a wedding, The Brasserie was not open but we were directed to a super Italian restaurant (Vittoria's) at the end of the street.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 11 Brunswick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 11 Brunswick Street

Property: No. 11 Brunswick Street
Address: 11 Brunswick Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JB, Scotland (Formerly Clan Campbell Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 11 Brunswick Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the timeless beauty and luxury of No 11 Brunswick Street. Contemporary, modern facilities within an elegant Georgian town house. The 10 individual bedrooms offer designer bathrooms with heated floors, fluffy bathrobes, luxury toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed linen together with sumptuous furniture and fabrics. Within a 12 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverly Station, No 11 provides easy access to Edinburgh’s tourist, cultural and business locations. Eat in at the hotel Brasserie, sample the vast range of restaurants on Leith Walk or fine dine in one of five Michelin starred restaurants within a mile of the hotel. With 24 hr reception we aim to provide welcoming, friendly service and an oasis of relaxed calm for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your No. 11 Brunswick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 11 Brunswick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing